We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant at the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Azafran

Cafe Azafran
18 Baltimore Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 233 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Rockville, MD
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“The best restaurant at the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have been to Cafe Azafran twice. This is our new favortie restaurant at the beach (and there are a lot of fabulous restaurants). Here's why:
1. Food is creative in terms of ingredients & seasonings.
2. Menu includes foods everyone loves - something for everyone (meat, no meat, etc)
3. Favorites small plates - Haricot vert w/gorgonzola & toasted hazelnuts;
- Short rib sliders w/roasted red peppers and onions
- Scallops (ridiculously huge and tasty).
4. Favorite large plate - Veal tenderloin. The veal was thick, melt in your mouth & so flavorful.
5. Great atmosphere both indoors (nice artwork, amazing aromas) & out (patio next to garden).
6. Staff is superb.
7. They take reservations!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    47
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good food, small location so make reservations.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Some friends and I were there on a Saturday night. It's a small building so we made reservations. We ordered 2-3 small plates each, and some salads as well so we could split everything. The warm goat cheese with pita was delicious, and I loved my mozzarella and roasted red pepper salad. Our favorite was probably the shrimp and gnocchi. We also ordered three big desserts, wine, port, and had a bunch of bread brought out to our table. After all that food our bill for three people ended up only being around 100 bucks.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“A wonderful place to have a small wedding reception!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a small wedding reception (of about 35 people) on the back patio on a Saturday night, and it was wonderful! The patio had a nice, relaxed, private feel to it. The food and the service were both fantastic. We did the meal tapas style, and the dishes were all tasty and creative, and the pacing was perfect - the dishes came out one after the other with just enough time to relax and chat and have some more sangria before the next dish came out. Considering that most of our dishes were seafood (scallops, calamari, shrimp, etc.), the total cost was extremely reasonable. We had our own cake delivered, and they gladly cut and served it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethlehem. PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

great food great service. we shared salad nicoise and four tapas plates. everything was fresh and well prepared.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“You get what is expected each time, a great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

this place just gets better and better and the crowd shows it, you know its good when the waitstaff knows everyone and they have all been there for a long time. Holly at the bar makes your evening one that makes you go back for more.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Azafran also viewed

Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Cafe Azafran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Azafran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.