We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great in a pinch...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of High Seas Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Seas Motel
12 Christian Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great in a pinch...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We booked one night here because it is within a 5 minute walk of the Dogfish Head Brewery Restaurant. The staff couldn't have been nicer at check in/out. We had a ground level room w/ a king sized bed. The mattress was no thicker than 6 inches and rock hard. There was no evidence of bed bugs at all, though there were some spiders in the room...including a tiny one between the sheets. The bathroom cleanliness was below par. The corners of the room were dirty and the very low (6'4) drop ceiling had water stains all over. The sink was outside of the main bathroom and had no drain plug. Overall, I'd stay here again but only if nothing else was available. We only paid $70 for the night compared to other motels in the immediate area that were $100+.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Went here only because at the last minute they were the only centrally located place in August that was Ok with one night on the weekend. Prepared for the worse, but was pleasantly surprised that the rooms were clean although old and as a another reviewer said were "ultra basic". The central location to beach , shops, restaurants is a big plus. Will not impress anyone you are with but it serves the needs. Also surprisingly quiet on 3rd floor and not disturbed at all by noise. No elevator so you need to pack light if you are up there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelphi, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I have stayed at High Seas MANY times with friends. We always book here because it is so close to the beach and bars, and it is so affordable. The rooms have TV's, AC, mini fridge, microwaves, and are cleaned daily. Not to mention the free parking! Nope, it's not luxury, but we're all in our mid to late 20's and this place cannot be beat. The staff is friendly and always pleasant to deal with. High Seas for the win!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Ultra basic but was pleased and comfortable for the two nights. Clean accommodations and a comfortable bed. A super plus was Maggie, the office manager who's been there for many many years. Her hospitality added charm and made a wonderful difference. High Seas is conveniently located...2-3 blocks from the beach and a block off the main strip. Parking was great. It was one of two motels referred to us by another that was booked.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are small and not very visually appealing, but the are clean. The location is only a short walk to the beach and a block back from tons of shops and restaurants which is nice. Not sure I would stay here for a week, but it was fine for a night.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We went to Rehoboth for Columbus Weekend for the last bit of warm weather and sunshine. Everyone else had the same idea so we had to scramble for a room. Everything from in-town all the way out to Lewes was booked for the night so we took a room at the High Seas. The positives, it is only two-half blocks from beach and one block from the main shopping area. Parking was plentiful and easy access. The price was more than half off a nightly rate at another hotel/motel. George, our front desk manager, was extremely nice and helpful. The negatives, there is a reason why this place is cheap. To say the room was spartan would be an understatement. With the cinder block walls, my daughter remarked that it looked like a prison cell. The beds were small, but firm. There is a small TV that actually has all of the cable channels. The shower towels were about the size of a hand towel and you could almost see through them. There is no elevator, but only three floors. The stairwell door had a huge cobweb that we had to walk under. I would stay again, but only for one night, and only if we did not have other viable options.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

last minute trip so I decided to stay here. Very dusty and when I got home I had bites all over my legs. So I called an exterminator and was told that I have bed bugs. I have heard about bed bugs and problems with hotels and called the hotel to inform them of my new found pests. The owner refused to believe that they have bed bugs and did not seem interested in the needs of his guests.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

Been to High Seas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Seas Motel

Address: 12 Christian Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Seas Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added High Seas Motel to your Saves list