We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant at the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Azafran

Cafe Azafran
18 Baltimore Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 231 restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Rockville, MD
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“The best restaurant at the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have been to Cafe Azafran twice. This is our new favortie restaurant at the beach (and there are a lot of fabulous restaurants). Here's why:
1. Food is creative in terms of ingredients & seasonings.
2. Menu includes foods everyone loves - something for everyone (meat, no meat, etc)
3. Favorites small plates - Haricot vert w/gorgonzola & toasted hazelnuts;
- Short rib sliders w/roasted red peppers and onions
- Scallops (ridiculously huge and tasty).
4. Favorite large plate - Veal tenderloin. The veal was thick, melt in your mouth & so flavorful.
5. Great atmosphere both indoors (nice artwork, amazing aromas) & out (patio next to garden).
6. Staff is superb.
7. They take reservations!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    64
    39
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good food, small location so make reservations.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Some friends and I were there on a Saturday night. It's a small building so we made reservations. We ordered 2-3 small plates each, and some salads as well so we could split everything. The warm goat cheese with pita was delicious, and I loved my mozzarella and roasted red pepper salad. Our favorite was probably the shrimp and gnocchi. We also ordered three big desserts, wine, port, and had a bunch of bread brought out to our table. After all that food our bill for three people ended up only being around 100 bucks.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A wonderful place to have a small wedding reception!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a small wedding reception (of about 35 people) on the back patio on a Saturday night, and it was wonderful! The patio had a nice, relaxed, private feel to it. The food and the service were both fantastic. We did the meal tapas style, and the dishes were all tasty and creative, and the pacing was perfect - the dishes came out one after the other with just enough time to relax and chat and have some more sangria before the next dish came out. Considering that most of our dishes were seafood (scallops, calamari, shrimp, etc.), the total cost was extremely reasonable. We had our own cake delivered, and they gladly cut and served it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethlehem. PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

great food great service. we shared salad nicoise and four tapas plates. everything was fresh and well prepared.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“You get what is expected each time, a great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

this place just gets better and better and the crowd shows it, you know its good when the waitstaff knows everyone and they have all been there for a long time. Holly at the bar makes your evening one that makes you go back for more.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Azafran also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE

Been to Cafe Azafran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Azafran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.