We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible musty smell” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20891 Coastal Hwy, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“terrible musty smell”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

literally the musty smell in our room was sickening. gave us all headaches. the smell was just simply over powering. could not wait to leave wont be back!
had to go get room deodorizer at the local walmart.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekmen, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Denise M,

On behalf of all of us at the Quality Inn and Suites, I would like to apologize for not living up to your expectations. The team hopes you will visit us again in spite of your difficulties.

My deepest regrets,

Nuh Tekmen

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    47
    35
    18
    20
See reviews for
63
35
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I can't believe this place gets so many decent reviews. The only good things about the place are the location and the free parking. Other than that, it was definitely not worth the price. It was not clean (almost unsanitary). The woman who checked me in at the front desk had absolutely no desire to be helpful. I was asking some basic questions about the area since I had never been here before) and she just said, "I have no idea." The room was big, but it smelled very musty. The bathroom was dirty. The towels were dirty. Everything had a musty smell. I'm glad I only stayed one night, or my clothes may have picked up the smell. There was nowhere to put anything in the bathroom. There is no sort of ledge for toiletries. I felt so uncomfortable in this hotel that I did not even shower because the towels did not seem clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekmen, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

From all of us at the Quality Inn and Suites, we would like to apologize for not living up to your expectations. We hope you will visit us again in spite of your difficulties.

Deepest regrets,

Nuh Tekmen

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We have never stayed in this area and weren't impressed by any of the hotel reviews to begin with. Another family member made the reservation because we needed the space of a suite and also other hotels required a 3-night stay. We didn't know what to expect, but everything turned out great!

Our room was clean, the beds and pillows were comfortable, and we didn't hear any noise outside the room the entire stay. Nice to have a fridge and microwave. We were able to walk to the beach via sidewalks on the main road and then down a quieter neighborhood street.

There isn't much around the hotel, but The Jolly Trolley picks up on the same route we took to the beach. I will review it separately, but it was a great way to get to the boardwalk and back.

We had no complaints with the breakfast. If you want a restaurant experience you will be disappointed, but if you are like us and appreciate having food available and included in your room rate, you will be fine. There was something for everyone, and our gluten-free/dairy-free daughter had more choices than most places we stay.

The only negatives were that our in-room coffee pot did not work and the girl who checked us in didn't seem to want to answer any questions we had. It was as if we were already supposed to know our way around. Wifi was iffy.

Other people have mentioned the room smelling musty or feeling stuffy. When we arrived, I wasn't crazy about the feel of our room, but noticed all of the air was blowing up behind the curtains. We put something to hold the curtains against the windows to let the air circulate. Problem solved in a few minutes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekmen, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear cltgirls,

The Quality Inn and Suites appreciates your feedback. We will use your input to create a more pleasurable stay for all of our guests! The team is waiting to provide you with another satisfactory stay!

Sincerely,

Nuh Tekmen

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel would have good reviews from me except for a few major issues. Surprisingly, cleanliness wasn't the issue here. In short, staying at a higher end chain hotel (Hampton Inn) would be worth the extra money, even if it's farther from the beach. This place would be fine if it was priced accordingly, but it's certainly not worth the cost.

PROS:
- We had a suite with 2 queen beds. The extra "sitting area, though small, gave a decent amount of room for us to put our son's playpen (he's too small to sleep in a bed).

- Decently clean. I wasn't too afraid to let my 14 month old play on the floor or bathe in the tub, it was pretty clean.

- Pretty updated- white comforters (which is always a plus for me. Those floral deals terrify me).

-Good location. Not right on the beach in Rehoboth obviously, but a very quick drive.

CONS:
SERVICE
We were lost and couldn't find the hotel on the way in (our GPS was wonky), and called twice, and got put on hold both times for 5+ minutes, never to be picked up again. Once we finally found the place, no thanks to the staff, we observed the front desk attendant do the same thing with another call while we were checking in. Even after we walked away, she never picked the phone back up.

TERRIBLE night's sleep.
- AC didn't get very cool, room was incredibly humid, and the AC was LOUD. Also, we were at the end of the hallway near the elevators (though requested to be away from loud areas, we booked late, so that may not have been possible), and we were awoken 5-6 times by doors slamming. I think it was just the way the doors were, they seemed impossible to shut quietly.

BREAKFAST. (Mind you, we are used to staying at Hampton Inns, where there are many choices, and there are multiple staff members refilling and maintaining the breakfast area.)
-We arrived about 45 minutes into breakfast being served and there were 2 other couples in the room.
- The hot breakfast "buffet", which had three sections, was empty, minus 1 sausage patty, which was then gone when my husband went back for it.
- The only muffins left had nuts on top, there was almost no jelly that wasn't sugar free (2 grapes and 1 orange marmalade), and no coffee creamer to be seen. The only fruits were apples and bananas (which were way too green to be edible).
- We never saw a staff member enter the room in the half hour we were eating. We were hoping perhaps the hot food container would be refilled, but to no avail. We didn't bother stopping at the front desk and asking, because we wanted a quick breakfast, so we just ate cold options instead, but it wasn't what we were expecting.
As far as breakfast goes, do yourself a favor and stay at a Hampton instead.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel. ;) Just kidding. In all honesty, our room, which was not next to the vend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekmen, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear LancasterCtyNative,

We apologize sincerely for any lack of professionalism you may have experienced during your stay. Check in time can be quite hectic which may unfortunately lead to long hold times over the telephone. We hope you visit us again so the team can provide the excellent stay you deserve.

My deepest regrets,

Nuh Tekmen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Location: about a mile from the beach; can walk to the beach or drive if you have a lot of beach goods to take with you. In my group, 1 person dropped us off at the beach with cooler, umbrella, etc. then he took the car back to the hotel and rode a scooter back to the beach. The Rehoboth beach downtown is about a 30 minute walk.

Room: very spacious; 1 king bed in private bedroom, 2 queens in living room and small sofa in den area. 2 microwaves, small fridge with small freezer and small sink. There's only 1 bathroom though. Rooms are clean but building is old.

Breakfast: awesome breakfast includes eggs, sausage, cereal, yogurt, waffles, toast, bagel, bananas, and more.

Staff: very friendly and accommodating. However they didn't allow early check in, probably b/c it was July 4th weekend.

Parking: permit required to park for free on the premises for 1 car only. Additional parking is available (without permit) on the grass on the side of the building or across the street at the restaurant. We had absolutely no issues with parking over the July 4th weekend.

Overall: great deal for the price. I would definitely stay here again. I recommend this place, especially if you have 6 people and you want to stay together.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekmen, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear torijung79,

We here at the Quality Inn and Suites are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us over the 4th of July weekend. Luckily, our great staff, amenities, breakfast and location are not solely reserved for Independence Day. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Nuh Tekmen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

This wasn't a bad hotel overall. We stayed two nights so we could see family who lives nearby. The location is great and convenient to everything. We wish the pool had been outside instead of indoors but if visiting in the winter I imagine it's great! The room was a good size and clean. The bathroom was immaculate. There was a rather odd musty smell in the hallway we stayed in but some one must have complained because they were using a fan to try to clear it up. The air worked good which was nice because it was super hot this week. The price was great and we booked last minute, we were glad they were able to accommodate us.
The staff is super friendly.
The free breakfast is nice. Overall not a bad stay.

The pillows could be better! If I could say one thing I would bring a pillow if you are used to something less fluffy. I'm not a fan of feather pillows though.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekmen, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear darkhuntersimi,

We are pleased to hear that we at the Quality Inn and Suites could provide you with our fantastic amenities. Please visit us again to enjoy our excellent service, nice breakfast and convenient location once again!

Sincerely,

Nuh Tekmen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I came for a girls beach weekend and a week later with husband and kids. Both stays were great. The staff were amazing and helpful. The hotel is a little far from the beach (0.5 mi) and about (.75 -1 mi) from the main center of Rehoboth and about 1.5 -2 miles from Dewey beach. We walked every where so that was fine with us. Would stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekmen, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear robinbatman,

It is our aim at the Quality Inn and Suites to provide our guests with great stays. We are proud to have fulfilled that promise twice. We can not wait to provide you and your family an excellent stay for a third time!

Sincerely,

Nuh Tekmen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#11 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
2.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#18 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf
BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf
#16 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach
Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Bea...
#14 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#9 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
#21 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 20891 Coastal Hwy, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn Rehoboth Beach
Rehoboth Beach Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.