We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Eat at the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Air Kitchen

Salt Air Kitchen
50 Wilmington Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2217
+1 302-227-3744
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 235 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: ...A Delaware beach picnic highlighting the best our region has to offer. Located in the heart of downtown Rehoboth Beach, Salt Air offers farm to table fresh cuisine, an upscale atmosphere, and great hospitality. Check out our locally inspired menu featuring fresh seasonal produce, sustainable seafood, and organic meats and poultry. Visit our fun, cozy bar and sample our creative libations, great wines, and micro brews on tap. At Salt Air, we are passionate about providing the best in food, hospitality, and atmosphere. Stop by today and taste the Salt Air difference.
Wilmington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Eat at the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We were down at Rehobath Beach visiting some family and we chose to go to Salt Air for dinner.
What a great choice. Everything was phenomenal.
Loved the art on the walls, the ambiance - the lighting, the flowers, very cozy.
Service is excellent and the food = not a morsel left on anyone's plate.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We are happy to know you enjoyed the food, service, and atmosphere at Salt Air. We hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    84
    26
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Maryland
1 review
“not as advertised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

So I read in the dining magazine half off wines and other values on their special menus on
Thursdays. So I called to make a reservation 3 days in advance and was told no reservations after 6. When I asked about the specials listed in the Rehoboth dining guide for thursday, nobody knew what I was talking about--"specials, what specials?" They had no specials on wine or food. When we arrived, we were told we would have to wait--the hostess acted as if we should know there would be a wait!! She did not make us feel welcome. Bottom-line, after a 40 minute wait for a table that they refused to take a reservation, the waitress worked hard, and the food was quite good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed the service and food at Salt Air on you r recent visit. We do take a limited amount of reservations between five and six. However, these slots do fill up quickly so we suggest calling several weeks in advance. Taking only a limited amount of reservations helps allow us to save room for walk in guests as well. Everything after 6:00pm is a first come first serve basis. We have Happy hour seven nights a week from 5-7 at the bar. We apologize for the miscommunication since Thursday night is in fact our half price wine night. We hope for your return!

Laura Rubino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not quite up to former standards.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Menu has changed and seems to be "economized." Salmon on cucumber salad not special. Our dinner guest was picking shells out of his crab cakes. Grilled peach salad was disappointing compared to beet salad that used to be on menu. All in all kind of disappointing which often happens in our little beach town!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We are sorry to hear your recent visit to Salt Air was disappointing. We did replace the beet salad with the peach salad because beets are not up to par this time of year. We do change things up a bit from time to time. If there is something you do not enjoy we will certainly do our best to get you something you do like! We apologize for the shells in the crab cakes. We strive to provide the best dining experience possible to every guest. We hope for your return!

Laura Rubino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful gourmet dining at the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Both of our meals were extremely good. Tried both seafood and chicken meals and both were excellent. Don't miss their fabulous desserts!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Meal at the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I joined another couple here for dinner here after a day at the beach. We had a 5:30pm reservation on a Saturday night and were promptly seated. We ordered a round of drinks, two of us getting standard wine/beer and the other two ordering off of the specialty drink menu. For our appetizer, we split an order of the marinated olives, a salad, and the cheeseboard. Highly recommend the cheeseboard! We had a great time mixing and matching the assortment of cheese, fruit, and crackers. For dinner, one of our friends and I ordered the day boat scallops, another the shrimp fry, and my husband the seafood stew. The scallops were perfect with the sugar snap peas. My husband needed assistance finishing the delicious seafood stew so I was happy to oblige, and our friend enjoyed the shrimp fry which was also generously portioned.

All in all, an enjoyable experience with great food. However, I am giving it a four out of five because of pricing (expensive, especially the drinks, so budget accordingly!) and the high noise level. Also, there was a family with two young children immediately adjacent to us, and one of the children kept bumping her chair into our friend's while he was trying to eat. This was obviously not the restaurant’s fault, but certainly frustrating when you are trying to enjoy a quality meal with adults. Still, we would recommend this place for those looking for good food at the beach!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your review. The Cheeseboard, Day Boat Scallops, and the Seafood Stew our three of our most popular menu items, we are happy you enjoyed them!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Air Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Salt Air Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Air Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.