We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanus Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Oceanus Motel to your Saves list
Oceanus Motel
6 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have a nice 2-night stay at The Oceanus Motel the weekend for June-8-9. The room was clean, great location for walking everywhere and a nice pool. The staff was not very helpful or friendly but it wouldn't deter us from staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our rooms to be clean & conveniently located. I apologize if you feel that our staff was not helpful in your needs, we work hard to ensure that we give every guest the highest level of treatment. We do hope you return to stay with us in the near future. Best wishes from all of us at The Oceanus.

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    65
    10
    1
    11
See reviews for
86
54
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My wife and I have now stayed at the Oceanus on three separate occasions over the past two years. It is the only place that we will stay while in Rehoboth Beach, or anywhere nearby. The rooms are extremely clean, well kept up and never have that musty ocean smell and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. It's in a great location, just two blocks from the beach and only steps away from many great restaurants, pubs and shops. In addition, the prices are great, much less then you would expect to pay in Rehoboth. We hope to visit Rehoboth on many more occasions and whenever we do we will definately stay at the Oceanus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Everyone here at The Oceanus greatly appreciates you taking the time to review our property. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us & want to thank you for your loyalty to our property. Our staff works hard to ensure that every guest feels at home during their stay at The Oceanus and your review confirms that. We always look forward to you & your wife coming to stay with us! Hope to see you guys soon!

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is THE ONLY place we would stay in Rehoboth now that we have gone to the town over 13 years or so. This motel is friendly, convenient ( about 2 blocks from boardwalk, right around the corner from the bike shop we use for rentals) and the staff is superb! The cleaning ladies are wonderful! Things are well tended. The pool is beautiful. A lovely spot for relaxing, sitting out and writing cards or reading. The staff is up to date on things around town. We always learn new things from them.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND The Oceanus.
And we just learned some relatives we told about The Oceanus stayed here a few years ago, and they liked it so much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We greatly appreciate you writing this amazing review of our property. Reading this review brought a huge smile to my face. Everyone staff member from our housekeepers to our front desk staff, work around the clock to ensure each & every guest has an amazing stay with us. The pool area is the perfect way to relax on a warm sunny day. We love to keep our guests informed on all that the town has to offered & all of its newest additions. We look forward to you returning to stay with us in the near future. Best wishes from all of your friends at The Oceanus!

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Oxford, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My friends and I have stayed at the Oceanus Motel for many years and always have a wonderful experience. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, the rooms are immaculate, the pool is refreshing, and the location is very convenient to the beach, the restaurants, and the shops.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property & thank you for your many years of loyalty to The Oceanus Motel. I am glad that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. I am incredibly proud of the staff that we have at The Oceanus, each one goes out of their way to ensure that our guests have an amazing stay with us. We all look forward to you returning to stay with us in the near future. Best wishes from your friends at The Oceanus Motel !

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very nice room, last minute reservations. Bed was ok, but I'm sure they get used a lot, pool looked awesome (didn't make it in) shower was nice, coffee in the office, wish it was in the room, but I can't complain

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we greatly appreciate your feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay & that you found our location to be very convenient. Unfortunately we do not offer coffee in the rooms, but as you said we do offer a gourmet coffee in our office every morning. Next time you stay with us be sure to take a dip in the pool, it is so refreshing on a hot summer day. We look forward to you returning to stay with us. Best wishes from your friends at The Oceanus Motel.

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stay at the Oceanus annually with friends and we find it always to be clean, reliable rates, and friendly staff. The location in Rehoboth is perfect... you never need to drive anywhere! The rooms are gigantic, but for 2-3 people, it's comfortable and is spacious enough to spread out luggage. We appreciate the in-room fridge and microwave too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write this review! I want to personally thank you for your many years of devoted loyalty to our property, it means a lot to my staff and I. Our location is perfect for anyone staying with us, just a short walk to everything in town. We pride ourselves on offering clean rooms with affordable rates throughout the entire season. Everyone here at The Oceanus looks forward to you returning to stay with us soon, best wishes!

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The motel has been renovated recently and the rooms are very clean. They do not have a musty smell like so many motels have. There is a small pool, which ideal to cool down after a long day on the beach.
Our room was in a corner by the stairs, so it was very dark and gloomy (but clean and modern). It was not a problem because we never stayed in the bedroom other than to sleep, but you may want to make sure, when you book, that you do not have a dark, "no view", corner room if this could be a problem for you.
It's nice because you park your car and just leave it there during your stay, since you can walk to the boardwalk and beach, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our property. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & enjoyed our clean and conveniently located rooms. Like you said we are located right in the heart of Rehoboth Beach, just a short walk to all the attractions in town. The room in which you stayed was one of our corner rooms that overlooks the hallway. We never rent those rooms out unless we have thoroughly explained the room's location & view to the guest, like we did when you booked the room. It same interior as every other room on the property, with the same layout & amenities. We look forward to you returning to stay with us in the near future. Best wishes from everyone at The Oceanus!

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanus Motel

Address: 6 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Oceanus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanus Motel Rehoboth Beach
Oceanus Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanus Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.