We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful contrast to the hustle of the boardwalk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gordons Pond

Gordons Pond
Ocean Drive, Cape Henlopen State Park, Rehoboth Beach, DE
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“beautiful contrast to the hustle of the boardwalk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

After coming here for 40+ years I finally rode here on my bike and was surprised at the beauty, the birds, the view. Would love to come back for sunrise over the dune...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    25
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice walk or bike ride in springtime!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We took an early morning stroll around Gordons Pond, which is part of the State Park.
Other than a few ducks, we really didn't see much wildlife, but it was still a pleasant walk. I saw warnings about poison ivy and can imagine that in the summer the bugs would love these wetlands. There is a large parking lot so they must get lots of beach goers to this unguarded beach.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful trail and lots of birds to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a small nature / wildlife preserve around a large pond with a trail around it. This area is really the southern part of the Cape Henlopen State Park grounds. Many birds roost in the pond or near the edge. Birds migrating north and south often stop here affording viewers a chance to see many varieties of birds. This has a lot of trees - primarily evergreen pine and holly trees prevalent in this area. Well recommended to stop here during a stay in Rehoboth Beach.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Gordons Pond or Whiskey Beach as the locals called it several years ago is located at the north end of Rehoboth. The beach is very diversified, so be prepared. There is a beach and a walking trail, I suggest you only walk the trail in the early spring of fall.....bugs. Parents beware, there are no lifeguards. Have fun

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaford, de
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“PATHS AND TRAIL AT NORTH END OF REHOBOTH BEACH!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

You can walk on the inland side of the pond or bike, there are factful signs along the way describing the towers, the horseshoe crabs popular to our shores and veiwing stands too. Watch out for ticks when they are prevalent....perfect area to pick up a few!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gordons Pond also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Gordons Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gordons Pond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.