We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Charcoal Deli - CLOSED

The Charcoal Deli
20200 Coastal Hwy, Closed, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302-260-9615
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue, Hamburgers, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: 302-260-9615
Yardley, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Having already had good experiences with lunch at the Charcoal Grill, we decided to try the Brunch. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced. Also had live music that added to the experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    4
    3
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“9th time eating here....it never gets old!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We are from Belair & always love stopping by this place. The new location is spacious and the wait staff are friendly! We love the calfornia ruben sandwich.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Honor your coupons !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Today, we went to the Charcoal Grill/Deli for lunch. I had an Entertainment Book coupon for buy one sandwich and recieve a complimentary sandwich of equal or less FREE. Upon being seated we ordered our drinks then i asked the waitress if the coupon applied for eat in as well as take out meals. She took the coupon and approached the owner who informed her that they would not honor the coupon because it said Charcoal Deli and that the Entertainment Book had made a mistake and printed an unauthorized coupon!!! Its says Charcoal Deli on their Facebook and the address is the same. The Entertainment Book is a reputable company and they don't just add random businesses to their book without permission. So instead of honoring the coupon and giving away one sandwich for free and perhaps gaining a new long term customer (we are locals), they chose to deny the coupon and lose a potential customer. Maybe if they would have let the food speak for itself and broken even on a transaction, they'd have new customers and potential positive word of mouth. Instead, we left without eating and spent our money elsewhere. The competition is to fierce in Rehoboth to squander a new customer. Be nice and foster a relationship by honoring a coupon and maybe you'll make it through the winter!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Charcoal Deli, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
The coupon mentioned in the negative review was an unauthorized coupon that the Entertainment Book placed and we apologize that you were angered by our non acceptance of the illegal item.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waleska, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If you like COLD BBQ...this is your place!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Went there for happy hour...returned nachos--cheese was not even melted and the pork bbq was just out of the refrigerator. Returned the bbq sandwich...bread was stale and the meat was cold...so they nuked it,,,turned it into well done and didnt even replace the bun. WILL NOT GO AGAIN. Very disappointing as this was supposed to be a "great place to eat". NOT. Our bill was over $30 and it was only two of us.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charcoal Grill what a thrill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

A great new location with a cute bar area and a larger dining room. A new chef cooking up great appetizers like chocolate nachos and sweet potatoe fries. Dinner entres like the killer bbq ribs and 16 spice chichen with the awsome grilled salad. Deserts like the to die for home made cheese cake. The bartenders are friendly and the signature drinks are great. The atmosphere is fun and cozy. Best down home cooking at the beach.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Charcoal Deli also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charcoal Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.