We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and reasonably priced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gelato Gal

Gelato Gal
37458 Oyster House Rd., Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302-227-1001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 231 restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Price range: $0 - $5
Cuisines: Barbecue, Coffee Shop, Dessert, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Description: It's a Gelato worth pushing through squalls to find, worthy of a pilgrimage, a goal noble enough to inspire you to craw out of a fire-warmed home and sail forth into the night. But, don't take our word for it - see for yourself how our Gelato makes your eyes mist and your knees weak!Not only do we offer the finest award-winning gelato, but we also create hand-made chocolates and smoked/BBQ meats, fish and chicken! Everything is made from scratch using authentic methods to give you a most tasty experience!
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delicious and reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Why not stop at Gelato Gal and enjoy an inexpensive, low-calorie, delicious summer treat! The flavors are yummy; service is fast and friendly.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1gelato, Owner at Gelato Gal, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Awwww, shucks you're making The Gal blush!

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. Our employees take great pride in giving everyone excellent service and making your visit enjoyable. Each year we have an international student working for us and they are able to return home, show the Trip Advisor reviews to their friends and family, and tell them about the fun they had with our customers. After all, what is more fun than dropping into the local ice cream store for some Chocolate Zen and Ginger?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    34
    7
    3
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Liked that I was able to sample the different flavors. Wished they had more of a selection, we arrived late in the day. I tried the chocolate and it was delicious.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Better than Ice Cream in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I thought, having eaten ice cream at Berthillon in Paris, and plenty of gelato in Italy, that I had tasted the best anywhere. I was wrong. I have had "gelato" in Bethesda, in Chicago...all over the place, hoping to recreate those delicious Italian experiences, and to come close to Berthillon. Ar Gelato Gal, I have finally found the best. Better than Paris, better than Italy, Gelato Gal's gelato is to die for. The coffee? Tastes like coffee, plus heaven. The chocolate too. It is not possible to get better gelato than this anywhere! Do not miss this stuff! If you are not staying in Rehoboth, buy it at one of the stores that carry it in Bethany or inland on 26. You will not regret it, that's for sure. Well, maybe you will. Because when you get home, and realize there is nothing to compare to it anywhere in this country, and they don't ship, and you have to wait until you go to Delaware again to eat this fantastic heavenly stuff, well, then you might regret ever having tasted it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1gelato, Owner at Gelato Gal, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Oh stop! You're making us blush!

Thank you for your ringing endorsement - we do our best to make everything authentic. It makes the extra effort we put into our gelato and chocolates worth it when our customers leave ‘bouncy-happy’!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Better Than Ice Cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We saw the sign and decided to stop in. The gelato was great, the Gelation Gal (and her dog) were friendly and there were a number of interesting flavors. Worth a try.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAFFORD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Excellent gelato! If you close your eyes and savour the flavor, you think you are in Italy. No need for pricey airfare, get to Gelato Gal and your gelato cravings will surely be fulfilled. Got my coconut fix and I was in seventh heaven. I was contemplating on how to bring some home for a 3 hour ride but was not able to come up with a plan. Lots of yummy desserts aside from the gelato can also be had. Went everyday for the duration of our stay and if we were not concerned about our weight, we could have eaten it for lunch, dinner and snack. It is that good and the price is right! Thanks.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelato Gal also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE

Been to Gelato Gal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelato Gal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.