We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Oysters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Claws Seafood House

Claws Seafood House
167 Rehoboth Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971 (Formerly Claws Crab House)
3022272529
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 235 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Clifton, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Oysters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I've only been to this place for happy hour, but each time it's been very good. We sat at the bar and each time the bartender was very friendly and the service was quick. My favorite food to order there is the raw oysters on the half shell. Very fresh and delicious. The place has a nice atmosphere and a couple of TV's at the bar to watch a game. Overall, a nice place to go for a drink.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claws167, General Manager at Claws Seafood House, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We have really enjoyed the bitter end of Winter, as well as the bitter end of our March Madness brackets, here at Claws. Glad that you enjoy our happy hour! We feel that its one of the best in town! Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    75
    23
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Crab and Lobster: Best in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Atmosphere is noisy but it was packed and now we know why. We had lobster tail and snow crabs for dinner. Even the side dishes were great.

It's hard to get crab legs off season, but from now on our place to go is going to be Claws!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claws167, General Manager at Claws Seafood House, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Sorry for the tardy response, but I can't help but to share my excitement for your post. We actually just started a groupon campaign for those 2 things exactly! A lobster/crab combo for 2 with 2 cocktails for $49! (face value of ~$85) Come on in next time you're in town. Thanks again for leaving a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Will Go Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

A late October visit on a Wednesday night. Only four tables were occupied. Scotti's service was super. Oysters; not as good as Henlopen City Oyster House, but the sauces were better. Fish and chips did not meet the expectations, (perhaps based on those served in Ireland). Mussels were tasty. Half a dozen extra large crabs were ordered, heavy and tasty. The neighboring table didn't eat all their crabs, giving us five more. We ate crabs two more times at home. Martini, bloody mary, a draft beer and a bottle of Pouilly Fuisse were purchased. Off season, a definite stop.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claws167, General Manager at Claws Seafood House, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review that included all of the items you tried. I remember your table and how you guys got those extra crabs. Pretty funny. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, NJ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dinner with the Crabs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The 4 of us each had a different meal from Oysters on the half shell to Fish with Pasta and everything was delicious. Good staff and a great time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claws167, General Manager at Claws Seafood House, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Short and sweet! Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Server made the meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

There were eight of us and Kasey, our server, kept it all together. She managed to give each couple separate checks as well as giving options on how to split the cost of a bottle of wine among couples. She was professional and knowledgeable. Several of us had the stuffed shrimp which was excellent. Fruit
de Mer was huge and delicious Ahi tuna was prepared as ordered. We all enjoyed the meal, but Kasey was the star!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claws167, General Manager at Claws Seafood House, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks for your response, and Kasey was glad to see the shout out. I wanted to make sure that our customers know that generally speaking, we avoid splitting checks. During the summer when we have 100 people in the dining room including tables of 10 or more, we try not to have our servers spending 10 minutes splitting checks because we want everyone to receive quality service from their servers. I'm glad she was able to do it for you in that instance, and happy that you had a wonderful experience. Thanks for leaving a review and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claws Seafood House also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Claws Seafood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claws Seafood House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.