We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Authentic Mexican Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cilantro

Cilantro
122 Rehoboth Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
+1 302-226-1000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 205 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great Authentic Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The food here was outstanding and as close to authentic as we have found outside Mexico. The only reason they dont get the EXCELLENT rating is because their drink menu was lacking. We both had Margaritas, which were ok, but nothing more. Servers were very knowledgeable and friendly, we saw the woman who owned the place (recognized from picture in news article at front desk) and she was running around obviously very involved in every aspect of the place.

If this restaurant could get the Margarita Recipes from Dos Locos down the street, we would have a new favorite restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    42
    19
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“so delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

one of the few places we have to hit when we visit rehoboth--we're repeat customers for life. good flavor and quality. Our server was a little odd last time, but the food and atmosphere more than makes up for it. The back room seating is great!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Something new”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have tried several nice restaurants in Rehoboth, but wanted to try something new our first night at the beach. Since we love mexican food we decided to try this place. We were warmly welcomed by Gladys, the owner, and we couldnt help but appreciate the colorful and inviting decor. We started with a margarita and an appetizer of ceviche. Both were excellent. The ceviche was large enough for 2 although was so good I didnt want to share. The drink was refreshing and perfectly mixed for my taste. My husband ordered a chorizo dish and mine was the chicken burrito. The burrito had great flavor and we were both very happy with our meals. We will definitely return, and next time weather permitting we want to sit in the beautiful courtyard out back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millsboro, Delaware
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican in the style of Mexico City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very unusual to get food like I'm used to from Mexico City! They had many of my favorites including Oaxacan Cheese with Chorizo and Poblano Peppers as a fondue, Corn on the Cob that brought back memories of floating down the river in Xochimilco! Tacos al Pastor and other great choices! If you're thinking fajitas and chimichangas then you should go to Chili's!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Food, Great Happy Hour prices but signs misleading at times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Visited Cilantro recently on my trip to Rehoboth. The food was some of the best we had all trip and is as authentic as you can get with all homemade preparations. The staff were very friendly and accommodating for the most part. The restaurant was very clean and presentable on the main strip within a block of the beach. The only bad part of our visit was when the check came, didn't like the fact that we were charged happy hour prices for some items and not for others. Out front their signs were misleading with one stating happy hour 4-7 and the other daily special board stating happy hour was all day right as you entered. I didn't complain, but don't like the fact that I felt taken advantage of. I definitely suggest to try this place out...just make sure if you have any questions on what prices are, verify before ordering.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cilantro also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Cilantro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cilantro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.