We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lupo

Lupo
247 Rehoboth Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302.226.2240
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 210 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout
Description: As Matt's first Italian concept, Lupo di Mare offers a fresh perspective on Italian cuisine incorporating local produce and freshly-caught seafood into creative Mediterranean dishes. From tastes like hand-pulled mozzarella and braised pork bolognese, to char-grilled octopus and sea bass with butternut squash risotto, our menu diverges from typical Italian fare while capturing traditional flavors. Vintage European films unfold on-screen in our comfortably intimate dining room, clad in simplistic, Italian-inspired decor. An unassuming staff will guide you through our comprehensive wine collection and unique cocktail list to ensure an exceptional experience. Located in elegant Hotel Rehoboth in downtown Rehoboth Beach, Lupo di Mare is just steps from boutique shopping and minutes from the boardwalk. Stop in and see why the locals rave about Lupo di Mare.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I've visited this restaurant multiple times 2 years in a row when staying at the Hotel Rehoboth. This is a great Italian restaurant with an extensive menu and the food has always exceeded expectations. Service is great, though our hostess was a little off the last two times we visited earlier in December. I highly recommend it. They do not accept reservations but the wait has always been reasonable.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    41
    13
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not your Mom and Pop, red-sauce Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a restaurant we wish we had tried sooner. The ambience is simple and surprisingly elegant but is still comfortable for the beach set. Their service is good and unexpectedly proper in a way would be fitting to a favored, city restaurant. What makes this such a good eatery is the menu. Their menu includes choices similar to those we've seen in italy along the coast, but more of them. Very well executed and interesting dishes made with fresh, local ingredients. This is a great place to go for a special evening, or that night you want to dress up just a little instead of chowing down in a shorts and flip flops.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoDelConceptsManager, Manager at Lupo, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hi, Stefanie - thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for us. Your encounter at Lupo is exactly what we wish for all of our customers. We will hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pefect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Rehoboth upstairs - which we loved - and let me just say this is the perfect restaurant to compliment it. We actually dined here for our son's 3rd bday and he loved it too. No Chuck E Cheese's for him! Every bread, pasta, sauce, fish and cheese we tried was amazing. They do it right!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
110 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Favorite Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The best Italian restaurant in Rehoboth Beach. Me and friends go at least twice a month. they take no reservations but we always get seated quickly. The sea bass and the steak is a consistent knock out.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoDelConceptsManager, Manager at Lupo, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to write a great review - it is always good to hear from a local, and a repeat customer! We will look forward to seeing you again soon! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Find!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Food & wine/cocktails all very good. Nice decor. Suggest purchase of better quality silverware & water glasses. This level of restaurant & price point warrants glass water goblets/glasses (not scruffy plastic) and nice silverware (not scruffy, thin knives, forks & spoons that look like second-hand, low end cafeteria style cutlery. In fact, the silverware given to dine-in customers at the Starbucks across the street was of much better quality.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lupo also viewed

Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Lupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.