We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of At Melissa's B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
At Melissa's B & B
36 Delaware Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free!
Ranked #3 of 16 Rehoboth Beach B&B and Inns
Westfield
1 review
“A slice of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I just returned from At Melissa's for a weekend with the ladies. What an incredible place. My King size bed was so comfortable. It was honestly one of the best nights sleep that I've had in a long time. The highlight was the full breakfast in the morning and wine during cocktail hour. Melissa made this banana chocolate chip bread that was divine and we couldn't believe that it was gluten free. The other bonus was how close she was to the center of town. I would highly recommend this classy B&B and definitely will be returning next year with my friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
35
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Spent a long weekend At Melissa's for a family wedding. Thanks for putting up with the 'kids' coming and going and for the relaxing and enjoyable atmosphere. From mimosa's on the porch for breakfast, to popcorn and wine out back to the comfy clean rooms. A great stay!

Room Tip: We took over the 'attic', where there was plenty of room for our adult kids and us to enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Melissa really thinks of everything! We had such a lovely experience traveling with our four year old son to Rehoboth this summer and staying "At Melissa's." There were beach towels, chairs, sand toys, and umbrellas for the beach and even bags to carry your stuff in! We loved being able to come back from the beach and shower in the lovely outdoor shower (with fresh towels always ready to go for you). Melissa also always has beverages and coolers available for you to take to and from the beach as well. The outdoor fridge was always stocked with beer and there was an indoor wine fridge. It's a "help yourself" attitude which made it nice to come back to and just relax on the front porch with a cocktail! The house overall is cozy and laid back. My son loved hanging out in the living room with the other children staying and watching movies. Breakfast was always delicious and plenty of options! Location is a plus as well - a block away in all directions from all the great stuff Rehoboth has to offer. Plenty of places to dine out at, or use Melissa's grill and kitchen to prepare your own dinner and eat out on the back patio. House is quiet and we felt our room, albeit, small, was comfy and welcoming. We are looking forward to making this our annual place to stay and continue making more memories in Rehoboth while staying here!

Room Tip: If you're traveling with children, make sure to ask Melissa for a room big enough to accommodate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed at this wonderful B & B in Rehoboth DE. Melissa is so charming and welcoming, you feel like you found a long lost friend and you were going home. I highly recommend this B & B to everyone who needs to get away and be treated like family at the same time.. Sitting on the porch, at Melissa's having a glass of wine hearing the ocean in the distance is a little piece of heaven. We are so glad that we found this great B & B we will go back again in a heart beat. Trust me you won't want to leave. The food was so good the smells will wake you up with the smells traveling thur the house. This is the BEST B & B we ever stayed at, and we are going back for sure.We even made new friends, that we all went out for dinner the last night we were there.The only thing bad about it is time fly's right by you and next thing you know it's time to leave. You feel like you are leaving your childhood home. I could go one forever, but you must see for yourself. You won't be disappointed. I promise you....Go and have a good and relaxing time. Just park your car and you can walk to everything, shopping, dinner, and the boardwallk

Room Tip: . All the rooms are beautifully decorated. We stayed in room #1 with a king size bed and a private b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We had a wonderful stay "At Melissa's" in July of 2011. Our main reasons for visiting Rehoboth Beach were to go to the Dogfish Head Brewpub on Rehoboth Avenue and the Dogfish Head Brewery in Milton, DE, and to have some beach time as well. The location of "At Melissa's" is perfect: only 1.5 blocks from the beach and boardwalk, and also just a short walk from the shops and restaurants downtown; we didn't need to use our rental car for anything that we did in Rehoboth. Melissa provided a wonderful selection of breakfast items each morning; I am a vegetarian and my husband is an omnivore, and we were both very happy with the delicious breakfast offerings: hard boiled eggs, waffles (make them yourself using batter already prepped), the pastry/baked good du jour, the meat item du jour (bacon or sausage) fresh fruit, a choice of juices, coffee, tea, etc. Complimentary wine, soda, and beer was available whenever we liked. There was an adorable sitting and dining area in the backyard. Melissa's also had a beautiful front porch porch, which was lovely to sit at for dining, talking, or just relaxing. We stayed for four nights. On our first night, we stayed in the room with the daybed and a separate (but not shared) bathroom. For the next three nights, we stayed in a room with a private bath within the room. Both rooms were lovely, comfortable, and clean. The toiletries, towels, and linens provided were perfect, and our room was attended to daily. Melissa was very helpful in providing directions and suggestions for beach spots and dining suggestions when we requested them. Beach chairs, beach umbrellas, coolers/ice, and beach towels are all available for guests' complimentary use, which was very helpful. On our first beach day, we found that the particular umbrella that we had chosen from At Melissa's wasn't very functional, and the chairs were a little low for our liking, so we ended up renting both chairs and an umbrella at the beach on our second beach day instead (there are little rental kiosks all along the beach, and the rental staff will put the umbrellas into the ground for you...the rental umbrellas are very sturdy, so we found this service to be worth the money for our purposes). Melissa was extremely accommodating of our late-arrival time on our first night there due to a late flight arrival. We felt that the price was very reasonable for a place so close to the beach and Rehoboth Avenue. If you are looking for a quiet, charming place that is also convenient to the beach, boardwalk, shops, and restaurants, then I highly recommend "At Melissa's." We loved our stay "At Melissa's," and will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Rehoboth Beach!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Fishkill, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed here in the summer of 2011. We didn't make our reservation until only a couple weeks before we intended to go, and were surprised that Melissa still had a room available. Our room and the house in general were furnished well and comfortably. We had great nights' sleep in the (to us) very large bed. Melissa was personable and available, interacting with all the guests (around 8 of us in total, give or take) morning, afternoon, and evening. She had good recommendations for restaurants, things to do, and places to visit. The breakfasts were tasty, and the afternoon snacks were a treat. We appreciated the beach equipment (umbrellas, chairs, toys, towels, etc) she had for us to take to the beach with us - only 2 blocks away. The house is also only a couple blocks off the main drag, yet it was peacefully quiet at night. We had a really enjoyable time here, and so it seemed did all the other guests, many of whom had been coming back to Melissa's repeatedly and for several years. The price was no worse than anything else in Rehoboth Beach during the summer beach tourist season, and lower than the impersonal giant hotels that line the boardwalk (again, only a couple blocks away).

Room Tip: We liked the front corner room on the second floor, for the sunlight and the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singerislandsummer
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

Lovely, charming, welcoming, classic, comfortable, exquisite, unique Bed and Breakfast has to be experienced to understand how it manages to combine fun and warmth with all the amenities and comforts you could possibly imagine from a 5-star accommodation.
At Melissa's has a special feeling that can only be chalked up to Melissa's
expertise in hospitality and her overall wonderful personality.

I can't say enough about this delightful house with it's perfect porch, friendly feel, interesting and beautiful authentic and historical look and character, a true Rehobeth Beach classic!

You won't find any better in a B&B, it really does feel like having your own beach house, perfectly kept and stocked for your every comfort.

Great location, a block and a few doors from the beach and all the best restaurants and shops. If you don't know where to start, Melissa is so helpful in recommendations and advice, that she will leave you as educated as a local. Her breakfast is super healthy and there is a huge bountiful buffet of fruit, yogurts, hard boiled eggs, juices, quiches, sausages, even a waffle iron! There is always access to gourmet coffee machine that is a snap to use, and if that is not enough, a whole refrigerator full of free cold beer, a parlor full of wine and wide array of yummy snacks and even a bloody Mary station.
Being vegetarian and gluten free myself, Melissa was so helpful in steering my husband and I to some perfect restaurants, and made gluten free waffle batter just for me, along with providing some gluten free pretzels, crackers and cheese snaps. If there is any thing you need or are interested in, it magically appears!

Our room, #5, had the most comfortable California king matress
and super high thread count linens. Big fluffy towels, top of the line spa products, beach towels, anything you need for the beach, coolers, chairs. The thing I also loved about this room was that it had tons of drawer and closet space, and a
comfy little sofa. I also loved the big airy brightness with sunshine, ocean air, hardwood floors, the exact way a beach house should feel! You can regulate the temperature yourself and there is also a ceiling fan.
All rooms have a private bathroom, ours had a huge one with closet, vanity with drawers, cupboard, bathtub, and shower with glass doors that created a 'steam shower' effect. (there is also a huge covered outdoor shower in the spacious back yard). Ample parking, even a grill and a soda/water machine that is free to fill up your cooler for the beach. There is literally nothing you will need but your clothes here.
We were the only non- repeat guests, but that won't be for long!
We will definitely be back soon.
Had the best, memorable stay!
@ Melissa's is definitely our new favorite, and by far the most fun, easy time we've ever had at a B&B!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to At Melissa's B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Melissa's B & B

Address: 36 Delaware Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Rehoboth Beach
Also Known As:
At Melissa`s Bed And Breakfast
At Melissa`s Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage At Melissa's B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added At Melissa's B & B to your Saves list