We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect nature retreat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Junction and Breakwater Trail

Junction and Breakwater Trail
Wolf Neck Road, Rehoboth Beach, DE
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Biking Trails
Attraction Details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A perfect nature retreat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We rented bikes from Atlantic Bikes on the boardwalk and peddled to the entrance of the trail about 3.5 miles away, the trail is off of Hebron Rd in Rehoboth. The 3.6 mile long trail is mostly crushed stone it is made up of a forested area of oak, hemlock and pine and Hawks and geese can be spotted in the air, and deer, squirrels and other small woodland animals share the trail. The trail includes an 80-foot long railroad bridge originally built in 1913 that crosses Holland Glade and provides beautiful views of coastal wetlands. If you like nature give this trail a try, you won't be regret it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    17
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gordonville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just the right length for a Bike Ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our family really enjoyed riding bicycle on the Junction & Breakwater Trail. Right near a busy shopping center, it is amazingly peaceful, quiet, and serene, along this trail. We saw many birds, including a beautiful Blue Heron. We occassionally strayed off the trail, and ended up riding over 12 miles! Many people were using the trail to walk their dogs, jog, and ride bike. We always felt very safe! Beautiful trail!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice trail”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I rode the trail from Rehoboth Beach to Lewes (about 5 flat miles one way) and on to the Fort Miles Historic Area in Cape Henlopen State Park. The trail is well maintained and in good shape and makes for an easy, pleasant ride. The Rehoboth Beach end of the trail is well marked with lots of signs around pointing it out. But the Lewes end of the trail is not marked at all. You wind up in the middle of a new development (Hawks Eye) and without my mapping app I would have had no idea where I was or how to get from there to where I wanted to go. Even so, it's a good ride and a good way to break up the day.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful ride for long or short trips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Built on an old railroad bed this trail goes through a wide variety of ecosystems. Its crushed gravel surface is a little gritty but it's a great way to travel between Rehoboth and Lewes.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richboro, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for Biking or Walking”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Pleit nty of parking behind Tanger Outlet Mall. Park here, even though it accesses the trail partway into it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Junction and Breakwater Trail also viewed

Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Junction and Breakwater Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Junction and Breakwater Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Junction and Breakwater Trail to your Saves list