We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like having a Private Beach, but on the Boardwalk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Henlopen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Henlopen Hotel to your Saves list
Henlopen Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   511 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Like having a Private Beach, but on the Boardwalk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The Henlopen Hotel occupies a unique place in Rehoboth Beach. The hotel sits at the very North end of the boardwalk, a very busy boardwalk no less, especially 5 blocks South. So access to all of the commercial action is just a short walk away, which is good.

However, the hotel is also backed by a small lake and a park, which breaks up the pattern of close streets that feed the beach down the rest of the boardwalk. Much like having a double lot in the city, this serves to break up the flow of beach-goers from off the property. The result? The hotel exits right at a beach access point that gets almost exclusive hotel use, meaning a less used section of beach and more beach fun for the family.

We stayed in a standard room. The amenities are fair. The TV is an older CRT. The room is a little cramped. But because of the hotel's U shape opening onto the ocean, the small balcony offers a nice view of the beach even as it opens onto the courtyard.

The breakfast is not up to 21st century Hampton/Marriott standards, but kids still love eating cereal in packages, so hey it works. Those nits keep me from giving 5 stars. But for a base camp to enjoy Rehoboth Beach, to be a part of the party, but then have some quiet when you want it, you should definitely consider the Henlopen.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    70
    53
    17
    21
See reviews for
82
57
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wappinger falls new york
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

had a wonderful time at henlopen hotel room was clean and had a wonderful view of the ocean all staff were very infomative regarding places to dine and places to fish on the beach they were very friendly and gracious will be back again next year very happy with this choice of hotel

Room Tip: side ocean view rooms were wonderful for checking out the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I spent five nights at the Henlopen Hotel and had a wonderful time. The location is great, especially because we were there with our family with grandchildren. It is so convenient to be able to go back and forth to the beach and to be right on the boardwalk. Our room, which was a suite, was very comfortable, and had a view of the ocean from the balcony. Everyone, from the people at the front desk to the staff that cleaned our room, were very friendly and helpful.
This was our first visit to Rehobeth beach and if we return again, would plan to stay at the Henlopen Hotel. The rates are very reasonable for a hotel with such a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Please do not choose this hotel! It is awful! They try to fool you with the lobby, which is nice. But once you get to your room, beware! The room hasn't been refurbished since the 1970's. It was dirty (there was sand in the bathroom when we checked in and it was still there when we checked out!) and musty. The towels were a joke....worn and thin and only two provided. The staff was rude and unhelpful! The hallways are dirty, sandy and hot. I read the reviews before I booked this hotel and now I wonder how anyone could have given this hotel a good or even decent review?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We spent a few days at the Henlopen Hotel mid July. Every one of the staff from the front desk to the maid staff were friendly and always willing to help or give dining suggestions. I lost a valuable piece of jewelry and the maintenance staff and the management couldn't have been more helpful. It is rare to find such a great group of people in every department of a hotel. I would return and recommend this hotel to anyone. Some of the rooms still are slated for renovation, but the staff is the best I have ever encountered in my travels.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Very clean, basic room, the staff was very accommodating regarding early check in, late check out, etc. not luxurious, but nice view, right on the beach - just what we were looking for! Location at end of boardwalk makes this a reasonably quiet location away from the noisy end of the boardwalk, but a short walk to all the Rehoboth attractions and services.

Room Tip: Ask for the best ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had our wedding at the Salero on the top of the hotel recently and we booked a number of rooms for our guests. Our oceanfront suite (for Groom and Bride) was fantastic. The room was comfortable, spacious, had amazing views of the beach and ocean, was very clean, and the bathroom was exceptionally nice for a beachfront hotel. Likewise, my parents had a very large suite that was perfect for hosting the afterparty when the reception ended. Their room was also outstanding. I can't help but think that any negative reviews are just not people with reasonable expectations. Frankly, I didn't expect the rooms to be nearly as well kept and clean as they were given the fact that these rooms are regularly used by families with kids going on and off the beach and boardwalk.

The staff was exceptionally friendly and very accommodating. Anything we needed, they went out of their way to do for us as quickly as possible. I really couldn't have asked for better service, or a better value in a hotel with this location during peak season.

Thanks to Henlopen for a seamless and enjoyable experience. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Henlopen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henlopen Hotel

Address: 511 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Henlopen Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Henlopen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henlopen Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henlopen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.