We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henlopen Hotel

Save Saved
You added Henlopen Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Henlopen Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   511 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
PA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Clean, excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised that our room had a side view in that we booked the cheapest standard room we could find in Rehoboth. Walking right out onto the beach was fantastic. The continental breakfast was very basic and not so great in comparison to our experience at other mid range hotels that are NOT in beach areas. This is not a fancy hotel... Compare rates of others in the area though and it is an excellent deal for the money. How much time do you spend in a hotel room while at the beach?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    65
    50
    17
    21
See reviews for
78
54
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Truly a case of the good, the bad, the ugly. For every good thing there was a bad thing. GREAT = PARKING. One space per guest room with in-an-out privileges. Good = Location. On the boardwalk. About a .2 mile walk to Rehoboth Ave. Close enough to be convenient but far enough to be quiet and walk off the ice cream cones. Good = Clean. Given the condition of, and location of the hotel it's a challenge. Good job. No sand! Good = Some Updates. Good = Staff. One person was unbearable and highly inappropriate. All of the others were nice, room staff particularly. Bad = AC Unit. OMG!! Sounded like a jet taking off but it kept the room cool. Bad = Beds. Far too soft for my taste but they were clean. Believe me I checked. No bed bugs. No sand fleas. No hairs. So good job. Bad = Breakfast. Whew! Don’t bother. Bagged bagels, warm 2% milk, Nutri-Grain bars. THE UGLY = Well, everything else. It’s an old hotel that has been pounded by tourists and the salt air. Tube TVs. Vinyl roll down shades. Lots of rust. Few updates. Old carpet. Old furniture. VERY old lighting. My favorite, wait for it, REAL KEYS!! All of these things are ugly, but, functional. I DO NOT recommend for families, couples, or the business traveler, but a couple of friends that just want to get away do the beach thing and drink, ehh, then okay. Don’t cancel your trip if it’s the only hotel that meets your schedule.

Room Tip: Request upper floor with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night for a wedding. The wedding had blocked off rooms, and when we arrived we given a wedding party gift bag from the staff, so they knew why we were there. However, the wedding was at 3:00, and when we showed up at 1:00 they told us check-in was not until 3:00 and our room was not ready. This was obviously a conflict with being able to prep for the wedding. They had convenience rooms, but they were both full and there were others in the lobby waiting to use it. When my husband asked if we could just use an uncleaned room to get ready, the woman at the front desk told him, "No, we have to inspect and clean each room before it can be used. I mean, what if the previous guest had been on her period?" WHAT?!?!

The room was mediocre and dated. The pillows were uncomfortable and the AC was very loud.

The location right on the boards and just a few blocks from the main drag was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I recently spent a Friday to Monday for a "girl's weekend" at the Henlopen Hotel. It is in a great location at the North end of the boardwalk and is just a short walk to Rehoboth Ave. where there are many shops and restaurants. Also, there is a bike rental just down the boardwalk from the hotel. The beach is just a few steps away in front of the hotel and there are chair and umbrella rentals if you don't have your own.

We had adjoining rooms, one of which was a Suite with two Queen beds, kitchen and living room area. This room was very nice with granite countertops in the kitchen area and the bathroom and very nice carpet. The bathroom in this room was very large with a double sink and ledge for other items. The adjoining room (which I stayed in) was a regular room (small) with 2 Queen beds and bath. The bath itself was a toilet and bathtub in a very small room. The double sink (no granite countertops) was outside the bathroom which is a nice feature. It did have a small refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. There was also a small round table and 2 chairs. The carpet in this room was very different from the suite - mediocre at best. It appears that some rooms have been updated and others have not. I'm not sure why they wouldn't upgrade an adjoining room to match the suite. Some people have complained about the beds but I thought the bed was very comfortable. It was a firm mattress so if you like a soft mattress, you will be disappointed. I brought my own pillow so I can't comment on the pillows. The air conditioner in my room was extrememly noisy - it was on the entire time and was very noisy.

Both rooms have a side view of the ocean with sliding doors leading to a small balcony. There is a table and 2 chairs on the balcony. The large suite has 2 balconies with a wall in between. It seemed odd to have 2 and not just 1 large balcony. Please make note that there is NO pool at this hotel.

We were located on the 5th floor and in Rooms 512 (reg. hotel room) and 514 (Queen Suite). We did get to look at the 2 rooms in the front which were Oceanfront and renovated and very nice. The one room has a King Bed and the other room is very spacious with 2 Queen beds. These rooms have a bathroom that has a tub/shower on one end and a walk in shower on the other end - very nice! These room number are 515 (king bed) and 516 (2 queen beds). They both have refrigerators, microwave and coffee makers. These rooms also have flat screen TV's which the other rooms did not.

They serve a continental breakfast each morning from 7 to 11. This is packaged foods - bagels, pop tarts, muffins, Nutrigrain bars along with cereals and oatmeal, coffee, tea and juice. It's fine if you just want a little bit of breakfast. I think it is a nice touch that they do offer this service to guests. There is a rest room in there if you are on the beach and need to use the toilet.

All in all, it was a good place to stay but they need to renovate some of the other rooms to get them up to standard with the others especially if they are adjoining. Those of us in the adjoining room felt that we got a "lesser quality" room. The hotel staff was very nice at all times.

Room Tip: I would suggest an Ocean Front room on an upper floor that has been updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had an extended family trip this past Memorial Day weekend and loved the location of this hotel. It was a 5 minute walk to Rehoboth Ave., yet far enough away that the beach in front of the hotel was quiet with plenty of room to spread out. Also a plus was that it included a continental breakfast, so we didn't have to venture too far for coffee. The ocean view from the balcony was lovely. The provided plenty of towels and the housekeeping staff was pleasant. The cons to the hotel include the outdated metal keys (only one per room), which was challenging if we wanted to split up to do different activities. The continental breakfast was only prepackaged items in a small room with the windows darkened. If the weather would have been nicer, we would have take the food outside. The breakfast could so easily be improved by some yogurt or fruit as I have seen others post here, yet it hasn't been changed. If cereal and prepackaged muffins/bagels/Danish aren't your thing, plan to eat elsewhere. Finally, there is no pool, so if that is a deal-breaker for you, look elsewhere. We overall found this hotel to be a good value-great location and beach, with some mild drawbacks. We will stay here again if we get a good rate.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean-view room on an upper floor. The hotel is angled to provide a nice view to many ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

What a great location!!!!

My husband and I had a get away for a few days and loved staying at this hotel. We were pleasantly surprised of its location--it was located at the quite end of the boardwalk and only steps away from the beach. The proximity to the beach and boardwalk and its activities—you just can’t beat it.

We had a great view of the ocean from our room. We had a double queen suite—enormously large room with a sitting area (couch, end tables, TV, etc.), and wet bar area with granite counters with two chairs at the bar, with sink (although the sink’s faucet was not installed correctly—it does not really stick out over the sink, so water does go all over the counter when you turn the faucet on), refrigerator, lots of cabinet space, microwave, and coffee maker. The bathroom was quite large: double sinks, granite tops, and a very large and deep tub. We were again, pleasantly surprised that we had two balconies with chairs and tables…making the whole ocean view seen amazing.

The Henlopen Hotel allows for one parking space per reservation in their underground secure parking garage. If you ventured out driving, you knew you would have a parking space when you returned from your outing which was a plus.

There’s a free continental breakfast each morning from 0700 – 1100am. The breakfast consisted of cereal, bagels, muffins/pastries, juice, coffee, and milk; however, no fruit which would be great to have. The breakfast does get you going in the morning and remember, it’s free.

The hotel is a site for weddings, anniversaries, and special events. Their eighth floor is only used for the special events. While there, a beach wedding was held, very romantic with the waves in the background and great pictures for the wedding couple’s albums. With the proximity to the beach, this does allow for this type of venue.

The boardwalk and all its restaurants and activities are within walking distance. The shopping area of Rehoboth Beach is lined with shops and eateries. Nightlife is abundant-take your pick of where to go. Rehoboth Beach is within driving distance to Lewes, Dewey Beach, and wineries for tours and you can actually drive to Ocean City, Maryland for the day for an adventure.

The staff was quite friendly, helpful, and courteous. They allowed us an early check in which gave us more time on the beach!!!!

We would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends. We will definitely stay here again; in fact, we made future reservations while checking out of this stay.

Room Tip: Get a room at least on the 6th floor for a great view. Pillows are hard; bring your own. Elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is right on Rehoboth's boardwalk. Easy access to beach, rooms are nicely equipped. 2 negatives. The free breakfast is nice, but it's basic. There is no wi-fi in rooms, but that's not a total negative. All in all we enjoyed our overnight.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Henlopen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henlopen Hotel

Address: 511 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Henlopen Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your Henlopen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henlopen Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henlopen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.