We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was really disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Ice Cream Store

The Ice Cream Store
6 Rehoboth Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2120
302-227-4609
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Ice Cream in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Description: (302) 227-4609
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I was really disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

As an ice cream lover, I had high hopes for this store. The portions were small, and expensive, but the real problem I had was that the server did not understand English well and unbeknownst
to me gave me "Butter Pecan" ice cream instead of "Salted Caramel". Had I a nut allergy, this could have been a REAL problem. The Butter Pecan was average and the other flavor I got,
Cake Batter, could hardly be distinguished from Vanilla. Disappointing all around - though the service was speedy, such as it was.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    23
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Delaware
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“In line right now”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Tons of options but its hard for short people to see them all. Line is crazy. Luckily the ice cream is good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Don't be intimidated by the long lines....they move quick! The servings are small, however ice cream is yummy and so many flavors to choose from!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Overwhelming, but worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

If you can get through the chaos of trying to get served here, the ice cream is worth the wait. The staff is not shy about giving samples of any of the 100 flavors. We went two nights in a row and were very pleased. The ice cream is very good quality for having so many choices. Very creative flavors as well as classic choices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“so many choices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

They're not kidding--they have what seems like a million flavors. But they will give you samples of a few before you have to commit. Don't be too put off by the long lines--hang out on the side near the door and the workers will come out to you. My husband tried the ghost chili ice cream--the one you have to sign a waiver for. He loves hot food. He could only have four bites before the heat got to him. I only put my tongue on it and couldn't get rid of the heat for ten minutes. If you like hot, you might like this, but just doe a tast. It would be waaay too much for a whole serving.
Didn't love the fact that my eight-year old was asking me what 'S-E-X' is and why ice cream would be better than it? luckily, I was able to divert her attention to other flavors.. I agree with others--Crack is amazing!! As are lots of other flavors--too many to name. Just go and try some!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ice Cream Store also viewed

Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to The Ice Cream Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ice Cream Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.