We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Henlopen Hotel

Save Saved
You added Henlopen Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Henlopen Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   511 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Riverside, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Our family of four stayed recently at the Henlopen Hotel. It is an older building that would benefit from a renovation, but it is clean, functional and in a great location at the beach and at the north end of the boardwalk. We loved the town of Rehobeth. Nice community of shops and plentiful, good restaurants- no long lines to be seated. The beach is very nice but if you came for ocean waves- forget about it. Rehobeth, Bettany and Fenwick Island have all in the past decade participated in a beach sand replenishment program. The result is nice wide beaches of soft sand but no offshore sand bar and therefor no waves, except for during storms. If you want to frolic in the surf, you will have to make the 45 minute drive south to Ocean City.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    67
    50
    17
    21
See reviews for
79
54
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, MD
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

If you're looking for a clean hotel with no frills but close to the ocean, this is the place. Located at the end of the boardwalk, so it's on the quiet side...which was fine with us. Most rooms have a bit of an ocean view...and you can always spring for a more expensive ocean front Be sure to bring your own beach towels and moisturizer. Nice little frig and microwave in the room. No pool or restaurant but we didn't care. If you don't want to watch tv in the evening, there's usually a wedding ceremony going on by the water...and we watched from our balcony. Complimentary continental breakfast is available, but they serve carbs only. This was the 2nd visit to the Henlopen, and we'd go for #3. Only wish the a/c units were quieter so that we could hear the ocean at night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent.........end of boardwalk, oceanfront. We requested a room upgrade, as a previous reviewer suggested. They upgraded us right away. We were so happy with our rooms.....they were a great surprise, and made our trip even better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at the Henlopen Hotel in May. You cannot beat the location as it's at the Northern end of the boardwalk so there are less people. The rooms were clean but a little outdated. We stayed on a Sunday and Monday night and there weren't many people there, so they upgraded us to an Ocean Front for not extra charge, which was really nice. I was somewhat confused though when we got to the room (very large with awesome wet bar and Jacuzzi tub) and it was more of an "ocean side" room. Still, we spent a lot of time on the porch enjoying the view so I'm not complaining! When we arrived, they apparently didn't have the hot water heater on for our floor (???) so we had to go down to the desk, have them turn it on, and then wait a good 5 to 10 minutes. Also, I went down and inquired about internet, and they gave me the password but the internet was basically useless and kept going down. They didn't charge me for it just because the girl decided not to, but I'm told they normally charge for it, which would've annoyed me since it didn't work very well. Finally, the "continental breakfast" was pitiful. They had a "coffee machine" that was just terrible, and everything else came in plastic packs of some sort, like individual oatmeals, granola bars, muffins, and poptarts. We ended up just going out to breakfast the second day. If they can't afford to overhaul the "menu" it might be best just not to offer it.
That said, we enjoyed our stay, it was quiet, and the staff was generally pleasant, and the price was right. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Most of the reviews here are pretty accurate as far as what to expect from the Henlopen. This is not a luxurious, stylish hotel by any means, but it's a terrific place to spend a few days at the beach. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. The balconies allow great breezes from the ocean, and it's great to have a fridge, a microwave and a coffeepot. Double bowl sinks were another plus! If you're spending time on the beach, it takes only a few minutes to return to your room and go back to the sand again. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Comfortable room, large updated bathroom with standard tub/shower and large step in shower. Large double bowl sink. Lots of room for a family returning from the ocean. Situated on and at the beginning of the boardwalk. There is a large stocked with soap and towels shower and changing area accessable through the lobby. We came with two cars and were advised there was only one car allowed per room parking in the garage. However the staff issued a parking pass for the second car anyway, that was nice. Ours was a midweek stay, leaving on Friday perhaps that is why we could park two cars. The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was continental with enough choices to be worthwhile.

Room Tip: Check about parking a second car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

What this place is not is a 5 star luxury hotel, but then again Rehoboth is not the French Riviera either. This is a decent, slightly dated hotel that is short on frills. So there are no fresh flowers in the lobby, no manicured land or hardscapes and the staff do not answer guest requests with a "certainly." Some people may be put off by the "high" seasonal prices and expect more, but frankly Rehoboth does not offer any luxury hotels on the ocean, except that frilly/silly looking victorian themed building just a few blocks south. That place is over priced and just one look at the overweight, sweaty bell hop I saw servicing guest there made me think if I had stayed there I would carry my own bags up. I had a king ocean front. The bed was comfortable the room was clean enough, the linens nice, there were ample towels and they were laundered well with a nice fresh scent. The continental breakfast is mediocre packaged foods. A healthy eater would look elsewhere and not bother, but I got by with the "Total" raisin bran and half a bagel. The a/c unit was old and loud by today's standards, so I opted for opening the doors. It did cool effectively as the room was chilled when I arrived. It is great location, as north Rehoboth is the better neighborhood and the North Shore development is nearby. Cape Henlopen State Park is also nearby and there are good bike and jogging lanes to and from that park area, along with access to some less crowded beaches. No fees to go into park on foot or bike, otherwise $8 for out of state if in car. Beach in front of hotel is great, beats the more crowded sections closer in at Rehoboth Avenue. Lower expectations, realize they have small window to make money and enjoy it just for what it is, a decent beach front hotel without a pool in an excellent location.

Room Tip: I chose 416, ocean front. The rooms appear to move out with no skipping numbers, so getting off the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Henlopen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henlopen Hotel

Address: 511 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Henlopen Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Henlopen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henlopen Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henlopen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.