We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rams Head Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rams Head Inn
Save
You added Rams Head Inn to your Saves list
35006 Warrington Road, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Youngstown, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I arrived at Rams Head anticipating a great experience but that soon faded. I first noticed how dated everything looked. It reminded me of an old castle, cold and with
dated decor. I immeditely got the feeling, that the owners could care less if was there or not. They were not a happy pair. Being into landscaping, I noticed how much work needed to be done. Weeds and overgrowing vines were taking over especially near the hot tub and play area. The only saving grace was the morning coffee and breakfast. My impression is that this inn has seen its day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramsheadinn, Owner at Rams Head Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you for your review even though it must be several months since your stay. Why did you wait so long to post a disappointed review? There are lots of vines covering the hot tub and back fence, it's called ivy. The other vines into the play area is honey suckle, but being into landscaping you probably knew that. The entire front of the property has been newly landscaped with a new entrance. Thank you for noticing and mentioning that, oh wait, you didn't.
The feeling of an old, cold castle was perhaps the past, but has been revamped with our ownership. As far as us not caring if you were supposedly here or not...absolutely silly. I won't even respond to your accusation of "they were not a happy pair". Ok, I will ... really?????
I and glad you enjoyed the breakfast and variety of teas and coffee available 24 hours.
However, I sincerely do appreciate your thoughts and comments. I would welcome your landscaping suggestions.

Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    3
    1
    12
    16
See reviews for
Families
0
39
26
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I had an interesting trip to Rehoboth staying at Rams Head. The owners were a little overbearing and I had to get my point across that I wanted to be left alone to enjoy the inn and not be entertained. After that, they kind of ignored me, which was fine. I did note that the owners do their own room cleaning and yard work both of which were subpar to say the least. I stayed for 4 days and not once did I see a vacuum cleaner, mop or broom in action even between guests leaving and another taking the same room. I guess that explains sand on the floor in my room when I arrived.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmawr, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I went down to Rehoboth beach Del for the weekend on a whim and stayed at the rams head it was the best stay i ever had there, I've stayed at a couple of hotels in there area for either pleasure or business. and they all were nice. Then Rams head was exceptional, I stayed in the Windsor room which was really clean and comfortable. the feel of the room reminded me of my Pocono house, tranquil and made me feel at home not at some hotel. Frank and Paul were so accommodating and attended to any needs I may have had. I will definitely return and hopefully during peak season it looks like it would be a great time.

Room Tip: all the rooms they have look great they gave me a tour. some rooms are right by the pool the hot tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramsheadinn, Owner at Rams Head Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review and share your experience here at the Rams Head Inn. Paul and I try to listen and meet the concerns of our guests. We appreciate you sharing your positive experience. We both look forward to your return visit hopefully in the near future. Feel free to let me know if anything needed to make your stay even more enjoyable in the future.

Thank You,
Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I won a silent auction last year for a two night stay at the Ram's Head. I have a property across the bay, but it seemed like it would be fun to go someplace different and just relax. And that's exactly what we did. The owners Paul and Frank were terrific - Frank was working a lot, but Paul hovered and made sure everything was perfect. They were charming company the morning we left - they allowed us to have a late checkout as the Inn wasn't too busy being off season, which was a delight not having to run around. The breakfast bar was nice, and I got my oatmeal even at 11, as I had the opportunity to sleep in. Coffee is 24 hours. Great touch. Our room was HUGE with a cathedral ceiling. The bedding was top-notch, and the room was spotless. Some of the furniture is a bit dated (a king bed in the giant room would be great), but in excellent shape. Flat screen TV with DVD player, too. We spent most of our time lounging in the large beautifully kept pool area, and enjoyed some hot tub (clean, clear!) time in the vine-covered lanai under which the hot tub lived. The rate is about the same as the hotel I stayed at in Rehoboth proper a few years, but SO much nicer. I loved the gym - very well equipped, and ALL of the equipment worked. Although it was not a pro-gym, there was plenty of weight and equipment that I got a decent work-out, and didn't have to leave the property. I have stayed at some amazing hotels, and the gym rivaled the best of them. I will look forward to going back for a quiet escape again in the future. A B and B is an on-going adventure - I can't wait to see what Paul and Frank do in the next year.

Room Tip: The Essex, Wessex and Sussex rooms are just off the pool and are large. i'll choose those first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramsheadinn, Owner at Rams Head Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I appreciate your feedback. The furniture is always a work in progress. The idea of king size beds will be taken into consideration. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the amenities the Inn offers. We look forward to your return visit in the future.

Thank you
Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was my first vacation at rams head. I had read the reviews and decided to give it a try in spite of the number of negative reviews on trip advisor.
First of all, the location is far from the beach and the place is not worthy of the rates they are charging for the rooms. No, I didn't enjoy the breakfast as the only difference is a waffle. I would rather they lower the price of the rooms and lose the waffles and flavored coffee, This seems to be what the owners are most proud and think guests want.
My observation was that the owners falsely think it is a great place and don't want to here any comments or suggestions. There was a large amount of dried leaves in the hot tub enclosure, a broken deck chair and a rotting uneven deck by the pool. I was going to point this out to the owners but decided not to complain when I heard one of the owner's (Paul) response to a guest's comment "this is my house and I don't care what you think".

Now, after returning and rereading the reviews, I should have read between the lines at the owners comments after a negative review. If you believe their comments, you are in for a rude awakening on your visit

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramsheadinn, Owner at Rams Head Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
I am very suspicious of the nature of this review. I don't even know where to begin. All I can state is that the fact that you took the advise of a returning guest must speak for itself. My guests continue to return. Dried leaves in the hot tub.. I don't think so. Rotting deck- absolutely false. I find it disturbing that you gave my supposed competitor a glowing review the exact same time you are bashing my establishment.
I welcome true and sincere constructive comments anytime. I again, offer anyone reading these negative comments to call, email, or visit to ask questions or see for yourself how wonderful the Inn truly is.
Sincerely,
Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

After reading the last 3 or so reviews, I want to go the that Rams Head and not the one in Rehoboth that I was at in early August. The way these three reviews describe the place and defend the owners is strange and suspicious. I am sorry but these last reviews are not the true Rams Head. I found the place run down and lacking basic upkeep both inside and outside. The internet in one of the most expensive outside rooms only worked if I was in the doorway and registered at 1.2 mbps at best, hardly enough for basic surfing. The owners lack people skills and in fact were discourteous. My partner and I have already decided that we will never go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramsheadinn, Owner at Rams Head Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Rams Head Inn. I always appreciate hearing feedback from my guests. I do question the rhyme or reason for such an inaccurate depiction of the Inn. I suppose everyone sees things through their own eyes. I invite anyone who reads your review to check out the Inn for themselves and determine what is factual. The website complete with photos speaks for itself. In any case, thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts.

Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I had the good fortune to land a room from Aug. 23 to Aug. 26th at The Ramshead Inn. The new owners Paul & Frank were delightful, helpful and charming. They have upgraded an older, tired Inn since they took over. My room The Wessex was large, nicely appointed and very clean. The pool, hot tub, patio, gardens & gym were lovely. Continental breakfast was very appetizing ... cereal, hot waffles, toast, bagels, english muffins, yogurt, fresh fruit, selection of coffees & teas plus one of the Inn Keepers entertaing personalities making you laugh all through breakfast almost a fun side show worth the price of admission in itself ! I highly recommend a stay at this charming Gay B & B !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rams Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rams Head Inn

Address: 35006 Warrington Road, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique in the Rehoboth Beach area of Delaware, the Rams Head is an all-male, clothing optional resort, bordered by fields and forests, yet is only minutes from the beach, shopping, top-notch dining and nightlife.The current owners Frank and Paul having adopted the Rams Head Inn have made many renovations to the property. Since their ownership began in the Spring of 2010 they have updated all of the rooms in the main house including new bedding, new décor, installed a reliable WiFi network for guests, and painted the exterior with clean bright color supporting of the new tropical theme. In 2011 they continued the upgrades by replacing the carpeting in the main house to provide a fresher look to all of the rooms as well as paved the parking lot, started the landscaped the front yard by removing the over grown gardens and the sun deck got a face lift with new paint, new furniture and garden statues. In 2012 further renovations were revealed to guests including a newly landscaped property and the creation of an open air court yard furthering the new tropical theme as well new electronics including flat screen televisions. Coming in 2013 final upgrades and renovation will be complete in the outside rooms as well as additional gym equipment.We provide clean spacious rooms with queen-size beds, private baths, cable television, central air conditioning, refrigerators, and DVD players, an expansive court-yard with a swimming pool, stress-melting Jacuzzi, and continental breakfast. Reliable WiFi is also available throughout the premises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rams Head Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rams Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.