We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable meal a block off Rehoboth's main drag.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Air Kitchen

Salt Air Kitchen
50 Wilmington Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2217
+1 302-227-3744
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 233 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: ...A Delaware beach picnic highlighting the best our region has to offer. Located in the heart of downtown Rehoboth Beach, Salt Air offers farm to table fresh cuisine, an upscale atmosphere, and great hospitality. Check out our locally inspired menu featuring fresh seasonal produce, sustainable seafood, and organic meats and poultry. Visit our fun, cozy bar and sample our creative libations, great wines, and micro brews on tap. At Salt Air, we are passionate about providing the best in food, hospitality, and atmosphere. Stop by today and taste the Salt Air difference.
Ocean View, Delaware
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal a block off Rehoboth's main drag.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Crowded bar at happy hour and those guests appeared to be enjoying food and drink. With our reservation, we were promptly seated when all were present. A tad noise which meant we had to strain to hear the waiter. All menu items were available. The chowder and dumpling soups were delicious and comforting on a cold, windy night. The bleu burger was served as requested, medium rare. The shrimp (encrusted w/ corn flakes) were not only tasty, but huge. Fries rocked. Crab cakes were good, with little filler (but not as good as Nantucket's in Fenwick). The specialty drinks, served in mason jars, were ample in both size and strength. Too full to attempt their attractive dessert menu. Parking may be challenging.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank your for such a nice review, we hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Manager
Big Fish Restaurant Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    79
    25
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

New restaurant in Rehoboth. The new owners have done a great job taking over a restaurant that was not previously a success and making it a popular place. The owners also own the Summer House, another popular place in Rehoboth.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review, we hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Manager
Big Fish Restaurant Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice decor, Food not so nice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I went here to have a birthday dinner with my daughter, and i can't remember ever having a disappointing birthday meal, until the Salt Air Kitchen. I knew it was a little pricey, however i was expecting that I would also get a great meal. Unfortunately, the crab cakes were burnt on the outside and totally cold on the inside. The Pork Chop that I had was decent until I got to the middle, and it looked like sushi from not being cooked properly. The string beans were also so-so. The waitress asked my daughter if she wanted another soda, which she did...just note that you will have to pay for it. Last, my daughter did like the french fries, but for the price, we could have ate at Five Guys for a week and been much happier. The decor is nice, but food needs big time improvement.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate all feedback and are always looking for ways to improve!

Brooke Bennett
Manager
Big Fish Restaurant Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Good and then needs some improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Appetizers were good and the service was fine. The issues come with the mains. The kitchen does not seem to get it that four people eating together would like their meals to be prepared so the four people could enjoy the same doneness. One meal was cool, one just right and two unde rcooked. One had to go back because the seafood was essentially raw. They clam to tend to cook their seafood rare. Maybe OK for tuna, but may be dangerous for others. Be warned - ask for medium doneness at least. The blond haired matre D' ladiy needs to get some lessons in customer relations. She talked down to one customer who did not like his meals preparation (he was right) and gave two woman a hard time who did not want a particular table when the place was pretty empty. Here's a tp...buy wine by the glass. It is cheaper per ounce than by the bottle.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate all feedback and are always looking for ways to improve!

Brooke Bennett
Manager
Big Fish Restaurant Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“excellent food,service acceptable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Love the crab deviled eggs...scallops cooked to perfection. Would have liked better service. they were a little slow checking in for drinks etc., and they were out of Bud Light.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are happy you enjoyed the scallops and the crab deviled eggs (they are one of our favorites)! We apologize for the slower then normal service and the bud light. Hopefully you will dine with us again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Manager
Big Fish Restaurant Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Air Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Salt Air Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Air Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.