We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would have used 0 if it was an option” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Henlopen Hotel

Save Saved
You added Henlopen Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Henlopen Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   511 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I would have used 0 if it was an option”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for the Dover race last weekend and it was aweful. They put us under a wedding do we couldnt sleep,the room was so small for the ridiculous price i had to pay...i go to the Dover race every year but this hotel.. NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    65
    49
    17
    21
See reviews for
77
54
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Billingsport, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We attended a wedding here and reserved a room for 1 night. Check-in was easy and pleasant. The usual room rate is 179. + tax,but our rate was reduced to 149.+ tax(not ocean front)for the wedding party. This property is on prime,beachfront real estate. That's the only reason to stay here. Except for the lobby,which was nicely decorated,the rooms we had access to were so outdated,it was amusing.We had a small patio overlooking the courtyard and the weather was gorgeous. I would have enjoyed the sea air,but the sliding screen door was completely unattached and leaning on the door. Does no one check rooms between guests? I decided to cool the room a bit and found the heater/ac unit loaded with a layer of dirt so thick,I didn't even want to touch the thermostat knob.The refrigerator in the room was so loud,I looked outside when it came on,because I thought someone was using a power tool!(NO kidding!) IT was unplugged immediately,rendering that "amenity" useless. The bathroom towels were scratchy, mismatched(maybe some were more used than others?) & obviously needing replacement.Lamps,bedspreads,curtains..doesn't take a trained eye to recognize O-L-D ! The doors open with keys,which I have no problem with,but ours and the room next to us,took quite a bit of "jiggling" to open.Again,one more sign that The Henlopen needs to invest some profits to get this place into the present day. I get the impression that they are skating by on location and the folks that just don't care about details. I was glad to get a discount and I would never choose this place for more than 1 night. The only reason I gave 3 stars,instead of 1 or 2,is the lovely reception that we experienced.The food was delicious,the top floor event room was beautiful and tastefully decorated. The staff who attended to our bride and family,were very good.All up until 11:00 hit. Lights up,chairs placed on tables...not a minute after that hour hit and attitudes changed.The bride's stepmother was told to "get moving,and get everyone out." I understand wanting to get the job done and go home after a work day,but that was rude and unprofessional.While I might recommend an event here,I would mention this incident and warn about the accommodations. I travel a bit and have no issue paying top dollar for cleanliness and quality. Just don't know what these property owners are thinking. Sorry Henlopen.

Room Tip: All I can say is we had room 504 and the adjoining room to that. Maybe the other rooms didn't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed one night in the off season but it was race weekend in Dover and there were many wedding going on- the place was hopping! The place was nice. Exactly what can be expected of older beachfront hotel. Room was perfect for 2 adults. Nice balcony with an ocean view. Perfect for our anniversary weekend!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights here late in the season and found it a bit disappointing for the price. The room was nice and clean, but the TV was tiny. The AC was so loud that you could not listen to the TV when it was on. And we could hear the neighbors talking. The breakfast was minimal at best. Location is good, but not right in the heart of the action.

Room Tip: You always have to re-enter through the lobby, although you can exit by the stairs. Ocean view in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Average hotel. Large rooms, ok beds, ok bathroom. Very nice views of the beach, located right on the Rehoboth boardwalk. Steps from the beach. So many things to do, just a short walk from the main drag. Breakfast was not the greatest, but there are so many other places very close that we were fine. Overall a good value for the location. Could use some updating, but pretty average for a beach hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great stay, only draw back this year was no sun and no beach time.

Our third year in a row and still found congenial staff, and OK accommodation. Rooms definitely need to be updated but they are clean and close to the beach, .. Located right on the boardwalk allows for strolling in the evening giving access to many little shops and activities. Will definitely come again, but next time will try and follow the sun!.

Room Tip: All rooms have some ocean view. So no matter where you stay you can get a glimpse of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmar, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Two-night stay during last week of August...........second floor oceanfront. Location is great. However, for the price, value was less than expected, even considering time of year. Hotel is not particularly attractive, at all...........very plain and somewhat worn. Our entry door lock was a witch to open and attendant could only suggest working with the key..........which was annoying to say the least. Then...........the sliding door did not have any screen..........which was worse than annoying considering we wanted to both see and hear the ocean waves. They finally got us a screen door the second day..........and it kept falling out of the track. Room was functional. Bathroom had large shower along with tub, which was a nice feature.

Room Tip: Ask questions about room features..............and ask if they will fix problems immediately or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Henlopen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henlopen Hotel

Address: 511 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Henlopen Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Henlopen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henlopen Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henlopen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.