We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpretentious family run bakery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bake Shoppe

The Bake Shoppe
222 Rehoboth Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302-226-0176
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 231 restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Restaurant details
Mass.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Unpretentious family run bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

If you want genuinely fresh tasty pastries, breads, danish and muffins this is a great place. If you want fancy coffee, sophisticated breakfast sandwiches or table service, I suggest you find a different place. There are a wide variety of baked goods available, more than I expected for a small family business.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    26
    7
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wish it was in my hometown!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Mornings in Rehoboth almost always start at The Bake Shoppe. Everything is so fresh and delicious. The owner is extremely personable and treats you as if you were a regular.....which we are for one week every summer for the last decade. We would highly recommend a stop at The Bake Shoppe!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Great Bakery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Bake Shoppe reminds me of the great bakeries I went to as a child. The donuts and pastries are excellent. The staff is friendly. It is crazy folks pass the Bake Shoppe to go to Dunkin Donuts. The Bake Shoppe donuts are REAL DONUTS! It is a regular stop on our beach vacation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Visited three times!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

No idea why people were frequenting Dunkin Donuts when this is right up the street. Tried two different types of pastries - both were out of this world. Also had the fried croissants - warm and flakey and glazed amazingness. The staff were all friendly and had good recommendations. There are a few seats inside in case you want to stay awhile. Bagels were decent but the reason for our third trip was to pick up more pastries to take home. Highly recommend!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Dissapointing breakfast experience.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was dissapointed with this place. We went one morning to pick up breakfast and the bagel with cream cheese was very sloppy and the breakfast croissant with scrambled eggs was soggy. Don't get me started on the espresso, it was like drinking tar. On top of all that the place looked unkept and the work stations were not very tidy. Maybe we should have just stuck with the donuts which looked good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bake Shoppe also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to The Bake Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bake Shoppe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.