We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something A Little Different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nicola Pizza On the Avenue

Nicola Pizza On the Avenue
71 Rehoboth Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE
302-226-1391
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 235 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Smyrna, Delaware
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Something A Little Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have never had their pizza because everytime I stop in I must
have the Nic-o-Boli! They are delicioius & one of a kind. You
can "make" them with different ingredients. You have to try
one next time in the area.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    35
    19
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, PA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Delaware”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This place blows away Grotto even on a bad day. Open all year round with specials off season. A beach staple!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Reliable and Inexpensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great food and decent prices. Very kid-friendly (which was fortunate, because our party included 4 children ranging from 3 to 9). Their signature strombolis--er, Nico-bolis--were delicious in their multiple variations, and the cheese pizza delighted the small ones. The bucket of salad was a wonder to behold, with very fresh ingredients, and there was shredded cheese to sprinkle over it. The decor is tacky, and the service is only OK, but the place remains a reliable source of tasty and inexpensive Italian food--great for lunch and (despite the crowds) okay for dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germantown, md
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, but great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

They Nico-boli, which i'd never tried before, is tremendous. It's a great version of a stromboli at a size you can pick up and eat. The sauce, while a little sweet, is very good and the cheese is better than average pizza quality in the sandwich. I had mine with peppers and mushrooms and no beef, so any version must be outstanding.

My wife enjoyed the pizza and the fries there were excellent, too. We will be back before we return to Maryland.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nicobolis are delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Nicobolis are addictive and delicious. They're strombolis done to perfection. Virtually any pizza-like topping you can think of can go into this thing. I'm a sauce guy, so spend a $1 to get a generous portion of marinara.

Service is a little challenging at times -- water refills, checking to make sure everything arrived, etc. doesn't always happen -- but it's always packed and cheap so I guess I should expect it.

Great for kids -- always tons of them in there. Never bothered to try anything else on the menu.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicola Pizza On the Avenue also viewed

Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Nicola Pizza On the Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nicola Pizza On the Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.