We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's NOT ice cream!?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Annie's Banannies - CLOSED

Annie's Banannies
#9 1st Street South, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302-260-9875
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
Bear, Delaware
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“It's NOT ice cream!?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I had NO idea upon entering or exiting with my "ice cream" that it was in fact not ice cream! I ordered the Banannies Foster and it was fabulous! I then read the story brochure that I had picked up while in the shop and found out it was not ice cream at all but actually a frozen banana! I LOVE that they have the Gluten-Free options listed on each menu item! It probably would have been a very healthy dessert had I not ordered one of the specials with nuts, butterscotch sauce etc... So delicious!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    5
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waynesboro, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great lactose-free treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

What a nice surprise! My husband and I stopped by Annie's after he noticed that the store was promoting an alternative to ice cream. Since I am lactose-intolerant, I got excited.

After going for a long walk, we stopped and I got a nutty sundae,which was the puréed frozen banana and peanut butter and peanuts. It was delicious! I have two more days in Rehoboth Beach and I will go back to Annie's.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“<3”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

we love Annie's Banannies so much!! we visit several times a day when we're in Rehoboth Beach. it's once a year, but totally worth it. we love you Annie!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Best dessert ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I don't eat dairy or white sugar, so I was very excited to find Annie's Banannies last summer. The frozen banana treat is delicious, and there are so many toppings options from which to choose. We are headed out again very soon, and Annie's Banannies is at the top of the list for my son and me!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rude, unaccomidating staff member”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Having had Annie's for the first time last summer on vacation, my family was looking forward to enjoying this treat this summer. We stopped in and first noticed the layout had changed. We approached the register attendant who abruptly told us she "had nothing to take our order with" and directed us over to the ordering attendants, the only people that seemed to be professional. My daughter wanted a simple cherry only on top of her kid size treat. The girl taking the order was just going to accommodate that when the rude cash register girl rushed over and said "oh no, we can't do that"...only if my daughter got whipped cream too. WHAT??!! You can throw a measly cherry on top for a 6 year old? I had already ordered for my son or I would have walked out then. So then I ask for a kid size, and again, the unprofessional employee steps in to say "you can't...have to be under 12". I get it, but it's all in how you say it and it just added to all the negativity. So at that point, Annie's lost out on my mom's, husband's, and my order. I paid for the kids and we left knowing that that would be our last trip there all due to the horrible customer service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annie's Banannies also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annie's Banannies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.