We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanus Motel

Save Saved
You added Oceanus Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oceanus Motel
6 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Burke, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great location, clean, decent size room, free parking (we didn't move the car at all during our entire stay- everything was in walking distance), nice swimming pool! Loved having a microwave and mini refrigerator in the room. We will be back!

My only piece of advice is if you are traveling with a little one, which means you're bringing a lot of extra stuff, try to reserve a first or second floor room since there is no elevator.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, Owner at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we loved having you! I am so pleased to hear that you found our location to be ideal and that you didn't have to move your car during your stay. From all of us at The Oceanus, we look forward to seeing you again! Best wishes

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    62
    9
    1
    9
See reviews for
81
52
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Egg Harbor Township
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Heading into our final day of a 5 night stay here, and yet again we've had a great time. The staff does an amazing job here keeping everything running smoothly, and as always, the room and the property is spotless. A special shout out to Shirley who goes above and beyond, and has a heart as big as the ocean. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: There's no elevator, so if you have trouble with stairs, choose a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property, we greatly appreciate your feedback! I am so glad that you are enjoying your stay with us, it means the world to my staff & I to read reviews like yours. Shirley does go above and beyond to make sure that every guest has a clean & enjoyable stay. I will be sure to pass the message along to her. We all look forward to you coming to stay with us again. Best wishes from your friends at The Oceanus.

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just got back from a 4 night stay at Rehoboth Beach. This was our first time at the Oceanus motel, but it won't be the last. The staff is wonderful, the rooms were spotless, and the pool area was just what the doctor ordered. Gracias!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, Owner at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Oceanus prides itself on being one of the cleanest hotels in Rehoboth Beach. The pool is a huge hit with a lot of our guests and a great spot to hang out and cool off on those warm summer days! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Picked this based on Trip Advisor ratings, and was glad. Visiting Rehoboth and trying to park is very difficult, so I was determined to stay in town where I could park. Check-in was very pleasant and quick. Parking was easy. We requested a quiet room and got one; almost never heard the street or neighbors during our stay. Room was clean & quiet. Room temperature was great for me. Shower & toilet is in a separate room from the sink, so it's easier for 2 people to get ready at the same time. Plenty of good restaurants within a block of the hotel. I'll come back.

Only one small issue: they seemed to ration soap. Stopped at the front desk to get some because housekeeping didn't leave any, and got one mini-bar.

Room Tip: All rooms looked quiet. We were given the top floor which was great for me. Make sure you're O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review our property. I am so glad that you had a great stay with us & that the Tripadvisor reviews that others have written were able to aid you in choosing The Oceanus. Parking is a big issue in town during the summer, but when you stay at The Oceanus you have guaranteed parking & are able to walk to any attraction in town. In regards to your comment about the soap, we are more than happy to give our guests the appropriate amount that they need. We look forward to you returning to stay with us again in the near future.

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Other than location, this hotel was awful. Upon check in, the room smelled like a mixture of vomit and pinesol. Called the evening staff to explain the smell was not bearable and there was no way to sleep with the smell in the room. He arrived with a bottle of febrezze which just added one more layer to the smell. The air conditioning unit was also not working properly. We checked in in the evening after a long day of little league championship games so finding another hotel on a weekend night in Rehoboth Beach was not possible. The daytime staff were very rude when we complained about the smell upon check out and did not offer any apology or any compensation for the inconvenience. Additionally, on a Saturday afternoon when you would expect to be able to use the pool, two staff members got in and began scrubbing the inside while it was being used by patrons. They did not even care that paying customers were using the pool at the time. Completely disgusting and inconsiderate to paying customers. Definitely will not be staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We apologize that you did not fully enjoy your stay at our property. Our staff works hard to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable stay with us & we do everything in our power to do so. The rooms at The Oceanus are some of the cleanest in town & our head housekeeper Shirley prides herself on making sure that stays true. Same is true for our pool, which is cleaned & tested multiple times daily to ensure the best quality swimming conditions for our guest. In order to keep the pool 100% clean it involves making sure the sides of the pool are clean as well. We make sure to do this at the least inconvenient time for our guests & the process involves no discomfort or harm to guests using the pool. The Oceanus is a great family friendly hotel that offers a great value & location to all of our guests. We appreciate the feedback and wish you the best in the future.

-J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to Oceanus. 2 adults, 2 kids. We've always stayed on the first floor and have never had problems with foot traffic or noise... which is amazing considering we tend to visit at the height of the season. The room was incredibly clean. And you simply cannot beat the location. The staff has always been friendly and welcoming. I wonder if they know who the repeat visitors are. My only complaint is the unreliable free wifi which might be an issue for the town in general. I do want to compliment the beds. to borrow a line from another hotel chain, the beds are "heavenly". The pool is serene, clean and very welcoming. Oceanus sticks to the basics and does them well.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are convenient. In 3 visits I've never had a problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write another wonderful review of our property! We greatly appreciate you choosing The Oceanus for your third visit. Your recommendations to our future guests are very helpful & we are so pleased you enjoyed your most recent stay. In regards to your comment about the wifi, it is something we are looking into updating. As technology has grown so has the need for better connectivity and we appreciate your recommendation. We look forward to seeing you for your 4th visit!

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just got back from a 4 night stay at Rehoboth Beach. Location was perfect, we parked our car there and walked everywhere. Check in was easy and staff was very friendly. Walked into our room and it smelled clean! No musty smell at all. I always bring sheets and lysol with me and I did not need either of them. Pool was clean too! I have no complaints about this place and I am fussy. Cleanliness is the most important quality to me when looking for a place to stay. Thank you ... We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed our stay & that you found our rooms to be exceptionally clean to your standards. Our housekeeping staff works very hard to ensure that our guests have the cleanest rooms in town. Like you said our hotel does not have a musty smell like some of the other beach hotels in the area. The location of The Oceanus is great as well with everything you need within walking distance. We look forward to you hopefully returning to stay with us in the near future. Best wishes from everyone at The Oceanus!

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oceanus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanus Motel

Address: 6 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oceanus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanus Motel Rehoboth Beach
Oceanus Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanus Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.