We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what is expected each time, a great meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Azafran

Cafe Azafran
18 Baltimore Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 216 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Rehoboth Beach
Level Contributor
142 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“You get what is expected each time, a great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

this place just gets better and better and the crowd shows it, you know its good when the waitstaff knows everyone and they have all been there for a long time. Holly at the bar makes your evening one that makes you go back for more.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    60
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Laid back, eclectic Mediterranean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We (omnivore and vegetarian) loved the food. Our 10 year old (picky lacto-ovo vegetarian) loved the cheese board, gnocchi, and chocolate gustos. My husband had bacon-wrapped pork chop, and I had the vegetarian plate. He said he was terrific -- and the plating was beautiful. Mine was excellent, consisting of 5 or 6 different vegetable dishes (including white beans in a rich sauce and ratatouille). And the beet salad was wonderful. Our server was prompt and energetic, but didn't have much knowledge about the cheese or food pairings. We ate in the patio (nice space, but is situated in a somewhat residential area -- overall more homely than up-market). With drinks, dessert, appetizers, and main dishes (shared in various ways) our bill was roughly $100 -- we thought a good value.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best at the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Had a great meal (again!) at Azafran in Rehoboth. Food was outstanding and unique and service was spectacular. A must-try at the beach!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
“Don't miss Paella Night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Don't miss this: Wednesday night is Paella Night on the patio at Cafe Azafran in Rehoboth. Make a reservation and get there early so you can be seated with a great view of the chef working his magic in an enormous paella pan right there on the patio. We had a great time chatting with him while he was cooking, and what a paella! It's a fantastic paella mixta -- a combination of meats (chorizo, chicken, pork) and seafood (calamari, enormous local mussels, huge scallops, and shrimp), with the traditional calasparra rice, saffron, smoked Spanish paprika, and various veggies. On our visit last night, the patio seemed to be full of "regulars" eagerly awaiting their portion of this fantastic dish. Wish we were local so we could be regulars too! Cafe Azafran is our new "must go" place when vacationing in Rehoboth!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My 2nd Great Find This Year -- and Favorite Crabcake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I eat crabcakes everywhere in Rehoboth. That's what I eat. As of now, I have a new fave -- and a runner-up (Imperial Twins at Harpoon Hannah's in Fenwick Island). The WINNAH -- Cafe Azafran! What a yummy crabcake, and the rest of the meal was equally delicious. Our whole party was very pleased with the slightly unusual choices and beautiful execution, yummy taste and good service. This will now be at the top of my MUST list along with MIXX!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Azafran also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Azafran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Azafran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.