We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother's Day weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanus Motel

Save Saved
You added Oceanus Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oceanus Motel
6 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings Package
Ranked #7 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Green Brook, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mother's Day weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here for about 5 years. We typically take advantage of the great Spring or Fall weekend specials. Two blocks from the beach, great staff, good value, great location. Can't beat it in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we greatly appreciate your feedback. I want to personally thank you for your many years of loyal service to our property. At The Oceanus we do our best to ensure that every guest has an amazing stay with us. From our clean rooms to our wonderful location, The Oceanus is the perfect getaway for anyone. We all look forward to you returning to stay with us in the near future. Best wishes from all of your friends at The Oceanus!

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    64
    10
    1
    11
See reviews for
85
53
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Oceanus is a wonderful gem in Rehoboth. We stayed there recently and enjoyed the friendliness of the staff and location of this family friendly motel.

It is owned by the same people who own The Bellmoor (we stayed there for the past 8 years) and this is just a nice, remarkably clean motel with great staff.

It is within walking distance to great restaurants and beach. Rooms and motel have all been updated and very, very nice.

Thank you Ellen, Shirley and Carol ... we enjoyed our stay and will be back soon.

Room Tip: This is a great motel for families ... reasonable ... beautiful pool and great location to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we greatly appreciate your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our property is most certainly a family friendly motel with a family atmosphere. Many of our guests have been staying with us for many years & are on a first name basis with our staff as you have become. Our location is perfect for anyone staying in Rehoboth, being just a short walk to all of the towns attractions, restaurants, & most importantly the beach! We are looking forward to seeing you for many more visits in the future. Best wishes from all of us at The Oceanus.

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

i could not be more pleased with our stay. The room was clean, nicely decorated, and smoke free!
Very reasonably priced and Centrally located. we had a delicious dinner at the Stoney Loden right across the street, too. We would definitely stay here again. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed 3 rooms down from the office and it was very quiet and quite convenient when we wanted a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we greatly appreciate your feedback! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & found everything to be to your liking. Our staff works hard to ensure that our rooms are clean & that each guest has an amazing stay with us. Our location is perfect for many of our guests, with everything located within walking distance. We look forward to you staying with us again! Best wishes from all of us at The Oceanus Motel.

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have stayed at the Oceanus Motel several times dating back to the '90s. Although it is not right on the beachfront, the ocean is just a short and easy walk down the street from the Oceanus. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The management is efficient and friendly. The Oceanus has a nice outdoor pool, but we don't usually go in the summer when the pool is open. You can easily walk to the Rehoboth boardwalk, shopping areas, and several good restaurants from the Oceanus. There is plenty of parking. I know we will be back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmtthebellmoor, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property, we always enjoy hearing feedback from our guests. The Oceanus Motel has been a landmark on 2nd street in Rehoboth for many years & we have worked hard to make sure our guests have an amazing stay with us each & every visit. Like you said we are only a short 5-10 min walk from the beach & we are steps away from Rehoboth Ave. We appreciate your many years of loyalty to our property & we look forward to everyone of your visits. From all of us at The Oceanus thank you & we hope to see you soon!

JB Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I have stayed here several times over the years and every year they make the place better. Rooms are basic but very clean and the staff is very helpful. Location is great close to the beach, boardwalk and all the Rehoboth Ave shops. Parking for car is included as well.

Room Tip: I prefer the 3rd floor but you have to haul everything up the steps in elevator so keep that in mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Wolf, PA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I have vacationed for many years in Rehoboth Beach during the summer months, and decided this year to visit during the fall. Our five day/four night stay at the Oceanus was perfect--wonderful accommodations (newly remodeled), extremely friendly and helpful staff, lots of free literature available in the office, and very reasonable off-season pricing. The Motel is withing walking distance of everything downtown, and we will go again and stay there!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We enjoy this motel, not too far from the beach, clean, quiet, and welcoming. The bike shop (Bikes to Go) is right around the corner. The Post Office is only a block away.
We rest well here. I think the renovations turned out well. Plenty of useful info and discount cards at the office.
I wish we could visit again next week!

Room Tip: Second floor facing ocean is our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanus Motel

Address: 6 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oceanus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanus Motel Rehoboth Beach
Oceanus Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanus Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.