We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really wanted to like this place more...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lily Thai Cuisine

Lily Thai Cuisine
10 N. First Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2116
(302) 227-3348
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 237 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reading, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“I really wanted to like this place more...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I was very excited to try this restaurant and am disappointed to say it was only okay. First, and maybe this is just me, but $6.75 for a bottle of Dogfishead Beer is just ridiculous. They offer no draft beer and I was kind of ticked at that kind of a rip off for a bottle of beer. The other big disappointment was the chicken satay appetizer. The chicken was so dry and flavorless. I should have sent it back but I didn't want to embarass the people I was with so I didn't say anything. We also had the pad thai, which was very good, and the chicken cashew, which was also just okay. So I wouldn't say the restaurant is bad, just not worth the money.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    19
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Small wonder just off main street in Rehobeth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We got really lucky taking a chance on what appeared to be a new restaurant in Rehobeth(no reviews yet). There were very reasonable lunch specials ($8.95) with lots of flavor, honoring traditional Thai dishes. Everything tasted very fresh and was served in a timely manner with excellent customer service. It was a cozy restaurant with simple, but appropriate decorations. I would go back, just to see what the dinner menu was like. Try this place. Good service should be rewarded in this day and age.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“The BEST moderatley priced restaurant in Rehoboth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We have eaten at Lily Thai dozens of times (we are weekenders) over the past two years. It is always freshly prepared and cooked to order (spiciness). Daily specials are your best bet...but all menu items are very good ..the drunken noodles are superb! The BEST KEPT SECRET IS THE SALAD WITH THE CILANTRO/LIME DRESSING... IT is intoxicating and indescribably delicious!!

The Lunch special for $8.95 is always a treat and a great VALUE. This isn't a large restaurant but they can accomodate large groups with a little advance notice. Most entrees are ur $20 and in my opinion one of the BEST VALUES in all of Rehoboth.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good Thai restaurant at the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

One doesn't usually think of Thai, Vietnamese or Chinese restaurants at the beach. However, Rehoboth Beach Delaware has two really good ones. Confucius Chinese restaurant and Lily Thai Restaurant. I like both, but prefer the spicier type of food that one encounters at Thai restaurants. My friends and I live at the beach (all retired) and have been to Lily Thai many times. We've not been disappointed once. There are several seafood specials (it's the beach, remember). The curries are fantastic (I like the Massaman with chicken. The wait staff is small in number, sometimes only one waiter, but they are incredibly efficient. In addition, one can expect the server will remember what you ordered for drink and what you ate from your last visit. Amazing memories. The restaurant looks a bit unusual from the street with a purple color and not very obvious Thai decor. Inside, however, is neatly decorated, clean and pleasing to the eye. Go out of the ordinary and enjoy a Thai meal at the beach.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great sauces, so-so protein”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

We love Thai food, and the favors here were great. The curry pillows were a delicious appetizer, and the sauces on both of our chicken dishes were really tasty. The chicken itself was tough and chewy, unfortunately. Dinner would have been great if the chef had treated the protein a little more gently.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lily Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Lily Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lily Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.