We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, reasonably convenient, and extremely basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of High Seas Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Seas Motel
Save Saved
You added High Seas Motel to your Saves list
12 Christian Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Clean, reasonably convenient, and extremely basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

The High Seas Motel is located about two and a half blocks back from the beach and one block back from Rehoboth Avenue, which makes it a very reasonable walk to Rehoboth's activities without having to drive. Parking for guests is also free. It is indeed a "M"otel with the cliche configuration of parking lot facing room doors and windows. The rooms are reasonably quiet, which is mostly due to the painted cinder block walls between rooms (so don't expect anything cosmetically appealing). The room was clean, odor free, and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was functional and again, well maintained. The room has a small refrigerator and a microwave oven, which amused me since I've stayed at far more expensive properties in Rehoboth which didn't have either. The rate for the room was high but still much less than other properties in the neighborhood since we there during the weekend during the summer season (when all prices are right through the roof). I have nothing bad to say about the property, and it served a purpose.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Absolutely - the most PUTRID SMELLING motel I'd ever been in - DO NOT STAY HERE!

Hoped to save a buck (since usually not in the room that much when at the beach). Saw on-line that it wasn't fancy and had a moldy smell - but I had no idea that it would smell like a 1000 cats had pissed all over the room. Also, made the mistake of not inspecting the room before giving them our credit cards. And, the owner was at least 100 - barely understood english - and would not agree to any refund. We obviously still went elseware (easily got a far nicer room for roughly $50 more/day) - and tried to negotiate a reasonable 1-day cancelation fee (to no avail)! Ended up getting a permanent refund on my Credit Card - Thank Goodness - What a Nightmare!!!!! They should be ashamed!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

we went for memorial day weekend, and it was the only place left with rooms. The staff was really nice and they let us keep our car there a little longer, but if you don't want cigarette butt burns on your sheets, you might want to try something else!

it's cheap, it's safe. that's the positive, but the quality of the rooms are questionable

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

This hotel is certainly not luxurious, or quaint. To me, it had a very Soviet-era feel, with concrete block walls. The room wasn't sparkling clean, but it wasn't awful with cobwebs, like the other reviewer mentioned. It was basic accomodations a few blocks away from the beach. The rooms were quiet, and there wasn't any weird noises keeping me awake.

I would neither recommend it nor not recommend it. TripAdvisor required me to check one, so I checked no. However, if you're okay with very bare bones (and you know who you are!) then you'd probably be okay with this place. If you're looking for something more mainstream, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

Not many places available at last minute trip. Ended up at High Seas for 2 nights. If I were staying longer, I'd look for another place. Room smells moldy, left door open all day when in room. Housekeeping just left and corners of the ceiling are still lined with cobwebs. Curtains are falling down and won't close all the way. Gave sleep quality a 3 rating because we got the king size bed. This place is pretty bad, if you're looking for a place in rehoboth, make this your last choice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Seas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Seas Motel

Address: 12 Christian Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Seas Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.