We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served it's purpose and then some.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanus Motel

Save Saved
You added Oceanus Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oceanus Motel
6 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Washington DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Served it's purpose and then some.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

I thoroughly read reviews here before selecting this hotel. Based on what I'd read, the hotel met my expectations. Our room was east facing on the first floor directly across from the pool. And if we looked hard on a clear day, we could actually see the ocean from our room. I called to make the reservation and was hesitant about getting a room right next to the pool. I was concerned about the possible noise. But during our one night stay there was no noise to speak of at all. I ended up appreciating the proximity to the pool for the convenience. I don't usually use hotel pools. But this one was very inviting - clean and well kept.

The staff was very pleasant and welcoming as others have said. We actually stayed on the property, in the pool and parked in the lot, about an hour or more after we checked out. And we weren't harassed about leaving.

The room was clean as expected. Nothing extraordinary about it at all. The beds were comfortable. It looked exactly liked the pictures on their website www.oceanusmotel.com. The rooms had a contemporary look which was nice.

The greatest thing about it is the location. Every restaurant you could want is within walking distance. The boardwalk is 2 (long) blocks away. But it's the part of the boardwalk where all the action is.

What I liked least? I don't like motels. I prefer hotels with rooms that open to the interior of a building. But for a motel, this place was just fine.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    57
    8
    1
    8
See reviews for
74
49
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

spent a night here on our way home without any reservations.was able to check the room out before booking and even got a great deal 149 instead of 229 for a night in august ,"didn't even have to ask".Close enough to the beach two city streets , and shops and restaurants steps away.It also has a very nice pool, lcd tv's,and free wifi .I would definitely recommend this motel .

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We only stayed one night but the front desk staff was wonderful and so friendly. Normally I'm not a "motel" kind of girl but we wanted something close to the action for 1 night and this fit the bill and budget. Great price! And the pool area is very simple and clean and nice. Our only drawback was construction going on at the motel next to our room so that woke us up nice and early. That was a huge drawback but it's probably done by now. I would reccommend staying here if you are visiting Rehoboth Beach.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

We have been coming to the Oceanus for nearly 20 years. It's always been clean and comfortable and well located only two blocks from the Boardwalk. Over the years they have upgraded various things. Every room has a little refrigerator and microwave, iron, hairdryer etc. This year they added new flat screen TV s and new bed linens. Not sure if the beds are new but they are comfortable. They have all kinds of packages for off season discounts. We always enjoy coming in the fall when the beach crowds have abated.
We did miss the one thing we always got with the room, which was the free continental breakfast. It was simple but tasty and convenient. They still offer free coffee and tea.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanhope (Byram Township), NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

This is our third summer vacation trip back to the Oceanus. We just love it. The rooms are clean and I am really picky and they pass my tests. The staff is great, really, really great and very accomodating and friendly. The location is awesome. We park our car when we get there and leave it. The motel is within walking distance of everything in town and the beach. Our kids are 4 and 7 and we walked to Funland and the beach every day and finished the day in the pool at the motel and then walked to a local restaurant for dinner. With a microwave and fridge in the room we made breakfast and lunch in the room which saves money rather than eating out at every meal. The price of the room at the Oceanus is reasonable, I think, considering they really are in a great central location in Rehoboth. I priced hotels that were closer or right on the beach and the prices were crazy. I also checked the prices of some of the hotels out on route 1 and they weren't that much less expensive and were out of the center of town. We just love the Oceanus and hope to make a long family vacation tradition of going there each summer. :)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

The Oceanus has the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in at a motel. They were amazingly comfortable with down comforts and lots of pillows! Good location near everything; immaculately clean. Nice 32" flat screen and Wifi access too. The staff couldn't have been nicer as well. Overall, a great place!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

The Oceanus was definitely a great choice for us. Two blocks to the beach, near all the stores, restaurants, and the boardwalk. Very, very clean and quiet. Felt "at home".

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oceanus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanus Motel

Address: 6 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oceanus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanus Motel Rehoboth Beach
Oceanus Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanus Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.