We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANOTHER GREAT TRIP” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Henlopen Hotel

Save Saved
You added Henlopen Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Henlopen Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   511 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Carmel, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“ANOTHER GREAT TRIP”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Another great visit to the Henlopen hotel! 3 year sin a row now and already planning next year. Granted the rooms are not up to date, but for the most part clean and comfortable. A/C is loud but room temp was perfect slept great every night. Location is key- right on beach solo perfect walk right out of hotel, wallking distance to boardwalk, shops and great restaurants. very enjoyable:)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    65
    49
    17
    21
See reviews for
77
54
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Located right on the beach, on the far left of Rehoboth's boardwalk, the Henlopen' location is perfect. The hotel rooms are exactly the same as those found in cheap roadside motels (large, can easily sleep four, with basic furniture and a tiny bathroom. The amenities are also cheap motel style: the bedding, towels, and curtains are old, the soap bars are so tiny that you need one per shower. Plastic blind that lets the light in, so forget about sleeping in. Breakfast is just as "cheap"; a self-service very limited continental breakfast.
Unfortunately, the price is very high for what they offer, it varies throughout the season based on demand.
So why do I keep returning? Because it is ever so comfortable to park the car in the garage, walk right down to the beach and to the dozens of nearby restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel knows how to cater to the beach crowd. They understand what you are there for and provide the necessary needs, like extra towels, space to stow beach gear, fridge, balcony to enjoy sunrise or sunset and very a easy few steps to the beach. We had a very enjoyable stay. The room was nothing special, but just fine. We would definitely stay here again. Staff were terrific.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

First let me say, would I stay here again? YES. That's not to say the hotel doesn't have it's issues. Great lobby and front desk, but beyond that the hotel is old and desperately needs updating. Rooms have a key (so used to a card I forgot about room keys). Beautiful ocean views from balcony even if you aren't oceanfront. Old polyester bead spreads and stained carpets are a few improvements they could make. Towels, though clean, we're old. My kids loved walking right out onto the boardwalk. Breakfast provided was all packaged pastries and bagels. The coffee was not good. Front desk was friendly and upbeat and took care of our air conditioning problem right away. We paid over 250 per night but we had a great time, so it was worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The Henlopen Hotel occupies a unique place in Rehoboth Beach. The hotel sits at the very North end of the boardwalk, a very busy boardwalk no less, especially 5 blocks South. So access to all of the commercial action is just a short walk away, which is good.

However, the hotel is also backed by a small lake and a park, which breaks up the pattern of close streets that feed the beach down the rest of the boardwalk. Much like having a double lot in the city, this serves to break up the flow of beach-goers from off the property. The result? The hotel exits right at a beach access point that gets almost exclusive hotel use, meaning a less used section of beach and more beach fun for the family.

We stayed in a standard room. The amenities are fair. The TV is an older CRT. The room is a little cramped. But because of the hotel's U shape opening onto the ocean, the small balcony offers a nice view of the beach even as it opens onto the courtyard.

The breakfast is not up to 21st century Hampton/Marriott standards, but kids still love eating cereal in packages, so hey it works. Those nits keep me from giving 5 stars. But for a base camp to enjoy Rehoboth Beach, to be a part of the party, but then have some quiet when you want it, you should definitely consider the Henlopen.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wappinger falls new york
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

had a wonderful time at henlopen hotel room was clean and had a wonderful view of the ocean all staff were very infomative regarding places to dine and places to fish on the beach they were very friendly and gracious will be back again next year very happy with this choice of hotel

Room Tip: side ocean view rooms were wonderful for checking out the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I spent five nights at the Henlopen Hotel and had a wonderful time. The location is great, especially because we were there with our family with grandchildren. It is so convenient to be able to go back and forth to the beach and to be right on the boardwalk. Our room, which was a suite, was very comfortable, and had a view of the ocean from the balcony. Everyone, from the people at the front desk to the staff that cleaned our room, were very friendly and helpful.
This was our first visit to Rehobeth beach and if we return again, would plan to stay at the Henlopen Hotel. The rates are very reasonable for a hotel with such a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Henlopen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henlopen Hotel

Address: 511 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Henlopen Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Henlopen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henlopen Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henlopen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.