We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable, Affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Motel

Anchorage Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Anchorage Motel to your Saves list
Anchorage Motel
18809 Coastal Highway, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Delaware Beaches
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable, Affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stopped here for a night an was surprised how neat and clean the rooms were for the cost. Updated and comfortable bed. Highly recommended, especially if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    30
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
18
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

The Anchorage Motel on first glance seems like it would be loud, being in a busy spot of 1 and having a very large parking lot out side your front door but you are in for a surprise, the rooms are very quiet inside. The rooms are very clean and and affordable, also not super close to the beach as I usually go to the inlet which is about 20-25 mins away.. I stay here 7 or 8 times a year and will continue to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Anytime you can find a clean, quiet, convenient and friendly place to part with $48.60, it's a great day on the road. The room was spacious, clean (if over freshnerized) and the windows opened. Parking right outside the door made it convenient. Room contained fridge, x-ray machine, cable TV and wi-fi. Shame on the bigger joints for not providing the like.

The only downers were the signal for the internet. I had to tether using my smart phone. The sink had no hot water (shower was fine), and the fridge was loud (unplugged it overnight).
Plenty of shopping and eateries nearby and within walking distance.

Of course, I'm here during the off-off season: The way I like it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

This was a great, affordable hotel to stay at. Service was clean and the room was a good size for the price. It's got a good location right in the middle of the outlets in Rehoboth. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenixville, pa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

This had good rates, good location, and clean, spacious rooms. Traffic is a pain to get to the beach but the good nights sleep more than makes up for that. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

My fiance and I stayed here for a single night in July 2011. It looks nice and upgraded from the outside and was in a relatively safe area along Rte 1. I chatted with the clerk at checkin and learned it's family owned and operated, so they can set whatever prices they like. This was 4th of July weekend, and the prices were very good for the height of summer.

To my knowledge, some rooms have been renovated and some have not. I'm guessing we got one of the older rooms, as it was adequate but slightly subpar. The room was clean, but definitely an early 1980's throwback in need of some updating. The bathroom was as clean as could be expected for an older bathroom with aging fixtures. The lot is safe and well lit and our visit was rather unremarkable. Overall, the Anchorage is an adequate place with good prices, as long as you don't mind an older motel that offers very few amenities.

PROS
- good prices, friendly service
- central location, safe & near attractions
- room was run-down but clean, no obvious problems
- offers vending/ice machines

CONS
- looks new on the outside, run-down on the inside (at least from our experience)
- no pool
- awful beds
- room has virtually no amenties - our room only had a single soap bar
- walls are paper thin, you can hear everything outside & in other rooms

Side note: Before booking, I'd recommend comparing rates against the Hampton Inn across the street. During the summer season, the difference in rates between the two hotels is enormous, making it worth staying at the Anchorage. Other weekends it's as small as a $25/night difference, which puts the advantage in Hampton's favor. Do yourself a favor and comparison shop between the two.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We were just passing through after dark and needed a place to stay. The beach hotels were pricey, but then stumbled into this. Rooms were clean and spacious. I think we were in the new part, so can't promise it is that way throughout. But if you don't get hung up on not having shampoo, a coffee maker, or hair dryer, this place can do the trick!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#18 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#11 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#9 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#21 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf
BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf
#16 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach
Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Bea...
#14 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel

Address: 18809 Coastal Highway, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Anchorage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.