We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the value for the low price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Seas Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Seas Motel
Save Saved
You added High Seas Motel to your Saves list
12 Christian Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Adelphi, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Can't beat the value for the low price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I have stayed at High Seas MANY times with friends. We always book here because it is so close to the beach and bars, and it is so affordable. The rooms have TV's, AC, mini fridge, microwaves, and are cleaned daily. Not to mention the free parking! Nope, it's not luxury, but we're all in our mid to late 20's and this place cannot be beat. The staff is friendly and always pleasant to deal with. High Seas for the win!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Ultra basic but was pleased and comfortable for the two nights. Clean accommodations and a comfortable bed. A super plus was Maggie, the office manager who's been there for many many years. Her hospitality added charm and made a wonderful difference. High Seas is conveniently located...2-3 blocks from the beach and a block off the main strip. Parking was great. It was one of two motels referred to us by another that was booked.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are small and not very visually appealing, but the are clean. The location is only a short walk to the beach and a block back from tons of shops and restaurants which is nice. Not sure I would stay here for a week, but it was fine for a night.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We went to Rehoboth for Columbus Weekend for the last bit of warm weather and sunshine. Everyone else had the same idea so we had to scramble for a room. Everything from in-town all the way out to Lewes was booked for the night so we took a room at the High Seas. The positives, it is only two-half blocks from beach and one block from the main shopping area. Parking was plentiful and easy access. The price was more than half off a nightly rate at another hotel/motel. George, our front desk manager, was extremely nice and helpful. The negatives, there is a reason why this place is cheap. To say the room was spartan would be an understatement. With the cinder block walls, my daughter remarked that it looked like a prison cell. The beds were small, but firm. There is a small TV that actually has all of the cable channels. The shower towels were about the size of a hand towel and you could almost see through them. There is no elevator, but only three floors. The stairwell door had a huge cobweb that we had to walk under. I would stay again, but only for one night, and only if we did not have other viable options.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

last minute trip so I decided to stay here. Very dusty and when I got home I had bites all over my legs. So I called an exterminator and was told that I have bed bugs. I have heard about bed bugs and problems with hotels and called the hotel to inform them of my new found pests. The owner refused to believe that they have bed bugs and did not seem interested in the needs of his guests.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

The High Seas Motel is located about two and a half blocks back from the beach and one block back from Rehoboth Avenue, which makes it a very reasonable walk to Rehoboth's activities without having to drive. Parking for guests is also free. It is indeed a "M"otel with the cliche configuration of parking lot facing room doors and windows. The rooms are reasonably quiet, which is mostly due to the painted cinder block walls between rooms (so don't expect anything cosmetically appealing). The room was clean, odor free, and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was functional and again, well maintained. The room has a small refrigerator and a microwave oven, which amused me since I've stayed at far more expensive properties in Rehoboth which didn't have either. The rate for the room was high but still much less than other properties in the neighborhood since we there during the weekend during the summer season (when all prices are right through the roof). I have nothing bad to say about the property, and it served a purpose.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Absolutely - the most PUTRID SMELLING motel I'd ever been in - DO NOT STAY HERE!

Hoped to save a buck (since usually not in the room that much when at the beach). Saw on-line that it wasn't fancy and had a moldy smell - but I had no idea that it would smell like a 1000 cats had pissed all over the room. Also, made the mistake of not inspecting the room before giving them our credit cards. And, the owner was at least 100 - barely understood english - and would not agree to any refund. We obviously still went elseware (easily got a far nicer room for roughly $50 more/day) - and tried to negotiate a reasonable 1-day cancelation fee (to no avail)! Ended up getting a permanent refund on my Credit Card - Thank Goodness - What a Nightmare!!!!! They should be ashamed!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Seas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Seas Motel

Address: 12 Christian Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Seas Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.