We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gelato Gal

Gelato Gal
37458 Oyster House Rd., Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302-227-1001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 235 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Price range: $0 - $5
Cuisines: Barbecue, Coffee Shop, Dessert, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Description: It's a Gelato worth pushing through squalls to find, worthy of a pilgrimage, a goal noble enough to inspire you to craw out of a fire-warmed home and sail forth into the night. But, don't take our word for it - see for yourself how our Gelato makes your eyes mist and your knees weak!Not only do we offer the finest award-winning gelato, but we also create hand-made chocolates and smoked/BBQ meats, fish and chicken! Everything is made from scratch using authentic methods to give you a most tasty experience!
Watsontown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This stuff was super sweet and quite pricey for the small amount you got. We would never go here again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    7
    3
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Gelato”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We recently had gelato at this location. It was very good but it was the evening and not alot of good flavors to choose from. They were also a little pricey ,$4.70 for a small cup. I would suggest the gelato shop at the boardwalk, it was amazing and they had a greater variety of flavors and the price was cheaper! The salted caramel was fantastic!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1gelato, Owner at Gelato Gal, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for your review!

I'm sorry to hear that we may not have had our full 18 flavors in the display case. We make everything from scratch using local products and once in a while we fall a pan or two short on our flavor selections.

We happly do not claim to be the cheapest ice cream store - only the best! Our lead Gelatician trained in Italy and demands that every batch is individually crafted to her standards - a maximum of 6% fat, no preservatives, no trans-fat and all natural. That's why we have taken 1st prize and/or Grand Prize for the contests we have entered.

So drop in again - I'm sure the display will be fully stocked on your next visit. Make yourself comfortable in our tiny sitting area and grab a couple of laughs playing the Foodie Trivia game!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I tried Gelato Gal while on our annual beach vacation. It was delicious. There were a variety of flavors from which to choose, but I LOVE chocolate and saw that the shop had received awards for their chocolate gelato. It definitely satisfied my need for chocolate. My only regret is that I did not ask for samples of a few other flavors that were on display. I was not sure if I should ask and no samples were offered. I will know for next time....

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“the best gelato ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

we were staying in rehoboth beach for a couple of days and we were looking for a good ice cream place.we tried couple but the weren't special.the last day of our stay we accidentally stopped by the gelato gal on route 1 rehoboth beach.i tried the chocolate and it was the best gelato i have ever tasted.my husband tried pistacio ant that was delicious as well.we also had some coffee and home made truffles. the owner lady was very friendly and i cant wait for the next summer to come back!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delicious and reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Why not stop at Gelato Gal and enjoy an inexpensive, low-calorie, delicious summer treat! The flavors are yummy; service is fast and friendly.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1gelato, Owner at Gelato Gal, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Awwww, shucks you're making The Gal blush!

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. Our employees take great pride in giving everyone excellent service and making your visit enjoyable. Each year we have an international student working for us and they are able to return home, show the Trip Advisor reviews to their friends and family, and tell them about the fun they had with our customers. After all, what is more fun than dropping into the local ice cream store for some Chocolate Zen and Ginger?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelato Gal also viewed

 

Been to Gelato Gal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelato Gal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.