We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my new favorites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Azafran

Cafe Azafran
18 Baltimore Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 205 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“One of my new favorites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was our first time here. We did not have a reservation, but were seated immediately during the week. Our server was courteous and efficient. The food was really good. Nice atmosphere in a redone house, cool décor and lighting.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    49
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Food was very good....service was eh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were a party of 7. Four of us arrived on time and were seated right away. hostess was marginally welcoming, as though she was doing us a favor to give us a seat. Rest of the party arrived in a few minutes. Staff seemed annoyed that we moved one of the tables a little, so that 2 of our group did not have to sit jammed up against a wall. Over the course of the evening, we went through 3 bottles of wine and about a dozen plates of tapas. Almost every plate of food was excellent, wth high marks for the ribs, mushrooms, artichoke bruschetta and calamari. In spite of the fact that the staff seemed only passingly familiar with the wine, it was good, and fairly priced. My big gripe, which would probably keep me from rushing back was the service, which was NOT friendly. Yes, she got the food and wine to the table in a competent way, but never checked back with us if we liked the fooded, needed anything else or even said thanks for coming. I noticed other servers looking a bit sulky also. Don't know what's going on here, but pouty servers do not make for a festive atmosphere, even when the food is good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“One of the best Crab Cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

The Crab cake here is one of the best that I ever try in my life.
Excelent athmosphere, good asortment of drinks.
Good to come alone, with friends and also with the family.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“But Don't Go On Thursday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Cafe Azafran is a good restaurant and a great addition to Rehoboth. Nice varied menu with good value specials including Prix Fixe Menus on some nights and a fun paella night. Excellent list of Tapas and you can make a meal of two if them. The entree portions are very large. The food is good, the cooking consistent. But, it's a small space and can be noisy. Have been going there several times a summer since it opened. Little did I know that on Thursday nights, they have live music in this small space. Not very good music at all - but really, really loud music. A keyboard and a singer. Apparently the thursday bartender has a following so there is a raucous group at the bar on Thursday cheering on the bartender's antics and the music. So, go to Cafe Azafran but avoid Thursday unless you like a lot of noise and pretty toneless music going on while you're trying to dine and converse.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“New find in Rehoboth Beach for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Our first time at Cafe Azafran for lunch and it was a pleasant surprise. The menu was varied and not your usual beach fare. I had the Roasted Ratatouille, Spanish style and my wife had the Cafe Panini, with Spanish Serrano ham and olive tapenade. Both dishes were fresh and enjoyable. Service was nicely paced and dessert was delicious. Would recommend for a leisurely afternoon meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Azafran also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Cafe Azafran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Azafran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.