We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Motel

Save Saved
You added Anchorage Motel to your Saves list
Anchorage Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anchorage Motel
18809 Coastal Highway, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

This was a great, affordable hotel to stay at. Service was clean and the room was a good size for the price. It's got a good location right in the middle of the outlets in Rehoboth. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    25
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
16
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
phoenixville, pa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

This had good rates, good location, and clean, spacious rooms. Traffic is a pain to get to the beach but the good nights sleep more than makes up for that. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

My fiance and I stayed here for a single night in July 2011. It looks nice and upgraded from the outside and was in a relatively safe area along Rte 1. I chatted with the clerk at checkin and learned it's family owned and operated, so they can set whatever prices they like. This was 4th of July weekend, and the prices were very good for the height of summer.

To my knowledge, some rooms have been renovated and some have not. I'm guessing we got one of the older rooms, as it was adequate but slightly subpar. The room was clean, but definitely an early 1980's throwback in need of some updating. The bathroom was as clean as could be expected for an older bathroom with aging fixtures. The lot is safe and well lit and our visit was rather unremarkable. Overall, the Anchorage is an adequate place with good prices, as long as you don't mind an older motel that offers very few amenities.

PROS
- good prices, friendly service
- central location, safe & near attractions
- room was run-down but clean, no obvious problems
- offers vending/ice machines

CONS
- looks new on the outside, run-down on the inside (at least from our experience)
- no pool
- awful beds
- room has virtually no amenties - our room only had a single soap bar
- walls are paper thin, you can hear everything outside & in other rooms

Side note: Before booking, I'd recommend comparing rates against the Hampton Inn across the street. During the summer season, the difference in rates between the two hotels is enormous, making it worth staying at the Anchorage. Other weekends it's as small as a $25/night difference, which puts the advantage in Hampton's favor. Do yourself a favor and comparison shop between the two.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We were just passing through after dark and needed a place to stay. The beach hotels were pricey, but then stumbled into this. Rooms were clean and spacious. I think we were in the new part, so can't promise it is that way throughout. But if you don't get hung up on not having shampoo, a coffee maker, or hair dryer, this place can do the trick!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011 via mobile

Set on Coastal Highway about 2 miles from the beach/boardwalk. Next to Crabby Dicks - a fun seafood restaurant/bar with great happy hour specials. Next to outlet shopping. Free parking. Internet. Clean. No shampoo or frills but worth the price. Going back this weekend.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

I made a direct reservation with this motel as the first stop of an Outer Banks weekend. The room was large, very clean and being on the second floor it was very quiet. Knowing I was a solo traveler at the time of the reservation, they put me closer to the main office where I would be away from all the hussle...but what they didn't tell me was that the hussle was Bike Week! Over all, with the location not being on the beach, I had no complaints. A great restaurant "Crabby Dick's" was right next door, and I awoke early the next morning to catch the sunrise at Rehoboth Beach (about 3 miles down the road) so I wasn't bothered by all the bikers. No ammenities with this place but sometimes you just want a decent place to sleep without all the fuss - this is the place!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

This place was so clean and affordable we are definitely going back. It was our first trip to Rehoboth Beach and we were happy to be a little off the main drag - it's cheaper, there's no rowdy parties, and we were still close to restaurants and shopping. Crabby Dick's restaurant was right next door, a sushi place across the street, and it was right on the main drag to the beach. The staff was friendly, the rooms were always clean (and we managed to bring a lot of sand back from the beach in our bathing suits everyday... they always cleaned the bathroom up very well.) It is considerably cheaper than everywhere else around it, by at least $100 a night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchorage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel

Address: 18809 Coastal Highway, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anchorage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.