We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, just fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Air Kitchen

Salt Air Kitchen
50 Wilmington Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2217
302-227-3744
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 231 restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Fantastic, just fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We found this place by chance while walking by. They are only open 4 nights a week, and it was Friday evening at 4:55 PM. There was literally a LINE waiting to get in. So we joined the line, and since we didn't have a reservation we snagged two seats at the bar. The decor is very California-Napa Valley-ish. Light woods, open plan, very cool. The bar is good sized, and the bartenders rocked. Service was incredibly speedy. We ordered pan fried almonds, and they arrived in about 1 minute piping hot. Drinks were refilled immediately. The food (I had salmon, she had halibut) was awesome. Some of the best fish I've had in ages. Highly recommend it!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are happy you stumbled upon Salt Air and loved it! We hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    140
    63
    20
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
“Great seafood; fabulous deserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I had a seafood stew that was wonderful; my husband had a steak that was equally delicious. But I think the best was the dessert - a mint chocolate torte that if you are a chocolate lover, is not to be missed! Excellent and friendly service. Nice clientele and atmosphere. We will definitely return for dinner. Our best meal in Rehoboth. Only drawback is that they did not take reservations, but were willing to call us on the cell when they were close to having a table.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for review! We are happy to know Salt Air was your best meal while in Rehoboth! Friday and Saturday nights we take reservations for 5pm, 5:30pm, and 6pm and limited reservations on Sunday, Wednesday, and Thursday nights! 302-227-3744

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The food was great!! You will love the atmosphere as well..Make reservations as this place is tough to get into at times.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review! We take reservations on Friday and Saturday for 5pm, 5:30pm, and 6pm. We take limited reservations on Sunday, Wednesday, and Thursday nights. 302-227-3744

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haskell, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great location about 2 blocks from the beach. The food was great, nice selection, also had a nice selection of gluten free choices. We had a large group of 12, two of which was a 7 and 9 year old. The service was good, accommodating and friendly, the staff was very familiar with the menu and specials when questioned about food items. Food was fresh, especially the fish. Would definitely go back next time in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Terrific food in Rehoboth Beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is the only restaurant we visited during our week in Rehoboth Beach that was so good, it warranted a return visit.

NOTE: The place is packed. Get a reservation if you can, or, consider having an early dinner before the place gets crowded. Lines stretched in front of the place with people waiting to get in.

Service is friendly and prompt. For some reason, there were a lot of people bringing kids in to the place -- somewhat unusual for an upscale place, but we were lucky. They were well behaved for the most part.

The rooms are spacious, but somewhat noisy.

For starters, had a "dark and stormy" cocktail, served in a mason jar. It was delicious, and cost around $10. The next time we went, I had a Heineken. My waitress asked if I wanted a glass, and I said yes. Out came another mason jar. Beer in a mason jar doesn't seem to work as well as a pilsner glass or mug, but what the hey!

They serve delicious flat bread to start, along with a garlic butter spread. Delicious! We had to get a reload both evenings (more on this later).

My wife had a salad both nights to start. She raved about it, particularly the house dressing (more on this, too). I had the beet/goat cheese salad one night (delicious) and the corn/crab chowder the next (also very enjoyable if not a bit on the heavy side).

The first night I had the day boat scallops which were huge, sweet, and tender. Excellent. The second night, I wanted to go for something completely different, so I had the "deconstructed lasagna" which was nice and flavorful, with a healthy portion being served, but the pasta was a bit mushy.

Neither my wife nor I had room for dessert, but the offerings were tempting. I ended things with a double espresso with a shot of sambuca and left satisfied.

Now, the bummer. You can buy the salad dressing, and flat bread from the restaurant if you want. We wanted, but the flatbread was $15/pkg...pretty expensive if you ask me. We didn't want to take it, because we weren't ready to go home and figured we'd pick some up on getaway day. Our waiter said we could get it at the "Big Fish Grill" market on route 1. So off we went. What a shock to find out that it was only $3/package for the flat bread there. COME ON GUYS! No need to take advantage of customers like that. FIVE TIMES THE MARK UP (probably more if they're buying at wholesale prices). That's the only bad thing I have to say.

Check out and enjoy the Salt Air. Just don't buy any take-homeables!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to know you had an enjoyable experience at Salt Air. The flat bread costs more when purchased at Salt Air because the portion is much more than if you purchase it at the Big Fish Market. We hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Air Kitchen also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE

Been to Salt Air Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Air Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.