We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something A Little Different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nicola Pizza On the Avenue

Nicola Pizza On the Avenue
71 Rehoboth Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE
302-226-1391
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 217 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Takeout, Waitstaff
Smyrna, Delaware
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Something A Little Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have never had their pizza because everytime I stop in I must
have the Nic-o-Boli! They are delicioius & one of a kind. You
can "make" them with different ingredients. You have to try
one next time in the area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarolA634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Wayne, PA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Delaware”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This place blows away Grotto even on a bad day. Open all year round with specials off season. A beach staple!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank healthkare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
126 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Reliable and Inexpensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great food and decent prices. Very kid-friendly (which was fortunate, because our party included 4 children ranging from 3 to 9). Their signature strombolis--er, Nico-bolis--were delicious in their multiple variations, and the cheese pizza delighted the small ones. The bucket of salad was a wonder to behold, with very fresh ingredients, and there was shredded cheese to sprinkle over it. The decor is tacky, and the service is only OK, but the place remains a reliable source of tasty and inexpensive Italian food--great for lunch and (despite the crowds) okay for dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Snidudad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germantown, md
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, but great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

They Nico-boli, which i'd never tried before, is tremendous. It's a great version of a stromboli at a size you can pick up and eat. The sauce, while a little sweet, is very good and the cheese is better than average pizza quality in the sandwich. I had mine with peppers and mushrooms and no beef, so any version must be outstanding.

My wife enjoyed the pizza and the fries there were excellent, too. We will be back before we return to Maryland.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jaygatsby27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nicobolis are delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Nicobolis are addictive and delicious. They're strombolis done to perfection. Virtually any pizza-like topping you can think of can go into this thing. I'm a sauce guy, so spend a $1 to get a generous portion of marinara.

Service is a little challenging at times -- water refills, checking to make sure everything arrived, etc. doesn't always happen -- but it's always packed and cheap so I guess I should expect it.

Great for kids -- always tons of them in there. Never bothered to try anything else on the menu.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicola Pizza On the Avenue also viewed

Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Nicola Pizza On the Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing