We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for tapas or dinner.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Azafran

Cafe Azafran
18 Baltimore Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 234 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent for tapas or dinner.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I were recently treated to Azafran for our anniversary. I loved everything from the olives to my entrée which was the crab cake special. The service was excellent and overall we had a great experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    45
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Shrimp Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Made reservations for Monday evening (Shrimp Night) in mid-August. The olives are excellent! We shared the Beef Short Rib Sliders - I could have had this as my meal all to myself, the flavors were so good! We also shared the Seared Sea Scallops - though a few were still raw, so that was a disappointment. The 4 of us chose a different shrimp dish, and all were excellent. I had the Spicy Shrimp Saute and it sure had a kick, but was delish as well. Husband got the Shrimp and Chorizo Saute, also very good. Parents tried the Grilled Ginger and Lime Shrimp and the Spanish Garlic Shrimp, both excellent as well. We had the Rioja Vega Tempranillo from Spain - two bottles!! We weren't thrilled with the dessert choices but were quite full anyways! We were seated in the outdoor patio at the back, which was nice until a large, rambunctious group of adult women were brought from the bar inside to a table next to us!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Five of Us Enjoyed Tapas and Full Meals at the Bar on a Busy Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Five of us sat at the bar and dined on a busy Labor Day Friday at Cafe Azafran. We were lucky to get in as the wait was an hour.
The large plate Asiago chicken was melt in your mouth quality. It was HUGE. So was the jumbo lump crab cake large plate. Excellent tapas selections were ratatouille provincial, asparagus a la Plancha, ricotta and spinach gnocchi and a wonderfully warm wilted spinach salad. Specialty martini drinks are a nice size for $10.
It took a while for the food to arrive but we attributed that to the holiday weekend crush. Prices are moderate. The atmosphere is beach casual in an older structure on a cozy street near the boardwalk. It is next to the Clear Space theater. Cafe Azafran takes reservations - rare durning the busy beach period.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A semi-happening spot....put on your list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great clean look and menu. The back room area is the place to be unless you want the more up front and café atmosphere. Prices were all over the place…entrees high, appetizers and salads low/reasonable.

The veal sausage appetizer with white beans was very good but the overcooked sausage took away from an A on that one…white beans and slightly sweet thin base sauce were perfect base for the meaty grilled sausage flavors

Beet salad was nice…not quite enough in the beets dept. tho. And I could always do without mass produced overly candied pecans in my salad. But, nicely dressed and well presented. Spinach salad was also well done, with just enough wilt and lightly dressed

The potato mini casserole type appetizer was a delicate gem. Again, nice balance of flavors and ‘treatments’ to the main event, the well nicely baked or steamed (?) and cubed spuds.

So stop on by and get a bit of sophistication amidst the crowds.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, DE
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Solid all around!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I've been to both Cafe Azafrans in Rehoboth and Lewes now and they are both wonderful offering the same food(I think) as the other one. The spinach and ricotta gnochis is a great must have tapas dish there. They also have a nice drink menu featuring all the popular liquor drinks from different countries around the world.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Azafran also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Azafran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Azafran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.