We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming front porch...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rehoboth Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rehoboth Guest House
Save Saved
You added Rehoboth Guest House to your Saves list
40 Maryland Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Longer Stay Specials
Ranked #2 of 16 Rehoboth Beach B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“welcoming front porch...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Just beautiful home walking distance from boardwalk and restaurants. Both Tom and Steve welcoming and helpful along with great breakfast!
Room was comfortable...tasteful...clean...and garden was heavenly...retreat for breakfast or evening drink. Very satisfied...and lot for car...

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
89
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Rehoboth Guest House is a favorite place of mine. Steve, the innkeeper, and his partner Tom, are fantastic as is the rest of the staff! The house has been recently redone and looks great. My only reluctance in rating it high, is that it means more people will stay there and make it harder for me to book a reservation!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

So Glad I Returned. Never a disappointment. Last years visit was so wonderful that I never imagined it could ever get better. Upon arrival, I realized I was wrong. The newly renovated House is BEAUTIFUL - but tasteful and in keeping with the original house. So comfortable and clean. I wish I could go back every week! Truly not an experiece to be missed! Friendly guests, super-clean accomodations, inviting surroundings and the best part - Hospitable Managers; Steve and Tom go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. I look forward to my return, once again!

Room Tip: They are all great (I kept my same room # 24) with private bath. But would not be hesitant to take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

THE nicest B&B I've stayed at in a very long time. Clean, comfortable rooms, really nice breakfast, great location a short walk from the beach and the restaurants and bars on Baltimore. Will definitely be coming back again next year!

Room Tip: Make reservations early; try and get one of the rooms with its own bathroom (sharing one can be a pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here with my wife for two nights and overall we were very pleased. The decor is tasteful and contemporary, everything feels new and clean. The staff are charming and helpful.

Breakfast is "help yourself" but includes a good selection of nicely prepared hot offerings such as eggs, bacon, and sausage, as well as some very tasty fresh fruit and pastries. My wife appreciated the fact that in addition to the usual coffee, juices, and milk that they also had almond milk, which she loves on her cereal.

Rooms are admittedly small, but nicely furnished and comfortable. Showers heat up nicely after running for a minute or so, water pressure was very good. Bedside clock can charge an iPhone 4, but not a 5, but if you're like me you've already got every possible charger and adapter with you so no big deal.

The grounds are impeccably maintained and nicely landscaped. The front porch is great for relaxing and reading. Loved the beautiful backyard, which had a multi-story deck with lots of seating and lounging spots, and the fully enclosed and heated outdoor showers are great for washing off the beach sand--very appreciative of that. There is also a discrete area to stow and dry your beach towels and chairs, which is very convenient.

The location is perfect--within easy walking distance of the beach and Rehoboth Drive, the main drag with the best shopping and eating. Never had to get back in the car once, wonderful.

Minor gripes:

A) Parking is a block away, behind the fire and police stations, so you'll have to load/unload luggage in the street. Not so bad since as I mentioned the location is nearly perfect and one doesn't really need to do much, if any driving. Still, it's something to be aware of.

B) The scented candles in the lobby: Scents can be a very taste-specific thing, and I for one did not care for the constant aroma of the burning home-made scented candles which permeated the whole house during our stay. I believe it was meant to smell like some sort of baked desert, but to me it smelled rather like burnt pie filling on the bottom of the oven and could become rather oppressive at times. The proprietors may wish to reconsider whether it's a good idea to use scented candles in this way, as it may be off-putting to some of their guests.

Overall: We very much enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay at RGH again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I spent a night at the Rehoboth Guest House and thought it was great! We appreciated the affordable price compared to everything else that looked comparable, as well as the fact that there was no minimum stay required, and the house itself was chic and clean. It was also a three minute walk from the beach and the main drag - couldn't have been more convenient! The room was on the small side - if we had been staying for more than a night it might have been cramped. There was no closet, only a few (small!) drawers and a few hooks on the walls to hang things. But for the one night stay it was perfect. The hosts were gracious and put out a full breakfast spread in the morning, which we enjoyed. A potential snag, that turned out to be just fine in the end, was that we not only had to check out by 11, but we really had to vacate - turn in our parking pass, and we couldn't even leave bags at the house. We were told by the hosts that Rehoboth is very safe and so we could leave our bags in the car, but being from Baltimore, we weren't thrilled about the idea. It turned out just fine, so we can't really complain, but I would have felt better knowing the bags were locked inside somewhere! Otherwise though, we had a great stay and would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cream Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I spent two nights at the Rehoboth Guest House with six of our friends for a nice getaway weekend. We enjoyed the experience but there was some room for improvement.

First the good stuff:

The front porch was wonderful. Nice places to sit including a romantic porch swing. The outside areas in the back of the house had beautiful landscaping, an outside shower, and multiple decks for relaxing. There was a fabulous wine and cheese set up at 4:30 in the afternoon. Snacks were plentiful and always available. Public areas inside the house were freshly painted and had a cool funky atmosphere.

We were a bit disappointed in the following:

The room was very small. The dresser drawers were tough to open and close so we left our clothing in the suitcases. There was no closet. There was no place near the sink to keep our toiletries. The towel rack in the bathroom was falling off of the wall. Towels were not high quality. Breakfast was "help yourself" and not up to the level of other bed and breakfasts that we stayed at.

The owners have made major renovations recently but have a bit more work to do to make this a top shelf B&B.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGHBandB, Owner at Rehoboth Guest House, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the kind words you had regarding the Rehoboth Guest House's common spaces and your compliments on our wine and cheese party. We have worked hard on all of those areas and appreciate when people notice.
To respond to some of your criticisms, we know that we have much more work to do. We took over in July of 2013 and shut down in November and December. In those months we had a large task ahead of us to remodel the outside and inside. I won't go into to much detail but we do explain in depth in our blog at the bottom of our website everything we did and what our future plans are. On our facebook page, we also have some pictures of what the guest house looked like before. For the first year we tackled gutting the kitchen and installing a brand new kitchen for the breakfast to be served in, gutting the living room including taking down a major wall and replacing all the windows and installing a new hvac system for the common areas. We purchased all new furniture for the living room and dining room. By taking down the wall we expanded the space so that we could also have a dining table which the guest house didn't have in the past. As far as the rooms go, we know that we have more work to do. The furniture in the rooms with the exception of the new mattresses, is the original furniture and we do plan on replacing the dressers. We did start in some of the rooms replacing the sinks with vanity's so that there is more room for toiletries. We also started tiling the bathroom floors. We have also installed towel racks in the bathrooms. As for amenities, we added tv's which we had to run all wires for and added refrigerators to all the rooms. We changed all the bedding as well. We did all this including painting the entire interior. As for the backyard, we pretty much gutted the backyard, installed a new fence and all new landscaping. All of the outside patio furniture is also new. Each year we plan on improving the guest house. In addition to the physical items, we did expand the breakfast quite a bit and have had many compliments by guests on the generous selection we now have especially compared to before we took over. We know we will never be Perfect, but we will do our best with the building that we have. By keeping rates low, we feel and have been told that with the location and the added amenities our guests are getting a good value. My suggestion to everyone is to call the Innkeeper Steve before booking and he can help you choose a room that would best suit your needs, including more space. Thank you for choosing the Rehoboth Guest House and for our support.
Owners Frank and Garrett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rehoboth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rehoboth Guest House

Address: 40 Maryland Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location....Newly Renovated...The Rehoboth Guest House is a charming gay owned and operated Victorian beach house Bed and Breakfast located in the heart of Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, just steps from the boardwalk, beach, and the Atlantic ocean. The gracious front porch -- lined with rockers and flowers -- welcomes you. The Guest House's 14 guest rooms have large windows, with plantation blinds. Each guest room is unique, painted in warm colors and have comfortable furniture. All rooms now with 32" TV's ,IPOD alarm clock radios and room size refrigerators. Wake up to the smells of a hot breakfast served in our new Chef's Kitchen and retreat to our new dining area, large front porch or private back yard decks. Join us to meet the other guests at our popular Saturday afternoon wine-and-cheese parties hosted by the Inn Keeper Steve and staff in the tree-shaded back yard (in season). Outdoor enclosed cedar showers with their own dressing areas are especially welcoming after a day at the beach.You can spend your morning basking in the sun, then retreat to the shade of the front porch, where you can see the ocean at the end of the street and watch the world go by. Then you will be ready to have a drink at a favorite watering hole, browse at the smart shops around town, and dine at one of Rehoboth's excellent restaurants. As with other resorts, Rehoboth is a paradise for fast food junkies, too!The Rehoboth Guest House offers comfortable, reasonable accommodations and a chance to make new friends in a relaxing atmosphere. Visit us soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rehoboth Guest House Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rehoboth Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.