We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the location, hotel itself is just "OK"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Henlopen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Henlopen Hotel to your Saves list
Henlopen Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   511 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Ashburn, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Love the location, hotel itself is just "OK"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had an extended family trip this past Memorial Day weekend and loved the location of this hotel. It was a 5 minute walk to Rehoboth Ave., yet far enough away that the beach in front of the hotel was quiet with plenty of room to spread out. Also a plus was that it included a continental breakfast, so we didn't have to venture too far for coffee. The ocean view from the balcony was lovely. The provided plenty of towels and the housekeeping staff was pleasant. The cons to the hotel include the outdated metal keys (only one per room), which was challenging if we wanted to split up to do different activities. The continental breakfast was only prepackaged items in a small room with the windows darkened. If the weather would have been nicer, we would have take the food outside. The breakfast could so easily be improved by some yogurt or fruit as I have seen others post here, yet it hasn't been changed. If cereal and prepackaged muffins/bagels/Danish aren't your thing, plan to eat elsewhere. Finally, there is no pool, so if that is a deal-breaker for you, look elsewhere. We overall found this hotel to be a good value-great location and beach, with some mild drawbacks. We will stay here again if we get a good rate.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean-view room on an upper floor. The hotel is angled to provide a nice view to many ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    70
    53
    17
    21
See reviews for
82
57
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Odenton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

What a great location!!!!

My husband and I had a get away for a few days and loved staying at this hotel. We were pleasantly surprised of its location--it was located at the quite end of the boardwalk and only steps away from the beach. The proximity to the beach and boardwalk and its activities—you just can’t beat it.

We had a great view of the ocean from our room. We had a double queen suite—enormously large room with a sitting area (couch, end tables, TV, etc.), and wet bar area with granite counters with two chairs at the bar, with sink (although the sink’s faucet was not installed correctly—it does not really stick out over the sink, so water does go all over the counter when you turn the faucet on), refrigerator, lots of cabinet space, microwave, and coffee maker. The bathroom was quite large: double sinks, granite tops, and a very large and deep tub. We were again, pleasantly surprised that we had two balconies with chairs and tables…making the whole ocean view seen amazing.

The Henlopen Hotel allows for one parking space per reservation in their underground secure parking garage. If you ventured out driving, you knew you would have a parking space when you returned from your outing which was a plus.

There’s a free continental breakfast each morning from 0700 – 1100am. The breakfast consisted of cereal, bagels, muffins/pastries, juice, coffee, and milk; however, no fruit which would be great to have. The breakfast does get you going in the morning and remember, it’s free.

The hotel is a site for weddings, anniversaries, and special events. Their eighth floor is only used for the special events. While there, a beach wedding was held, very romantic with the waves in the background and great pictures for the wedding couple’s albums. With the proximity to the beach, this does allow for this type of venue.

The boardwalk and all its restaurants and activities are within walking distance. The shopping area of Rehoboth Beach is lined with shops and eateries. Nightlife is abundant-take your pick of where to go. Rehoboth Beach is within driving distance to Lewes, Dewey Beach, and wineries for tours and you can actually drive to Ocean City, Maryland for the day for an adventure.

The staff was quite friendly, helpful, and courteous. They allowed us an early check in which gave us more time on the beach!!!!

We would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends. We will definitely stay here again; in fact, we made future reservations while checking out of this stay.

Room Tip: Get a room at least on the 6th floor for a great view. Pillows are hard; bring your own. Elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is right on Rehoboth's boardwalk. Easy access to beach, rooms are nicely equipped. 2 negatives. The free breakfast is nice, but it's basic. There is no wi-fi in rooms, but that's not a total negative. All in all we enjoyed our overnight.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, DE
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is an older hotel which has had limited renovations in recent years. It is right on the north end of the Rehoboth Beach boardwalk so you are right on the water. Their are very few amenities and could use some sprucing up. Rooms were clean and well kept but the TV in the room was a medium size older television. While main purpose of visit to the beach is not to stay and watch TV, it is nice to have a decent size screen to watch when unwinding at the end of the day. Have traveled considerably for many years, I was surprised to find that the bathroom was not even equipped with a hair dryer. Use to carry my own until it wore out. Then didn't replace it because every hotel, both chains and individually owed, usually supply one. Rates are reasonable for the area and rooms are comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Hotel closes in Mid November till spring. I had a special occasion to attend in the Rehoboth Beach area on Saturday Eve. Had a lovely room at a very reasonable (off season price). Great, not quite ocean front view, quite and comfortable facility. Had not stayed there in about 20 years, the furnishing were nice and decor very pleasant.

Room Tip: Great Balcony - just a bit too cool to enjoy it. Views look to the East and North East, spectacular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Bring your noise cancelling headphones if you want to get some sleep. Went for a wedding 6-8 October and the weather was cool, so we had the heat on. The fan/heat system in the room was LOUD all night long. The bed was also hard and uncomfortable. The complimentary breakfast had us searching for another alternative. No on-line registration/confirmation and could not get a confirmation e-mailed to myself. No free wi-fi. $9.99 per day.

My sister checked into another room and found hair in the bathroom and crumbled grout that had fallen into the bathtub. She questioned if they even cleaned the room between guests.

On the bright side, the bride was beautiful and the food at the reception was exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

For many consecutive years, I've treated myself to approximately five days and nights at the Henlopen Hotel for a late-summer vacation in Rehoboth Beach, Delaware. I most recently stayed at the Henlopen in September 2012, after which I reserved for September 2013. I guess that means I enjoy or at least tolerate the place. But travelers should know what to expect and not to expect at this property.

The Henlopen Hotel sits directly adjacent to the boardwalk in Rehoboth Beach; only the boardwalk and beach separate the Hotel from the Atlantic Ocean. Built in 1973, the property actually has two components. The northern half comprises the Henlopen Condominium, the southern side the Henlopen Hotel. The Hotel has eight stories served by two elevators that work reasonably well; the "close door" buttons actually respond. Unsurprisingly, the Hotel's most expensive rooms face east, fronting the ocean. The second most expensive rooms provide ocean views facing either north or south.

Based on my multiple stays here, I can attest that travelers will find a reasonably comfortable room--not modern or luxurious, but obviously updated since 1973. My showers have always worked dependably and adequately, although I've found exhaust fans conspicuously missing from the bathrooms. My room has always included a refrigerator and microwave oven and, more recently, a coffee brewer. In-room televisions, although not large, receive many channels. Unfortunately and inconveniently, the rooms provide no listings of channels. Radio reception unfortunately does not fare as well. Although the rooms include clock radios, I've never been able to tune in any radio stations on them. It would seem that today's technologies easily could enable the rooms to receive radio signals. Even though Rehoboth originated as a religious community, I on my most recent visit was disappointed to find no Bible in my room.

Travelers should not expect any amenities other than a daily continental breakfast; more about it below. For example, the Hotel provides no newspapers other than a local weekly. A third-party contractor provides wireless Internet access that in September 2012 proved expensive and unreliable.

Although the property contains two large spaces once dedicated to restaurants, the Henlopen Hotel provides no meal service other than the continental breakfast. Salero, a restaurant that formerly operated on the top of the Hotel, now merely caters special events such as wedding receptions. Yesterday's, a former disco on the Hotel's ground floor, has been vacant at least since I started staying here many years ago. Given Rehoboth's active restaurant scene, one wonders why the Henlopen Hotel has not attracted one or more restauranteurs to operate these spaces.

The Henlopen provides a self-service "complimentary" continental breakfast daily until 11:00 AM on the Hotel's ground floor. In recent years the food selections have expanded, and the breakfast room has been updated. Adding some whole fruits (for example, bananas, oranges, and apples) and yogurt would enhance the breakfast without busting the Hotel's budget.

During my most recent stay (September 2012), I experienced challenges with my room's HVAC system Guestrooms here are cooled and heated solely by blower units below the windows. The units resemble those typically found in budget motels, except they're older. During the second day of my recent stay, the unit in my room started vibrating, thereby challenging me in trying to sleep. Maintenance at my request promptly replaced the unit with another one. The replacement unit, although it did not vibrate, cut on and off during the night without sufficiently cooling my room. The next day, however, maintenance promptly upon my request adjusted the unit to operate continuously.

I commend the Henlopen Hotel for promptly responding to my requests to service the HVAC units. However, the Hotel could improve guests' experiences and satisfaction by updating the property's HVAC systems.

Were the Henlopen Hotel renovated and updated and its restaurants resuscitated, it easily could become a preferred destination on Rehoboth's boardwalk. But then, the property probably would charge much higher rates beyond many vacationers' budgets. Meanwhile, travelers can expect reasonably comfortable, no-frills oceanfront lodging at manageable although not cheap rates.

Room Tip: Property permits travelers to reserve particular rooms. Once you find a room you like, reserve the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Henlopen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henlopen Hotel

Address: 511 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Henlopen Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Henlopen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henlopen Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henlopen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.