We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Henlopen Hotel

Save Saved
You added Henlopen Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Henlopen Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   511 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Consistently nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We completed our third annual stay at the Henlopen in August. See my 2 previous reviews. While experiencing 3 out of their many rooms is far from comprehensive, I can say that each year we had a nice, and most importantly, very clean room. All 3 of the rooms over 3 years were the same. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but at this point I can feel confident in saying this is a perfectly nice hotel. I fail to understand the really poor reviews. The only slight disappointment on this recent trip was that he public shower in the men's room was not working during our stay, which we really appreciate on the day of departure after we check out. They allowed men and woman to use the one in the women's room by locking the door while occupied (which ran out of towels probably due to the higher use). Overall, not a big deal. It was never poor, but I think the customer service we expereinced from the staff this year was the best ever.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    67
    50
    17
    21
See reviews for
79
54
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Henlopen in August 2011 and were very pleased. It was the most affordable hotel in the area, and we were pleased with every aspect of our stay. Parking is very conveniently located right outside the front door, and the hotel is located at the quiet end of the boardwalk. Everything was within easy walking distance. The staff were very accomodating when we had a problem with our room, and went out of their way to help us. I believe that all rooms have a balcony, which includes a beach view (even though the cheaper ones are obstructed). We will definitely stay here again! Rehoboth is the perfect place for families, and this hotel is a perfect option.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for a beach wedding in September and had a nice time. The room was clean, and housekeeping did a nice job keeping our room stocked with towels. The reception was in salero and the food was very good. The bar was well stocked with liquors I didn't expect but was pleasantly surprised with. Staff was helpful throughout the hotel when we needed them. Bathroom was stocked with shampoo, soap and a jumbo bottle of hand sanitizer?! There was a hairdryer and iron in the room too and we were only steps from the beach. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We originally booked room with side view of ocean-all that was available so they said. Bathroom was tiny. Second day there we asked for upgrade to ocean front. The front desk was very nice and gave us the upgrade. Room much bigger and had flat screen tv balconey over boardwalk. Huge bathroom. Beautiful view of ocean. Saw dolphins everyday. Free breakfast consisted of poptarts, bagels & danish. OJ & apple juice in cans and coffee or tea. Downfall was that they use regular keys. No chains were attatched so had to worry about losing key. Parking garage was different-had to park between cement poles-very narrow. Overall had great time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewistown pa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

we had great time hotel very clean staff very pleasant we really liked the fact they let us use the inside parking even after we checked out they let us stay parked there till ready to leave that evening so we we will be back

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I love the location at the north end of the boardwalk. You can walk right out to the beach and the hotel is walking distance to the town center. The hotel itself is clean but basic. The airconditioner unit is quite loud and the front desk staff can be rude. The cleaning staff are quite friendly. I liked the ability to use the garage for the day we checked out. The room has a small fridge and a microwave. Basically you can't beat the convenience so we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This was by far the most disgusting hotel I have ever stayed at in my life!!!!! I can not for the life of meimagine how anyone could be remotely happy sleeping here. We checked into our room and there was BLOOD on the sheets and blankets!!!!!!!! The mini firdge looked like it had been thrown off the balcony and ran over by a truck. The walls had stains ALL OVER. There are just too many vial things to list. When we called the front desk we were told "If you don;t like it you can leave". Worst staff and hotel experience. Oh yea and to boot the rooms are $250 a night. This hotel ruined our entire vacation

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Henlopen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henlopen Hotel

Address: 511 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Henlopen Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Henlopen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henlopen Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henlopen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.