We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanus Motel

Save Saved
You added Oceanus Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oceanus Motel
6 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings Package
Ranked #7 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great beach motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Oceanus Motel in Rehoboth Beach, DE is a great place to stay! We've stayed there for several summers now and it's the one place we really enjoy and would recommend highly to anyone. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly, polite and very accommodating. They offer wonderful, affordable package deals throughout the season and beyond. The Labor Day package is a great bargain. Less crowds and usually good weather make it a truly enjoyable experience. Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we greatly appreciate your feedback. I am pleased to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us and found our rates/packages to be affordable. The Oceanus has always prided itself on being Rehoboth Beach's best value hotel. Our labor package is a very popular one & fills up quickly as you can imagine. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future. Best wishes.

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    64
    10
    1
    11
See reviews for
85
53
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel - it is well maintained, the pool is sparkling clean and so are the rooms! The front desk staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is located just 2 blocks from the beach and one block from many shops and restaurants to choose from. You can walk to the beach, no problem. It's convenient to everything, but quiet. I highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in the Rehoboth area - we'll be returning.

Room Tip: We had room 200, which is on the second of 3 floors, on the end. It was nice because there is no fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for taking the time to review our property. The location of The Oceanus is ideal, close enough to everything, but still set back enough to enjoy some peace & quiet. Rooms 200 & 300 are our most popular rooms due to the reasons you described. With everything within walking distance you never have to move your vehicle. We all look forward to you returning to stay with us again in the near future. Best wishes from all of your friends at The Oceanus Motel.

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and had a terrific stay. The accommodations were clean and the room was in good condition. The motel is centrally situated so the beach, restaurants and shops are only a short walk away. Once we arrived we never had to move our car, other than to drive to Lewes to go fishing on a head boat. Not having to drive is truly a big deal, as parking can be difficult. We watched folks leave the beach to drop more change in their meter. This motel is just 2 blocks from the sand. The pool looked fine, but we never used it.

Bottom line is we will return to Rehoboth and will stay at the Oceanus!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we throughly enjoyed having you stay with us. We are all pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our location to be ideal. Not having to drive is a great convenience you receive when staying at The Oceanus and something that our guests value highly. I am glad you were able to take advantage of one of the local charter boats, hope you were able to catch some nice fish! We all look forward to you returning to stay with us again. Best wishes!

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great location, clean, decent size room, free parking (we didn't move the car at all during our entire stay- everything was in walking distance), nice swimming pool! Loved having a microwave and mini refrigerator in the room. We will be back!

My only piece of advice is if you are traveling with a little one, which means you're bringing a lot of extra stuff, try to reserve a first or second floor room since there is no elevator.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, Owner at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we loved having you! I am so pleased to hear that you found our location to be ideal and that you didn't have to move your car during your stay. From all of us at The Oceanus, we look forward to seeing you again! Best wishes

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Heading into our final day of a 5 night stay here, and yet again we've had a great time. The staff does an amazing job here keeping everything running smoothly, and as always, the room and the property is spotless. A special shout out to Shirley who goes above and beyond, and has a heart as big as the ocean. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: There's no elevator, so if you have trouble with stairs, choose a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property, we greatly appreciate your feedback! I am so glad that you are enjoying your stay with us, it means the world to my staff & I to read reviews like yours. Shirley does go above and beyond to make sure that every guest has a clean & enjoyable stay. I will be sure to pass the message along to her. We all look forward to you coming to stay with us again. Best wishes from your friends at The Oceanus.

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just got back from a 4 night stay at Rehoboth Beach. This was our first time at the Oceanus motel, but it won't be the last. The staff is wonderful, the rooms were spotless, and the pool area was just what the doctor ordered. Gracias!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, Owner at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Oceanus prides itself on being one of the cleanest hotels in Rehoboth Beach. The pool is a huge hit with a lot of our guests and a great spot to hang out and cool off on those warm summer days! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Picked this based on Trip Advisor ratings, and was glad. Visiting Rehoboth and trying to park is very difficult, so I was determined to stay in town where I could park. Check-in was very pleasant and quick. Parking was easy. We requested a quiet room and got one; almost never heard the street or neighbors during our stay. Room was clean & quiet. Room temperature was great for me. Shower & toilet is in a separate room from the sink, so it's easier for 2 people to get ready at the same time. Plenty of good restaurants within a block of the hotel. I'll come back.

Only one small issue: they seemed to ration soap. Stopped at the front desk to get some because housekeeping didn't leave any, and got one mini-bar.

Room Tip: All rooms looked quiet. We were given the top floor which was great for me. Make sure you're O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review our property. I am so glad that you had a great stay with us & that the Tripadvisor reviews that others have written were able to aid you in choosing The Oceanus. Parking is a big issue in town during the summer, but when you stay at The Oceanus you have guaranteed parking & are able to walk to any attraction in town. In regards to your comment about the soap, we are more than happy to give our guests the appropriate amount that they need. We look forward to you returning to stay with us again in the near future.

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanus Motel

Address: 6 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oceanus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanus Motel Rehoboth Beach
Oceanus Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanus Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.