We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Nic-o-Boli needs one thing....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nicola Pizza On the Avenue

Nicola Pizza On the Avenue
71 Rehoboth Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE
302-226-1391
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 228 restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Connecticut
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The Nic-o-Boli needs one thing....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

After coming to Rehoboth for years, I finally surrendered, wandered into Nicola, and ordered a Nic-o-Boli. Good ground beef, with onion and extra cheese (I believe there's no such thing as "too much cheese"), and very tasty.

But two things. First, don't serve it on the aluminum foil it was cooked on - that just makes it difficult to cut.

Second, and this is the key.... What the Nic-o-Boli really, really needs is GARLIC! I'm not talking about a hint of garlic. I mean, it needs a boatload (to be polite) of garlic. That would put it over the top. Without that, it's good, but not something that would inspire a return trip.

Good service, Dogfish Head on tap, good "local bar" atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    33
    29
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Italian Pizza and Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

When you've grown up near an Italian neighborhood, you are spoiled by always having access to great pizza. When you move away, the only thing you can think of is having a slice of pizza - just like you used to have at the shore.
Well, Nicola pizza fits the bill. Our second night in, we decided to share a mushroom/cheese pizza at Nicola's. It was heaven - and exactly what we were looking for - authentic Italian pizza - great tasty sauce, fresh toppings, fragrant cheese and a dough that was just right! Top that off with a pitcher of great beer and we were well on our way to a great vacation at Rehoboth Beach.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, VA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed This Time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I eat at least one meal at Nicolas every time I visit Rehoboth, but my most recent visit was very disappointing. The order was incorrect and the service indifferent. I hope this was a one time occurrence.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Rehoboth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Grotto pizza is good but Nicola pizza is still the best. Good crispy edge's with a chewy crust and very good sauce and cheese. The Nicoboli, a Stromboli like concoction is also very good and comes in a number of combinations. They sometimes have a Happy hour beer special. The view from the second floor is somewhat restricted by the high window ledges, but the window are open on nice days. A good value for your money but it can get crowded.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best pizza spot in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Nicola Pizza has some of the best pizza at the shore and the Nic-o-boli (Stromboli with ground beef plus toppings) is not to be missed. Nicola on the avenue has pretty much the same Menu as the original location but often will have less of a wait! It has more of a bar type atmosphere but still remains family friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicola Pizza On the Avenue also viewed

Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Nicola Pizza On the Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nicola Pizza On the Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.