We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of At Melissa's B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
At Melissa's B & B
Save
You added At Melissa's B & B to your Saves list
36 Delaware Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Rehoboth Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Midland, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

My wife and I often travel by the "seat of our pants" We drive, find a town we like and try to find a place to stay, often just by driving by so we had no prior knowlege of "at Melissa's". We drove by, stopped, walked up and rang the bell at 6:30 p.m. and found a room for $99. These are off season rates and one can expect a beach resort B&B to be much higher in high season, but for us it was just fine. Our room was a king size on the ground floor. How nice not to have to climb stairs. The ensuite bathroom was adequate and the whole place was very clean and comfortable. The decor was stylish and homey at the same time. What impressed me and set this B&B apart was Melissa's provision of complimentary snacks and beverages including wine and beer. It was a very nice touch. Breakfast was a serve yourself affair with fresh fruit, cereal, waffles, bacon and other treats. Coffee, expresso and cappucino were available at all hours. The parlour was a comfortable place to watch TV and mingle with other guests. Our room did not have a TV. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. Melissa provided us with several good restaurant recommendations. If we had been there for a beach vacation, this would have been a great location. Just a block from the beach. The outdoor areas would be very pleasant in summer. This is a great place and any traveller from either Europe or the U.S. will feel right at home.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
40
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

I have stayed at this B & B before, and always go back. Great setting a block from the beach. The rooms are comfortable and relaxing. The front porch is a great place to let the afternoon pass reading a book and enjoying her wine. Looking forward to the next time that I can get away and spend more time At Melissa's

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

Melissa's Place is the BEST bed and breakfast in Rehoboth. If you are looking for the most accommodating, lovely, generous and fun inkeeper look no further!! Melissa Clink has thought of everything that will make your stay wonderful.
Once you've been here you'll not only return, but you will never want to leave.
Thank you Melissa for everything.
xo,
Cary

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

I had the pleasure of spending a night with friends at Melissa's B&B in Rehoboth Beach. The house is charming, rooms are quite comfortable and cheerily decorated. Every amenity is provided, from beach towels to soft drinks, to wine in the afternoons. Melissa is a great hostess and makes sure her guests have everything they need. I have been going to Rehoboth Beach for well over 12 years now and Melissa has the competition beat hands down. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

We only started writing reviews in earnest last year although TA is our travel bible. We post negative comments only when the hype fails to match the real thing. In the case of AT MELISSA'S, the all the positive reviews are spot on beginning with the description of the outstanding owner-inn keeper, Melissa. She is a real gem. She has even invested in a commercial kitchen to serve her guests. Everything you need to enjoy the beach is there as she supplies everything except your bathing suit, but I bet if you needed one it will be there. Our room was comfortable and clean, breakfast great (loved Melissa's peach cobbler, waffles, too), all the amenities we needed were there, complimentary adult refreshments, too, and the guests very friendly as helpful because all except us were repeat guests. I could go on, but the 2008 reviews I read below are very accurate and convinced us to book a week at the beach. I would only add that fact that Melissa has a number of repeat visitors should tell you enough. And, you can now count us among them.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

I have been staying at B&B's in Rehoboth for a very long time (20+ years) and my husband since we got married.

I stumbled on At Melissa's from reading reviews on trip advisor and once again trip advisor didn't fail me!!

This was our first time "At Melissa's" and it stands out from all the rest of the Rehoboth B&B's with the sheer number of amenities she (Melissa) has for her guests; beach bags, beach chairs, umbrellas, sodas & water bottles (neat coin-free soda machine out back), plenty of towels and coolers (with ice from an ice machine) to bring to the beach. Then when you get back from the beach she has white & red wine and beer! She also has small snacks out all day - which makes it nice for a quick snack b/f dinner. Just wonderful!

Breakfast was very yummy. She has yogurt, cereal, pastries, fruit, coffee (neat coffee machine), tea, juice, milk, water... etc. and best of all - make your own waffles. She also had a cheese & potato dish Sunday morning.

The rooms were very clean & cozy - we were in room 1 - first floor. It was very nice, but no TV in the room which my husband had a little withdrawal - but she does have a TV in the main room - so he was fine.

Distance to the beach is a very short walk - block and a half away - can't beat it.

Melissa as a host is so hospitable, very friendly and great to talk to. She's quit the traveler too and we loved hearing about the places she has been. She remembers your names right off the bat and makes it a point to introduce you to other guests - which is really nice!!

This truly is the beach house we wish we could have!
We'll def. be back!

  • Liked — the amenities and location
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

We go to Rehoboth beach every year and this was our first stay at Melissa's. We were very upset that we didn't find this place sooner! Melissa is a marvelous host and her house is great - perfect location with great big porch for reading, relaxing and socializing. She has beach bags, beach towels, etc available for you to take down to the beach so you don't have to worry about bringing any of this with you. Happy hours and breakfasts on the porch were very nice...a great way to meet the other guests. I highly recommend this B&B!

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to At Melissa's B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Melissa's B & B

Address: 36 Delaware Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
At Melissa`s Bed And Breakfast
At Melissa`s Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage At Melissa's B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.