We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for long weekend away at the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanus Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Oceanus Motel to your Saves list
Oceanus Motel
6 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect for long weekend away at the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We just returned from a great weekend in Rehoboth, thanks in large part to the Oceanus Motel. We usually rent a house further South for a week, but decided to take some shorter trips this summer. One of those trips had to be to the shore, and Rehoboth is always our favorite spot to travel to close to Philly. We originally booked a room outside of town, but based on past experience hated the thought of drivng in and fighting for a parking spot. Oceanus came up, and fit the bill based on what we read online. Once we got there, we knew the good reviews weren't just fluff. This is a beach motel -- L-shaped 3 stories overlooking a pool and parking lot. Nothing fancy, but absolutely nothing wrong with the place. We had a top-floor room which you could actually see the ocean from. The room appeared to be new, with nice carpeting, wallpaper, clean and new furniture, tiled bathroom, operational and clean smelling wall A/C, etc. Large & clean micro-fridge (also appeared to be new), and a nice TV with plenty of channels. Lots of clean towels and extra bedding. The property itself was also immaculate. Freshly painted stairs, nice tropical flowers on each floor's landing, and a very well maintained pool with clean and comfortable lounges. Staff was always friendly and constantly cleaning & maintaining (even though everything seemed fine as it was). We wanted to park the car (free parking) and leave it -- and that's what we did. The motel is located a short block off of the main shopping street, and the street the motel looks onto also has a lot of restaurants & shops (in addition to Grotto Pizza, we ate at Fish + Pig and Henlopen City Oyster House, and loved both). Wilmington Street is 2-blocks long from the boardwalk up, and dead-ends at Oceanus. My only warning is that it is a long 2-block walk with beach chairs & kids' stuff, but we survived it fully intact. Just plan accordingly. Couldn't say enough good things about the weekend and the time we had. Will be back next time we are looking for a long weekend beach stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our property. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & enjoyed our clean and conveniently located rooms. Like you said we are located right in the heart of Rehoboth Beach, just a short walk to all the attractions in town. One of the greatest things about staying in Downtown Rehoboth is that you don't have to move your car during your stay! My staff works extremely hard to ensure our guests have the greatest experience possible when stay at The Oceanus and its always nice to hear that their handwork doesn't go unnoticed. We all look forward to you returning to stay with us again. Best wishes!

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    65
    10
    1
    11
See reviews for
86
54
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Olney, Maryland
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have no real complaints at all about the Oceanus. The room was very clean, although a little small. It was really helpful to have a refrigerator and microwave. The pool was well-maintained and refreshing. The people were extremely helpful and efficient. The cost was very high when we stayed, even for a beach community, although I noticed there were more reasonable prices available weekdays.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our property. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay & found our pool to be refreshing during the beautiful summer days. Our rates are consistent with all other accommodations in the Rehoboth Beach area. We have always prided ourselves on being Rehoboth's Best Value and I firmly believe we offer this to all of our guests. We have mid-week savings opportunities that you may wish to take advantage of for your next visit. Best wishes from all of us at The Oceanus.

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

This is such a great place! It was so clean, well kept, very quiet, and wonderful service. We enjoyed our stay.

Two things that kept me from rating all 5s: bathroom was tight and door opening into bathroom made it awkward, the walk to beach was long but if I had one of those carts to put are stuff in it would have made it so much better.

Overall great stay and well worth the money!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your feedback is greatly appreciated. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & found our rates to be affordable. The average walk to the beach from The Oceanus is around 5 mins, just two blocks away. We do understand that this can take longer with children and if there is any way we can help during your next stay please let us know. We hope to see you again very soon. Best wishes from all of us at The Oceanus.

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at the Oceanus on our first trip to Rehoboth Beach in many years. The reviews I read prior to making my reservations were spot on. It was a comfortable room. They have a nice clean pool and Shirley kept our room in great shape. We also liked the fact it was centrally located and we could walk everywhere. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing The Oceanus during your stay in Rehoboth Beach. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to make your vacation even greater. Our staff at The Oceanus is amazing and our head housekeeper Shirley works hard to ensure that every guest has a clean & spotless room. Our location is perfect for everyone with every attraction in town being only a short walk away. We all look forward to you returning to stay with us in the near future!

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have a nice 2-night stay at The Oceanus Motel the weekend for June-8-9. The room was clean, great location for walking everywhere and a nice pool. The staff was not very helpful or friendly but it wouldn't deter us from staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our rooms to be clean & conveniently located. I apologize if you feel that our staff was not helpful in your needs, we work hard to ensure that we give every guest the highest level of treatment. We do hope you return to stay with us in the near future. Best wishes from all of us at The Oceanus.

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My wife and I have now stayed at the Oceanus on three separate occasions over the past two years. It is the only place that we will stay while in Rehoboth Beach, or anywhere nearby. The rooms are extremely clean, well kept up and never have that musty ocean smell and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. It's in a great location, just two blocks from the beach and only steps away from many great restaurants, pubs and shops. In addition, the prices are great, much less then you would expect to pay in Rehoboth. We hope to visit Rehoboth on many more occasions and whenever we do we will definately stay at the Oceanus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Everyone here at The Oceanus greatly appreciates you taking the time to review our property. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us & want to thank you for your loyalty to our property. Our staff works hard to ensure that every guest feels at home during their stay at The Oceanus and your review confirms that. We always look forward to you & your wife coming to stay with us! Hope to see you guys soon!

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is THE ONLY place we would stay in Rehoboth now that we have gone to the town over 13 years or so. This motel is friendly, convenient ( about 2 blocks from boardwalk, right around the corner from the bike shop we use for rentals) and the staff is superb! The cleaning ladies are wonderful! Things are well tended. The pool is beautiful. A lovely spot for relaxing, sitting out and writing cards or reading. The staff is up to date on things around town. We always learn new things from them.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND The Oceanus.
And we just learned some relatives we told about The Oceanus stayed here a few years ago, and they liked it so much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We greatly appreciate you writing this amazing review of our property. Reading this review brought a huge smile to my face. Everyone staff member from our housekeepers to our front desk staff, work around the clock to ensure each & every guest has an amazing stay with us. The pool area is the perfect way to relax on a warm sunny day. We love to keep our guests informed on all that the town has to offered & all of its newest additions. We look forward to you returning to stay with us in the near future. Best wishes from all of your friends at The Oceanus!

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanus Motel

Address: 6 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Oceanus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanus Motel Rehoboth Beach
Oceanus Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanus Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.