We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For my last meal I would include Buttery Salted Caramel Ice Cream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ice Cream Store

The Ice Cream Store
6 Rehoboth Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2120
302-227-4609
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 234 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: (302) 227-4609
MD
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“For my last meal I would include Buttery Salted Caramel Ice Cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

A dive ice cream window. Which is what attracted me to it in the first place. If you fear dives, don't be fooled by appearances. They use only the highest quality ingredients Do yourself a favor and look up the flavors before you go and choose a few to try. Otherwise your mind will be blown trying to decide...or you can spin the wheel. Best eaten for breakfast on the boardwalk.

Buttery Salted Caramel...trust me.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    23
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Top Contributor
652 reviews 652 reviews
379 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
1,166 helpful votes 1,166 helpful votes
“Good ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I decided to grab a cup of ice cream the other night after dinner. We decided to visit the Ice Cream Store since they advertise over 70 flavors. They usually have a crowd in front of the shop, but we lucked out and didn't have to wait in line! This is not a true restaurant, but a take out window steps from the Rehoboth Beach boardwalk. So, you just get your cone or cup & grab a nearby bench or beach blanket!

They have a HUGE list of flavors listed on the wall. We saw the regular flavors here, but MANY unusual flavors too. Some of the original flavors that we saw were booger, bacon, s'mores, tastycake peanut butter kandy kake, pop rocks, cereal killer, salt'n peppa, captain crunch, crack, ooey gooey, cake batter, maple bacon, down on the ranch (dressing), mountain dew, i cant decide, better than sex, looks like viagra, samoa cookie, candied ginger and MORE. We couldn't decide whether to get an original flavor or a regular old fashioned flavor. We also thought about getting one of Woodside Farms Creamery's flavors that is featured here, like African Vanilla. We narrowed it down to S'mores and Tastycake Peanut Butter Kandy Kake. The clerk let us sample each one in order to decide. We ended up getting a single scoop of the Tastycake Peanut Butter Kandy Kake in a cup for $3.99.

Overall we had a good experience with the Ice Cream Store. The staff was fast and friendly. The flavor selection is LARGE! Best of all, you can sample before you buy. The Tastycake Peanut Butter Kandy Kake ice cream was delish! We loved it & you could tell there were bits of ground up REAL kandy kakes in the mix. Plus they have a small sprinkles bar in front of the shop. The prices are comparable to other shops in town. I would recommend & will probably visit again in the future!

Note: They also serve up: fresh squeezed lemonade, fresh squeezed orange juice, shakes, smoothies, malts, floats, chillers, banana splits, chocolate covered bananas, sodas, coffee, hot chocolate, gatorade & water.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So many flavors to choose from”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The "Crack" ice cream was delish. Very helpful staff. The line moves quickly even though it looks crowded.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“OMG”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The variety of flavors is the best feature, the cost is a bit much I would recommend Peanut Butter Pie but this store may be the one reason I go back to Rehoboth...Mayan Cinnamon Chocolate, Sweet Corn, Java Chunk, etc....,

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Not really worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Long lines, so plenty of time to read flavors but ZERO descriptions. Had no idea my ice cream had nuts in it until I had some. "Flavors" is also misleading; some are just toppings and some are just flavors. Buy your favorite ice cream somewhere else or at the store and toppings seperately if you want customization. We will not be back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ice Cream Store also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to The Ice Cream Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ice Cream Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.