We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Friendly Clean Accomidations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanus Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Oceanus Motel to your Saves list
Oceanus Motel
6 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Monroe, NJ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant Friendly Clean Accomidations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed the week of the Jazz festival 10/18-20/2013. The motel was close to the beach, the rooms were clean and well maintained and the staff was helpful and pleasant. I would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: There was no elevator so think about the stairs before you take a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate you choosing The Oceanus for your stay during this year's Jazz Festival. It's great to see new faces and we hope to be seeing you again next season. Best wishes from everyone at The Oceanus!

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    64
    10
    1
    11
See reviews for
86
53
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed at the motel for the Seawitch Festival. The staff was friendly. Rooms were very clean and up to date. Refrigerator and microwave in room. Free coffee and tea provided in the office. Very convenient to the Main Street, shopping, restaurants, beach and boardwalk. We parked the car and walked everywhere. This place was also the most inexpensive in the area during the festival and offered a 6 o'clock check out on Sunday with no added cost. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property, we greatly appreciate your feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found everything to be perfect. The Oceanus is an ideal place to stay during the Seawitch Festival as we are just half a block off Rehoboth Avenue. We enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to returning to stay with us again next season.

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This great motel is only two blocks from the boardwalk and great value for money. We booked direct with the motel, which was cheaper than booking via any discount sites.

There is no elevator, so if you don't like steps, have a lower floor. We liked the third floor as it was quieter. Room 300 is on the end and had no passing traffic. It looks over the pool, and is nice to sit outside with a glass of wine!

The coffee in the morning is free and welcome. The a/c is a little loud, but effective, and nice to have a fridge freezer and microwave in the room. Room was very clean, and everything worked well.

If we head back to Rehoboth Beach we will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for choosing The Oceanus. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our property to be perfect for your vacation. Booking through our website is always the best idea as that is where you will find the lowest rate across the web. We look forward to having you return to stay with us again. Best wishes.

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I decided to make a one-night visit to Rehoboth, my first in 40 years, and feared I would stay in a chain motel on ugly Route One. Imagine my delight to find a reasonably priced room at the Oceanus -- clean, spacious, a couple easy walking blocks from the boardwalk! Reasonably priced? I paid 1/3 the high-season price. Very helpful, pleasant manager. Nice pool. Easy parking. I could not have done better.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our property and for choosing The Oceanus. There is no better feeling than staying in the heart of Rehoboth Beach, where you don't even have to move your car to get to all of the towns attractions. Our off season rates provide great savings to our guests and are very popular. We thoroughly enjoyed having your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes from all of your new friends at The Oceanus.

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We chose this motel based on positive reviews. The motel is clean and quiet and the staff very helpful and friendly. We reserved two rooms and spent two nights and enjoyed the stay very much. The location, while not right on the beach, is right near all the usual tourist facilities, which made it convenient for a short trip like ours.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Oceanus Motel for your Rehoboth Beach getaway. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your found our rooms to be clean & affordable. Our staff prides themselves on having the cleanest property in Rehoboth Beach. I am glad that you found our location to be ideal and centrally located. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Went here based on TA reviews and their great 5 night special (Sunday night through Thursday night). Glad we did as everything was perfect. Nice clean room on the third floor was very quiet, even though we were next to the road. This location gave us our own fairly private sitting area at the end of the outside hallway. Nice location, clean pool, walked to everything we needed. Everyone was very friendly, morning coffee in the lobby was a bonus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property & for choosing The Oceanus for your Rehoboth Beach vacation. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location to be perfect. Our 5-night packages offer a great savings to our guests and are very popular throughout the season. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future. Best wishes from your new friends at The Oceanus.

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansonia, CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Finally made it to Polkamotion and asked friends where to stay and the recommended Oceanus. Well, I am glad they did. We had a second floor room which no surprise was very clean. The morning staff is great to talk to and the free coffee was good too. It is so convienent to the beaches, the main street and the convention center. I hope to still there next year once again for Polkamotion. The only thing for my wife is that the smell of the disinfectant they used brothered my wife's breathing a little. Maybe before we come next year they can use something different for the room we get.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Oceanus Motel for your visit during the Polkamotion Festival. We throughly enjoyed having you and your wide stay with us. We do our best to accommodate all of our guests needs and do understand that people have some allergies to certain cleaning products. Please do remind us of your wife's smell sensitivity when you return to stay with us & we will do our best to make sure the room is cleaned without certain products. We do look forward to seeing you again soon! Best wishes.

J.B. Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanus Motel

Address: 6 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Oceanus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanus Motel Rehoboth Beach
Oceanus Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanus Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.