We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection at the Beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanus Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Oceanus Motel to your Saves list
Oceanus Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Perfection at the Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

I've been visiting Rehoboth and staying at the Oceanus since 1993 and have nothing but good things to say about this motel. The location is perfect, staff are always friendly, and the rooms although basic beach rooms are always clean and ready for you when you arrive. The outdoor pool is the perfect place to relax after a day at the beach, or if you're not in the mood for the beach crowds. I would recommend this motel to anyone visiting Rehoboth, and I look forward to returning again and again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    78
    11
    2
    11
See reviews for
118
62
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed here for a wedding weekend. We were in a king room with a pull out sleeper sofa. I found the rooms to be clean - not immaculate but very clean. We had an issue with a musty order in our room due to the humidity so they put a machine in the room to clean up the air.

The rooms were smaller than we anticipated. We had to put the coffee table under the bathroom sink in order to open up the sleeper sofa. Final negative was the rooms were very dark and could have used more or brighter lights.

Positives: LOCATION is amazing. You could walk to the beach. The hotel is right off the main strip. The hotel is QUIET. We didn't hear anything and we were RIGHT next to the pool. Staff was VERY friendly and extremely helpful with any questions or concerns.

We will definitely stay here again if we return to Rehoboth Beach!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Was recommended by a friend and we're glad we listened to her...great location, only 2 blocks from the beach/boardwalk and 1 block off Rehoboth Avenue. Park and forget it! Great restaurants and shops nearby, lots of people watching. Rooms were clean and spacious and comfortable. Had a refrigerator as well. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

I thoroughly read reviews here before selecting this hotel. Based on what I'd read, the hotel met my expectations. Our room was east facing on the first floor directly across from the pool. And if we looked hard on a clear day, we could actually see the ocean from our room. I called to make the reservation and was hesitant about getting a room right next to the pool. I was concerned about the possible noise. But during our one night stay there was no noise to speak of at all. I ended up appreciating the proximity to the pool for the convenience. I don't usually use hotel pools. But this one was very inviting - clean and well kept.

The staff was very pleasant and welcoming as others have said. We actually stayed on the property, in the pool and parked in the lot, about an hour or more after we checked out. And we weren't harassed about leaving.

The room was clean as expected. Nothing extraordinary about it at all. The beds were comfortable. It looked exactly liked the pictures on their website www.oceanusmotel.com. The rooms had a contemporary look which was nice.

The greatest thing about it is the location. Every restaurant you could want is within walking distance. The boardwalk is 2 (long) blocks away. But it's the part of the boardwalk where all the action is.

What I liked least? I don't like motels. I prefer hotels with rooms that open to the interior of a building. But for a motel, this place was just fine.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

spent a night here on our way home without any reservations.was able to check the room out before booking and even got a great deal 149 instead of 229 for a night in august ,"didn't even have to ask".Close enough to the beach two city streets , and shops and restaurants steps away.It also has a very nice pool, lcd tv's,and free wifi .I would definitely recommend this motel .

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We only stayed one night but the front desk staff was wonderful and so friendly. Normally I'm not a "motel" kind of girl but we wanted something close to the action for 1 night and this fit the bill and budget. Great price! And the pool area is very simple and clean and nice. Our only drawback was construction going on at the motel next to our room so that woke us up nice and early. That was a huge drawback but it's probably done by now. I would reccommend staying here if you are visiting Rehoboth Beach.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

We have been coming to the Oceanus for nearly 20 years. It's always been clean and comfortable and well located only two blocks from the Boardwalk. Over the years they have upgraded various things. Every room has a little refrigerator and microwave, iron, hairdryer etc. This year they added new flat screen TV s and new bed linens. Not sure if the beds are new but they are comfortable. They have all kinds of packages for off season discounts. We always enjoy coming in the fall when the beach crowds have abated.
We did miss the one thing we always got with the room, which was the free continental breakfast. It was simple but tasty and convenient. They still offer free coffee and tea.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#3 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 785 reviews
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#18 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#9 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#11 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#15 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Henlopen Hotel
Henlopen Hotel
#17 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanus Motel

Address: 6 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Oceanus Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oceanus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanus Motel Rehoboth Beach
Oceanus Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanus Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.