We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crab eating tutorial!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Claws Seafood House

Claws Seafood House
167 Rehoboth Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971 (Formerly Claws Crab House)
3022272529
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 238 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Crab eating tutorial!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were heading bAck to NY from our trip to cape Hatteras and stopped off at Rehoboth beach. Wanted crabs so so Claws was the place to go. Sitting at the bar I began hacking at my blue claw. Well, Amy our bartender said "call 911 this person is committing a crime against a crab". With that I got a complete lesson from Amy and another patron, Elizabeth, sitting next to us on how to properly eat a crab. I surely learned alotmthat nite andni have been eating crabs for many years!! The crabs were meaty, sweet and oh so fresh!! It was a GREAT stop with attentive fun service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claws167, Manager at Claws Seafood House, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for dropping a review. Elizabeth is one of our regulars, and she never hesitates to help out anybody who is sitting at the bar with menu questions or drink inquiries. Amy will be glad to hear that you mentioned her. So glad that you enjoyed your experience and hope that you stop in next time you pass through!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    76
    24
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Go For The Crabs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

You can call and order your crabs ahead of time, but it does not guarantee you a table although we ate there three nights and never had to wait. A very funky beach place with eager young servers. We had crabs (very good), lobster (excellent) and crab cakes (disappointing) but the sides are fresh (cole slaw and corn on the cob)
Yummy Smith Island chocolate cake for dessert. Kids are welcome.
Good value and amibience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claws167, Manager at Claws Seafood House, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are always proud to host families and are very happy that you had a good experience. I am sorry, however, that you did not enjoy your crab cakes. We generally get great reviews on them, but we gladly would have replaced them with something else on the menu. Thanks again for your business and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparrows Point, Maryland, United States
1 review
“Thanks Claws”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

While heading home from Bethany My Wife, Step son and I were trying to decide where to eat. The wife had a taste for a crab pretzel. She Google best crab pretzel in Rehobeth and Claws came up as #2. We called ahead and was seated within 30 minutes. While searching the menu we observed no crab pretzel. We explained to the fantasist waitress the reason we came to Claws and she apologized. So we ordered other entrees I recommend the Steak and Crab Cake.

While waiting for our food, the waitress came over with a crab pretzel. She said she went and told the cook (who happened to be the owner that night) and he made us one!

OVERALL a Great experience

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claws167, Manager at Claws Seafood House, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We were glad that we were able to make one for you. I am also glad that you enjoyed your steak and cake. We have had great success and very positive reviews about that entree all summer. We have some great weekend specials coming in the Fall, so if you're back in town, feel free to stop by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lobster-yes, crabs-maybe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The lobster special of 1-1/4 lb whole lobster with two sides from 4-6 every day is fabulous. The next night we got medium crabs. They were well seasoned, but quite a few were watery and mushy inside - basically inedible. Would recommend the lobster, but exercise caution when it comes to the crabs. The service was great both nights, so would still very definitely recommend.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claws167, Manager at Claws Seafood House, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
I am so sorry to hear that your crabs weren't good! We have been getting pretty good reviews about them all summer. We would have gladly cooked you up a few more if there were more than one or two. Great to here that you stopped in twice. We have a lot more to offer, so hopefully we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lobster just okay, not great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We ate here once while on vacation, all getting the early bird special Maine lobster for $16.99 with 2 sides. The lobster was supposed to be 1 1/4 lb. it was probably 1/2 to 3/4 lb. that was served. They were light with a lot of water pouring out of the claws and not as tasty as I have had before. I have eaten and cooked plenty of lobsters in my life so I know when I have a good one or not, maybe compare this to a Red Lobster kind of meal? The sides were bland, potato salad & Mac and cheese, the veggies broccoli & butter nut squash were tasty. My daughter got a margarita served in a beer glass with no alcohol taste whatsoever. The hard crabs served here smelled good but no mention of where they came from as Maryland crabs are the best!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claws167, Manager at Claws Seafood House, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Sorry that your lobster did not live up to your expectations. We would have gladly replaced the watery Lobster with another. Our larger crabs we get flown in regularly from North Carolina, Louisiana, and Texas. The smaller crabs are local, coming from Miles River, the Choptank, etc. Please feel free to stop in next time you are in town! We have lots of fall specials coming up in addition to the busy Labor Day weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claws Seafood House also viewed

 

Been to Claws Seafood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claws Seafood House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.