We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good fish/shrimp tacos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Dorado Mexican Restaurant

El Dorado Mexican Restaurant
18766 John J Williams Hwy, Unit 1, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-4417
302-645-1596
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 234 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Centreville, MD
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Really good fish/shrimp tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

On a recent weekend we stopped in here for lunch. They were not busy at all at 12:00, but I had read several good reviews that made me want to stop. I ordered 2 taco combo - 1 shrimp, 1 mahi and boyfriend ordered cancun burrito. Each came with a side of yellow rice and pinto beans. Boyfriend said the burrito was really good. I liked the shrimp taco slightly more than the mahi taco, but the corn tortillas, cabbage and white sauce really went well together. Boyfriend really liked the mayo based sauces that were in the toppings bar and added some to his rice. I tried the pico de gallo and avocado/tomatillo salsa. I liked the them both, but thought they could have had a little more flavor. Overall, the experience was pleasant and I would happily stop again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bear, Delaware
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“True Mexican Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is NOT Taco Bell people! This is authentic Mexican food and it is good! El Dorado is a very casual off the main strip and boardwalk family restaurant. I love the fact that they offer Gluten-Free mexican food, it's hard to come by! I have ordered the Grilled Fish Tacos with a side of Guacamole each time we have been and it's always been good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“I liked it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I tried El Dorado Restaurant while on vacation after reading good reviews on TripAdvisor. I really liked it. I had the Puerto Vallarta Burrito which consisted of grilled shrimp with spicy chorizo, guacamole, romaine lettuce, chipotle and pico de gallo. It was quite flavorful. The burrito was served with rice and beans. The salsa bar was more than adequate. It included chopped cabbage, marinated onions ( a mix of fresh habanero chili peppers, carrots, & onions), tomatillo salsa, avocado salsa , and pico de gallo. My only complaint was the way in which they served water. It was only available in a pitcher on the counter, and it was quite warm. The food, however, was very good, and I would return again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Drinks and Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Like the frozen drinks., service is good but restauant appears dirty

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The food wasn't that great and was fairly expensive. My husband and I ordered chicken tacos and were disappointed that they only came with chicken on them. There was a salsa bar but it was very minimal.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Dorado Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to El Dorado Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dorado Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.