We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanus Motel

Save Saved
You added Oceanus Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oceanus Motel
6 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This great motel is only two blocks from the boardwalk and great value for money. We booked direct with the motel, which was cheaper than booking via any discount sites.

There is no elevator, so if you don't like steps, have a lower floor. We liked the third floor as it was quieter. Room 300 is on the end and had no passing traffic. It looks over the pool, and is nice to sit outside with a glass of wine!

The coffee in the morning is free and welcome. The a/c is a little loud, but effective, and nice to have a fridge freezer and microwave in the room. Room was very clean, and everything worked well.

If we head back to Rehoboth Beach we will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for choosing The Oceanus. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our property to be perfect for your vacation. Booking through our website is always the best idea as that is where you will find the lowest rate across the web. We look forward to having you return to stay with us again. Best wishes.

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    61
    9
    1
    8
See reviews for
79
51
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I decided to make a one-night visit to Rehoboth, my first in 40 years, and feared I would stay in a chain motel on ugly Route One. Imagine my delight to find a reasonably priced room at the Oceanus -- clean, spacious, a couple easy walking blocks from the boardwalk! Reasonably priced? I paid 1/3 the high-season price. Very helpful, pleasant manager. Nice pool. Easy parking. I could not have done better.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our property and for choosing The Oceanus. There is no better feeling than staying in the heart of Rehoboth Beach, where you don't even have to move your car to get to all of the towns attractions. Our off season rates provide great savings to our guests and are very popular. We thoroughly enjoyed having your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes from all of your new friends at The Oceanus.

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We chose this motel based on positive reviews. The motel is clean and quiet and the staff very helpful and friendly. We reserved two rooms and spent two nights and enjoyed the stay very much. The location, while not right on the beach, is right near all the usual tourist facilities, which made it convenient for a short trip like ours.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Oceanus Motel for your Rehoboth Beach getaway. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your found our rooms to be clean & affordable. Our staff prides themselves on having the cleanest property in Rehoboth Beach. I am glad that you found our location to be ideal and centrally located. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Went here based on TA reviews and their great 5 night special (Sunday night through Thursday night). Glad we did as everything was perfect. Nice clean room on the third floor was very quiet, even though we were next to the road. This location gave us our own fairly private sitting area at the end of the outside hallway. Nice location, clean pool, walked to everything we needed. Everyone was very friendly, morning coffee in the lobby was a bonus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property & for choosing The Oceanus for your Rehoboth Beach vacation. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location to be perfect. Our 5-night packages offer a great savings to our guests and are very popular throughout the season. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future. Best wishes from your new friends at The Oceanus.

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansonia, CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Finally made it to Polkamotion and asked friends where to stay and the recommended Oceanus. Well, I am glad they did. We had a second floor room which no surprise was very clean. The morning staff is great to talk to and the free coffee was good too. It is so convienent to the beaches, the main street and the convention center. I hope to still there next year once again for Polkamotion. The only thing for my wife is that the smell of the disinfectant they used brothered my wife's breathing a little. Maybe before we come next year they can use something different for the room we get.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Oceanus Motel for your visit during the Polkamotion Festival. We throughly enjoyed having you and your wide stay with us. We do our best to accommodate all of our guests needs and do understand that people have some allergies to certain cleaning products. Please do remind us of your wife's smell sensitivity when you return to stay with us & we will do our best to make sure the room is cleaned without certain products. We do look forward to seeing you again soon! Best wishes.

J.B. Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very clean, great service, many extras in room (larger than usual refrigerator, microwave), free parking and just a short walk to beach and town's main street. Also, were extremely nice and allowed us to change our reservation at last minute due to death in the family. All this at a wonderful rate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we greatly appreciate your feedback. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Oceanus is always accommodating to all of our guests and we do our best to make sure their stay with us is ideal. We look forward to you returning to stay with us again. Best wishes from all of your friends at The Oceanus Motel.

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

When you read online reviews of the Oceanus, what do they all say? It's clean. And … clean. And did we mention that it's, uh, clean?

Why does everyone point to the cleanliness? Because that's pretty much all there is.

Mediocrity, thy name be Oceanus. Clean mediocrity. A certain safe, bland, middle-of-the-road, nothing-to-recommend-it-but-nothing-to-criticize-it-for motelishness.

We stayed for two nights in a room with two beds. The beds were comfortable enough. The linens were clean enough. We can't remember what color the walls were. We can't remember what kind of carpeting there was. All we know was that everything was clean. And neatly folded.

We would not be afraid to stay at the Oceanus again. But we would never go out of our way to stay there. The prices weren't great. The pool is small. The rooms are bland. The coffee is bad.

The location, however, is pretty darn good. Right at the corner of the main drag (Rehoboth Ave.) and 2nd St. A pretty short walk to the beach. Right around the corner from the bike rental place. Close to the bookstore. Close to a whole bunch of shops and restaurants.

Oh, I just thought of one decent feature of the room. The small fridge/freezer and microwave came in handy. Not every place has those, I guess. And a lot of places aren't quite so clean. Did I mention that our room at the Oceanus was clean?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay & found our rooms to be clean and our location to be perfect. The Oceanus Motel has always prided itself on offering affordable and clean accommodations to our guests. We are not a luxury property, but do offer our guests a clean and comfortable place to stay in Rehoboth which to many of our guests matters the most. If you are looking for a clean, friendly, and comfortable place to stay in Rehoboth then The Oceanus is the ticket. On you next stay I recommend that you check out our sister property The Bellmoor Inn & Spa which is more upscale and may tailor to your needs better. We hope that you can return to stay at one of our properties in Rehoboth Beach again.

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oceanus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanus Motel

Address: 6 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oceanus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanus Motel Rehoboth Beach
Oceanus Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanus Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.